We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal, table allocation needs to be reconsidered though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Botanica

Restaurant Botanica
555 Hermitage Road | Spicers Vineyards Estate, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 6574 7229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $35 - $42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, table allocation needs to be reconsidered though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here, we had the 5 course option with matching wines. Very tasty and a lovely way to sample some more of what the Hunter has to offer! Décor is very simple, so don't expect it to be flash as that isn't what this restaurant is about.
My only issue was with the table allocation (and unfortunately this did taint our whole overall experience). I being honest in making my booking, which was made approx. a month in advance, said it wasn't for a special occasion. Just a night away for my partner and I. This then meant we were sat right by the kitchen and weren't allowed to move to a table closer to the window / vineyard view even though these tables remained vacant for another hour and a half (these tables were allocated to people who arrived WHEN IT WAS DARK anyway!!!) How silly...it was a waste of a lovely view and pretty sunset for those who could have enjoyed it (myself and my partner were not the only ones). Also a bit disappointing when we went on to order the most expensive menu option also ($155 p/p).
I would recommend this restaurant but just remember to mention it IS for a special occasion ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dearest Jessica,

We would love to thank you for your visit to our restaurant and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and diners.

Whislt our team were pleased to hear you enjoyed your 5 Course Signature menu, they were sad to hear that you felt your table had been allocated without the best of intentions. Your visit was during the busiest time of the year with the restaurant being fully booked every night over the Christmas/New Year period - often months and months in advance. Although we do like to ensure that tables enjoying special occasions are given a sprinkling of magic to assist with their celebrations, we certainly do take into account how far in advance our guests book. Many of our guests ask for a window table and during your visit, unfortunately all of the window tables were requested around 2 months in advance, however Restaurant Botanica is lucky to have glass french doors/windows all around the restaurant, meaning that every table enjoys the stunning views we feature.

Jessica, next time you are looking at visiting the Hunter, we would love to welcome you back and ensure you enjoy whichever table you wish for - we love welcoming back past guests and winning them over as life long friends of Restaurant Botanica!

A very happy new year to you!
Warmest Regards,

Belinda, Mark, little Matilda and the Restaurant Botanica team xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    76
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dined with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had a beautiful dinner with friends during the Christmas break. The menu was good with plenty of options. The wine list extensive with quite a few of the smaller boutique wine makers listed which is much better than the larger mass produced company's.
Service was all you could ask for....friendly, prompt and never far away. Drinks were arriving at a steady pace, not like some places where you struggle to get service once or twice during a meal.
The price was very good @ $75 for 3 courses

All in all Botanica has a great reputation and it didn't disappoint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went with a group of friends. All our meals were delicious. The scallops were massive, the duck and steak were moist. One of the best restaurants I've dinned at recently. A nice Jem in the Hunter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Skim_1

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are pleased you found your little gem in the Hunter and can't wait to welcome you back again!

Have a great Holiday season!

Kind Regards,

The Restaurant Botanica family! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“unexpected surprise ... the food was delicious, service excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

part of my week long birthday celebrations, Botanica excelled with delicious food, great service, and a charming view at sunset. Will remain on our fave restaurant list!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Boheme9 - we are so pleased to have shared in your birthday celebrations and to now become one of your favourite restaurants!!

Come and visit again soon so we can spoil you again!!

Your Restaurant Botanica friends!! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We always love dining at restaurant Botanica. The food is always fresh and delicious, the staff friendly and knowledgable about the produce and wines. The ambiance is just stunning. We dined at Botanica last Thursday night. As entree I had the crispy skinned ocean trout and for main had the hoisin smoked lamb both were amazing. I also had a side of fresh garden vegetables which were all picked that afternoon from botanicas very own vegetable garden. As the night went on, my fiancé and I decided this was the best venue for our wedding and reception. We are now going to be married at Spicers vineyards estate at Restaurant Botanica. Over the last few days of organizing our wedding the owners, management and staff have been wonderful and helpful with our requests and I believe they are just as excited as we are. We are looking forward to our February wedding. I know my big day will be perfect as all of my past experiences at Restaurant Botanica have always been beyond amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Botanica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.