We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service and Expereience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patrick Plains Estate

Save Saved
You added Patrick Plains Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Patrick Plains Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Service and Expereience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My partner and i stayed here for the long weekend and what an amazing place. When we arrived at reception our key was left at the table which we helped ourselves to. Then in the hallway we ran into a member of staff who was very friendly and suggsted a few dinner places for us and even booked a reseravtion for us, which was awesome. The breakfst was provided as requested, mini bar was delicious and the bed and doona were very comfortable. They even have DVDS which you can borrow free of charge

The only negative thing i can sat about it is about the canapes....they werent really canapes it was just cheese and wine but it was delicious and even though the form said to hand in before 4:30 and we arrived after 5 the lady still gave it to us.

Overall the room was great, the service was great and i would definetly go there again. One night wasnt enough i would recommemnd staying there for about 2 - 3 nights.

The location is a bit further out but they can organise dinner drop off service for you if you dont want to drive but it was no problem for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    15
    12
    15
See reviews for
1
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Great location for a weekend away sampling wine and the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Loved the hot breakfast and tapas delivered to your room. Rooms were very spacious, clean with lots of amenities to make the stay very comfortable. Having the private veranda was a great way to relax and enjoy the wine purchases of the day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

This is a lovely, easy place to stay in the Hunter. Well-appointed, clean, super-friendly staff in a beautiful location. Would benefit from bigger beds, more neutral carpet and a new finish on the old laminate wardrobes, but overall a very good experience. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed at Patrick Plains Estate last weekend and really enjoyed the accommodation. The room was beautifully presented and was very spacious. We received a very warm when we arrived and loved the shiraz and cheese delivered to our room in the early evening and took it outside to enjoy looking into the vineyard. I just wish the bath and shower could have been a little bigger.

Breakfast arrived to our room as ordered, on time and was lovely and hot.

We went to the Chris Issac Concert at Hope Estate which was really enjoyable under the stars and we highly recommend catching the bus service too and from the accommodation.

We also enjoyed dinner at Amanda's on the Edge (recommend booking before leaving home) and had a WONDERFUL Tapas lunch at The Verandah restaurant (booking recommended here too).

We really enjoyed staying at Patrick Plains Estate and hope we can return again one day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Excellent,friendly staff with comfortable rooms and top breakfasts served in room on time.
No hesitation in recommending this venue for a Hunter valley stay. Definitely five star

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Booked a room at Patrick Plains Estate. Rooms available on 3rd party website. Following day, they ring me up saying no rooms available due to computer error which is a pathetic excuse. Therefore rooms advertised at a good price are never available at that price. Clearly a case of false and misleading advertising and will be reporting them to Consumer Affairs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patrick Plains Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Plains Estate

Address: 647 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Patrick Plains Estate 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Luxury Boutique Accommodation, Patrick Plains Estate is located in Hunter Valley wine country, just two hours north of Sydney. With the Brokenback Range towering in the background, Patrick Plains Estate has sweeping lawns, classic gardens, majestic trees & picturesque vineyards set amongst 14 acres. Your stay includes: 5-star luxury boutique accommodation for two people, delicious hot breakfast served in your room, local wine and canapes at sunset. Patrick Plains Estate has recently been rewarded by the AAA Tourism, a Green Star Accreditation for introducing environmentally friendly practices at our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Patrick Plains Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patrick Plains Estate Pokolbin
Patrick Plains Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Patrick Plains Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patrick Plains Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.