We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Restaurant

The Cellar Restaurant
Hunter Valley Gardens Village, Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7584
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pokolbin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

As locals, the cellar is our go to place. If anybody comes to stay, we take them to the cellar for a meal as we are guaranteed great service and a great meal every time. We have never been disappointed and you won't be either. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average Food & Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On a recent wine tour of Hunter Valley, we had lunch here and I ordered the steak. It was a big disappointment as it was very tough; the restaurant was noisy; the Shiraz served at lunch was just ok, but the chocolate cake for dessert was very good. I found the wait staff brisk and evasive--maybe it was a very busy day for them as the restaurant was very croweded. In any case, next time I'll visit another restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful meal at The Cellar before the Bruce Springsteen Concert a couple of weeks ago. The service was fabulous too, with a special mention for Natalie who was just lovely and very helpful. We were even given a little hand-written map showing us the locals "back route" to escape the traffic after the concert. All our meals were delicious - my sirloin steak was cooked to perfection and the Cafe de Paris butter took it to another level. We really liked the setting as well. Highly recommend this Restaurant if you're visiting the Hunter Valley.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere down there
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid food, nice surroundings, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Walked in on a total whim, no research on this place beforehand. It was open on a Monday, big plus for the area and has an outdoor area which meant we could bring our small dog along. The waitress fussed over the dog and brought him some water as it was a hot day. The waitress knew the menu and the wine list well, dealt with us promptly but not intrusively, perfect balance.

We ordered all the "bites" at $6.50 each and were not disappointed with any of them. The Yorkshire pudding with beef and horseradish was very good and the mini lamb pie was excellent. We didn't have mains as this was a light lunch so in addition to 7 "bites" we also had the charcuterie. Good quality nicely made terrine which some quality pickles on the side, couldn't fault it at all.

We also got a half bottle of champagne, great to see them do proper champagne (Mumm) in half bottles, this is also quite hard to find.

The food and drinks or both of us came to $135, a little expensive but worth every penny to have a lovely serene environment too relax in, good food and great service. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best experience in the Hunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a group lunch and each course was a pleasant surprise. All meals were well presented, beautifully cooked and the staff were absolutely excellent. The Chef came out to meet us and explained how the pork crackling (which is a real high light for the restaurant) is made. Highlights were the venison pie, skirt steak (cooked perfectly) and the sides were so beautiful it was hard to select. The desserts were also beautiful.

The wine list is well rounded.

A pleasant surprise and we will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.