We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice look but poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Restaurant

The Cellar Restaurant
Hunter Valley Gardens Village, Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7584
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Nice look but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Being one of the more popular places in Pokolbin to eat you would think they would know how to do a medium rib eye. I'd asked for medium and got a rare, very disappointed. I hate sending food back but i had to, i couldn't eat it.
Service was good but I cant get pass the bad steak.
Wouldn't recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing. Thats all I can say. You must visit this place at least once when you come to the Hunter. I had the steak with shaved truffle and a few cheeky Hunter Semillon's for dinner. friends had the pork, and it was class! Get in early in the week for a quiet intimate dinner. you will not be disappointed! Bring your credit card!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The night we visited there was a power blackout in the area and the place was packed - the Cellar didn't lose power but other places did so everyone ended up at the Cellar. Prices were higher than our companions from Adelaide were used to but seemed reasonable for the area. I had the scallops which were delicious and my friend had the char grilled prawns which was also an excellent choice. We would go back. The service was efficient and the décor / comfort very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Much better than anticipated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked here by email as one of the few restaurants in the Hunter Valley which is open on Monday evenings. Their response was prompt.

Having dined at Botanica the night before, we were prepared for a lesser experience, particularly since the location of the Cellar is in the Hunter Valley Gardens "theme village". We were most pleasantly surprised. a large restaurant, a central big four sided open fire, welcoming service, good menu and adequate wine list, plenty by the glass.

We enjoyed this visit on a cold July night. As for the theme village, it transpires that the Cellar, started by a French man, was here well before any village popped up. The present owner is the chef - always a good sign - and has been so for ten years.

Being a bit picky, at night the overhead lighting could do with a little tweaking - it reminded me of school in the fifties - but this is a minor complaint.

Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acacia Gardens
1 review
“Gluten Free Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My visit to The Cellar was an overall lovely experience. My needs as a Coeliac were very well attended to by the staff, and most of the menu was suitable for those on gluten free diets or could be adapted to suit. The staff were very knowledgeable and accommodating. The wine list was local and fantastic. The food was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.