We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany Wine Estate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tuscany Wine Estate Resort to your Saves list
Tuscany Wine Estate Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I've stayed in both the Vineyard View and the Olive Grove View rooms. It's a nice place to stay with large rooms and comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast is good value and the bar/grill is good for dinner. The staff are friendly but a bit disorganised at times (but I'm comparing them against some of the top hotels around the world where smooth and professional performance is key). Overall, it's good value.

Given the size of the Hunter Wine Region and the limited availability of public transport, having a car is a must to get around and see everything. This venue is not right in the centre of Pokolbin but has great views. I'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    95
    44
    29
    20
See reviews for
38
173
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was the organiser of a staff conference for 40 delegates held at Tuscany Wine Estate Resort. From my first contact with the resort the staff were helpful, prompt and accommodating of our needs. During the two day conference staff were always on hand to handle requests.
The conference room was ideal for our needs, clean and was set up beautifully for us.
The location is picturesque and the rooms clean. We dined in The Mill Restaurant and the Brokenback Tapas Bar and on all occasions the food was of outstanding quality and more than plentiful. They catered well for our gluten free delegates. For one meal we requested that a vegetarian meal be provided and this was a little disappointing.
Some of our delegates could not access their rooms until later in the afternoon, as they had not been cleaned or made up.
For the entire stay the staff were incredibly happy, helpful and friendly. I would thoroughly recommend Tuscany Wine Estate Resort to businesses needing conference facilities and accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Tuscany Wine Estate Resort would have to be the most pleasant and warm accommodation in the Hunter Valley.
I had organised a 3 day off site strategy session for my company, we had about 30 Guest, interstate and international. the Staff were extremely helpful and very easy to work with. i couldn't have pulled of such an successful event without the team at Tuscany. Everyone contributed so much from the reception to the Kitchen; all helped put together our event with such ease. i feel that the staff at Tuscany are passionate and are always there to accommodate your needs. the estate itself is beautiful and well maintained. the rooms where very spacious and Boutique like. very clean and up to date.
overall i loved the early mornings in the mist, it would be rare not to see kangaroos... i loved the feel of the vines and the olive trees on the grounds, very European/ Mediterranean Tuscan feel. Food is fantastic at both the restaurants. the Conference room that is onsite is very good value for money. lots of natural light and well heated in the winter.

Thank you team Tuscany again for all your support and Fantastic service, our international guest where especially happy with your accommodation, and your friendly Kangaroos.

thumbs up from me!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I ( and the kids ) stayed the night after travelling from Tamworth. Got a brilliant deal on one of those internet last minute deals website. We stayed in the Olive View Room. Was greatly impressed by the decor and ambiance of the room. The kids could use the cable TV and / or free WiFi whilst the good wife & I sampled the local wines.
The pizzas from the wood fired oven - on site - were beautifully cooked and filled all our tummies.
Bathroom & room was very clean which was extremely important for the ever noticable good wife,
With a glass of red, a pleasant view of the local mountains at sunset from the top of the ridge and a quiet peaceful locale this place was absolutely "heaven on a stick".
Kids slept well as too did us 'oldies'.
Next morning the staff were top class in assisting us with information about what to see and do. Nothing was too much. And best of all it was done with a smile and a chat.
For a teacher from down the South Coast taking his family for a trip around NSW this accommodation was the perfect touch of class to round off a great family holiday.
The next time I visit the Hunter Valley ( either as a pass through or to visit the vineyards ) I'm not even going to bother about searching other places to stay. This is indeed the best place for location, service, cleanliness and value for money that can be found when staying in the valley.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010 via mobile

We stayed for the mid week package and it was fantastic value. We were worried after reading some of the reviews but everything was fantastic. Room was equal to other four star places we have stayed and was extremely clean. The bed was heavenly! Both the mill and the bar had fantastic food and service and the breakfast was great. Cannot fault anything about the place or our stay. Perfect for romantic getaway, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TuscanyWineEstate, Manager at Tuscany Wine Estate Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Dear KSgetaway

We would like to take the time to thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at Tuscany Wine Estate Resort. Our team work very hard to ensure we have customer focus and we look forward to having you return.

Thank you & regards

Kirsty Gregson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The only saving grace this hotel has is the restaurant manager Kyle, everything else is just terrible!
The hotel is completely misleading - their website is fantastic, but what you get is a motel... filthy motel at that!
We arrived to our room which had not been cleaned, the bed was unmade, the towels from previous occupants were on the floor!
We then called reception who sent us a cleaner, who came with no sheets to change! once she had done the room, we noticed she had no dirty sheets in her hand! She then told us that the sheets wernt always changed after every occupant!!!
We also realised after she had left that she had taken my fiance's newly bought deoderant that he had left on the table! When asked, she just laughed at him and handed it back to him!
Subsequently we decided not to stay - so went to a lovely hotel called Chateau Elan! Thank goodness for Kyle who was in charge for the day, if not for him we would have caused a really big scene as this was really really disgusting!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A very quiet & peaceful place to stay, the views from our room looked over the vineyards & the mountains & it was lovely to sit with a glass of wine & just look. The rooms were small but the staff's friendly & helpful mannor and the food at the Mill Restaurant more than made up for it. I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway. We will definately be back for more. One tip would be to look at the packages as our's included a full day wine tour & many other extra's which made the weekend an unforgetable one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscany Wine Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Wine Estate Resort

Address: Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuscany Wine Estate Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tuscany Wine Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany Wine Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany Wine Estate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.