We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & cutting corners. Won't be back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tonic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tonic Hotel
Save
You added Tonic Hotel to your Saves list
251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing & cutting corners. Won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing stay at tonic. Had all the elements to be 5 star & wonderful & perhaps was in its heyday but furniture is a little tired & the cleanliness of rooms was appaling. Dust everywhere, it was like it had not had a proper clean for along time. Will not be back here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you're looking for departure from Hunter Valley kitsch, Tonic is stylish and quirky with some beautiful touches from the owners. Janelle and Ian really personalised the service and as this was a corner of the Hunter I hadn't stayed in before they offered some wonderful suggestions for wineries and restaurants that we weren't familiar with. We're coming back very very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the sunset over the beautiful valley, with kangaroos hopping by and all the birds playing in the dam. Perfect for a gin and tonic. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we hope to go back there some time soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved staying at the Tonic. Secluded, quiet, the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sunset over the dams. Loved the heated floor in the bathroom. Watched movies in front of an open fire in the common room. Walked up (1.2km) to Liliano`s for dinner in the moonlight for an entertaining evening with Luigi and his gorgeous dogs. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There is something really unique about this hotel. The owners couldn't have been more helpful with incredible recommendations on where to eat and drink. They made all 6 of us feel incredibly welcome

It is like having your own personal getaway. Wake up looking over the valley. Incredibly peaceful and private.

Loved having a a fully stocked fridge on arrival as well. If you want something a bit different in the Hunter, look no further

Room Tip: Get the double apartment if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Cant express how beautiful and peaceful our stay was. The small touches were much appreciated, like the yummy breakfast options already in the fridge and the text saying my newspaper was at my door for me. The host's were most gracious and helpful offering local advice if needed. If you want a big comfortable bed and not to be disturbed this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay in the studio room however Ian & Janelle very kindly upgraded us to the 2 bd self contained room as we were staying 4 nights mid week. The room was quirky, modern & clean with gorgeous views over the rolling landscape. We were pleasantly surprised that the fridge was full of all sorts of goodies included in our stay & restocked each day for breakfast! Small touches like that really made the stay. The "hotel" itself was quiet & reasonably close to restaurants & cellar doors in the area however I would definitely suggest that the area would be best enjoyed with the use of a car or tour. We went with http://www.huntervalleytours.com.au/main who were great! If you're staying in winter the gas fire was a delight for us Queenslanders however being that the room has polished concrete flooring I would suggest bringing your slippers! My only fault with the hotel is that we would have loved full choice of pay tv channels for those cold "stay in" nights. All in all we'd definitely stay again & really struggle to fault it & would certainly recommend to friends & family :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel

Address: 251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Pokolbin
Tonic Hotel Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.