We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beltree = simple venue with good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beltree - CLOSED

The Beltree
266 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
6574 7216
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Relaxed Modern ItalianLunch Friday | Saturday | Sunday | MondayDinner Friday | Saturday | Sunday of a long weekendRelaxed LunchBYO wine Lunch only corkage $12 per btlDinner 2 | 3 | 5 course.Groups 10 & over Italian Table Menu 2 | 3 courseBoutique weddings and special occasions on request
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beltree = simple venue with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The Beltree is a simple, small and intimate restaurant. You do feel a tad exposed in the tables located towards the middle of the room, so to try and get a table around the sides.

My husband and I ate there for an anniversary dinner, on a Friday evening.

On arrival (8:30pm late sitting) the entrance is well hidden and we accidentally came in a side door. Mind you it is winter and being cold they closed all the doors. There is a fireplace which gives a beautiful ambient feel to the room and keeps the room nice and warm with winter approaching.

We were served quickly by helpful waitresses and were given complimentary bread, olive oil, olives and balsamic which was tasty.

The mains are a good size and we ordered a gnocchi Ragu and a veal dish. Both were so delicious. For dessert we had the choc pudding with pistachio and anise ice cream and a vanilla and wild berry dessert (forgot the name). Both were decadent and satisfying. We ordered two glasses of a Kurrajong red Shiraz and it was a fantastic wine. So much so that I plan to seek the Kurrajong winery out, for my next trip in the Hunter.

All in all it was good. Nothing mind blowing, but just plain old good.

I would eat there again but since there is so much to choose from in the hunter, I won't be in a rush to return.

The prices were around $60 each for a main, dessert and wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant has a beautiful outlook, however you have to rug up in Autumn/winter unless you score a table inside near the fireplace. The wine list should satisfy most people, and the food was truly excellent. We had ciabatta/olives/balsamic, small black linguini with seafood, hand rolled potato gnocchi with beef cheek & shin ragu, balsmic roasted duck & buttermilk panna cotta, rhubarb strawberry & pomegrante, all faultless. The service was good, cannot think of a better way to spend 3 hours, but then we are both over 60.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently went here for mother day lunch and it was amazing. Great food, service and unexpected entertainment from a great singer Ben jalu. Spent over 4 hours for lunch and there is not one bad thing I can say about the restaurant. I had my one year old son with us and he loved the grassed area near where we sat and had a great time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bella Belltree!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Love everything about this restaurant from the warm welcome to the fond farewells & Arrivederci's:)
Beer & wine choices good
We always share entrees & often mains -However I am always reluctant to share the chocolate tart(but do) !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Take 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant, which lives up to joys that others have experienced. Very attentive and knowledgeable front of house staff, made us most welcome. An extensive Italian themed menu with an impressive matching wine list ,made you deliberate carefully before selecting each course. Entree of crudo of swordfish was outstanding. the balsamic duck divine and the Italian cheeses finished off a magnificent meal. Thankyou! we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beltree also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beltree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.