We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia to your Saves list
Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   165 Thompsons Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This visit was my first stay at the Golden door and it wont be my last. The staff are amazing. They are friendly, motivating and very knowledgeable about all aspects of wellness. I have a few strange movement issues which the staff were fantastic about and helped me cater the exercise to what I needed to do and were understanding of my situation. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am hoping to return next year.

If you are going to do anything for yourself this year, Go and replenish your batteries at the golden door, you will never look back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    16
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
43
127
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friends and I went to the Spa last weekend and had an amazing time. We all had treatments which were outstanding. My massage was with Cara, however, I found out the day before I was pregant so Cara tailored a head massage especially for me (I was due to have a deep tissue massage). She was brilliant about changing the treatment at the very last minute and I was very happy with the head massage that she gave me.

The views were amazing over the vineyards and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

My friends and I will definately be going back and would highly reccommend the Golden Door to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This visit was my first experience of the Golden Door Health retreat and spa. I will defiantly be going back with my husband. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem for them. The whole place was well organized and you can do as much or as little as you wish. I was here for 5 days and would like to have stayed longer. The food was very good and more than enough. I would recommend the Golden Door Elysia to anyone. Also I lost 2 kg. Very nice. Lesley Wood

Room Tip: My daughter and I shared a two bedroom villa. Perfect. We each had our own bathroom with a great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

An amazing week with life-changing results! Not only fabulous accommodation, food, seminars, activity, massages and pampering but a fantastic team who could motivationally move mountains! I loved every minute and hope to go for fourth visit next year.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Simply incredible, cannot rate highly enough! The staff were absolutely phenomenal, the food was delicious yet completely healthy. Accommodation was private, quiet, safe with breathtaking views. Daily programs and activities were diverse and fun. Spa amenities were relaxing and perfect. You will not regret your visit here, am already saving for my next trip here. I'm so relaxed, revitalized, motivated and my
Health is getting back on track!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I visited for a 5 day stay in January and found the staff enthusiastic and fun. Discovered some new ways of feeling good and getting fit- especially the Deep Water Running classes which were great and the Salsa dancing class. Food was tasty and actually bigger quantities than I would normally eat at home but much more nutritious. Evening activities varied but Games night especially fun. Rooms were comfortable and well serviced- no trouble to change sheets when requested.
Best of all, I have not drunk coffee or alcohol since I returned and miss neither!

Room Tip: All villas had a great view and not far to walk from any room to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A big thank you to the experienced, professional and caring staff at the Golden Door Elyssia. We loved that they took time to show and encourage us throughout the varied program . We realised the importance of breathing ,moving and taking time out for yourself. Fantastic programme, first class accommodation and we looked forward to what was on the menu at each meal!
The best 7 days of our lives, we left feeling energised , relaxed , with a new outlook on life.

Room Tip: Villa 17 and 19 , great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia

Address: 165 Thompsons Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wellness, balance and vitality, reach new peaks, feel inspired to make lasting health choices and unveil a new more balanced you. The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia is a place where tired souls can be restored, new goals set and a wealth of knowledge gained to unveil a healthier, happier and more motivated you. All in the peaceful and serene surroundings of the Hunter Valley’s rolling hills, two hours north of Sydney. Whilst our facilities, accommodation and dining are remarkable, it’s the quality and warmth of our staff that keeps our guests coming back time and again. Our all inclusive health and wellness programs, provided under the guidance of our professional team, have been developed to motivate change and provide lasting results when continued back in everyday life. A holistic blend of exercise, nutritious cuisine, health education, relaxation and spa indulgence will allow you to discover new sources of energy and vitality. Located in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley, The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia offers magnificent views of vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range and the opportunity to breathe fresh country air each day. Featuring 74 stylish villas with one, two or three bedrooms, this exceptional property is the only purpose built Destination Health Retreat in Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Hotel Pokolbin
Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.