We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff, Great Food & Awesome wine list!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cellar Restaurant

The Cellar Restaurant
Hunter Valley Gardens Village, Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7584
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bellbird
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest Staff, Great Food & Awesome wine list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ticks all the Boxes!! I took my dad out for dinner last night at the cellar restaurant- didn't have a booking and was a little worried when we turned up at 8:20pm and thought it was going to be a long shot to get a table since this is quite late to turn up without a booking.. We were welcomed by Alex a young girl with a stunning smile, she was more than happy to sit us down and gave us a lovely table next to the gardens inside.
The Wine list is endless, great options of mostly local hunter valley wines and some from overseas. The entrees we ordered were the Tasmanian salmon with verjuice and mandarin, which was fresh and mouth watering and my dad had the chargrilled asparagus with local feta and chestnuts- also delicious! Mains were just as lovely we had the barrumundi and snapper both well presented and matched the wine we chose for dinner..
I'd have to say the staff were the highlight of our evening, they were attentive without being intrusive, warm, friendly, helpful and professional. Thankyou so much Averil and Alex, you both made our night and we'll be recommending this lovely restaurant to our friends, collegues and family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    59
    24
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went for lunch to "The Cellar Restaurant" and ordered the fixed price menue in three courses.
Starting with grilled octopus: it was tasty, although the medium warm, boiled slices of potato as foundation of the rocket salad, octopus and bacon were a bit too less inspiring.
The salad creme was not too much our favourite, but this is simply a personal issue.
Main course was a duck confit served on frisee salad and small cubes of potato.
The basement and also its dressing was really nice, the duck leg delicious. Only improvements might be in finishing the duck skin to be more brown and crispy.
The dessert was the best course! Chocolate marquis, yummi, and red wine poached pear with icecream. Really great!! Price is value for money.
Service was attentive and friendly.
This restaurant is to be recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The restaurant is a tad bit on the expensive side, but the food is exquisite and well worth the visit if you have a chance. Service was excellent and the bathroom was cute, but really, the focus here is the food. Beautifully plated and delicately balanced with interesting combinations, the food is an experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cellar restaurant has been consistently the best restaurant in the Hunter- from the days of the Savage Family, Mark Hosie and now Andy, you always know it will be very good- you can count on it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Decent location, very friendly service but food a tad expensive for the price (good however). Wine list is interesting, consider trying their house pours ( whites) as very good. Lacking a bit of atmosphere (but we went on a Tuesday night).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cellar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.