We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
41 Kelman Vineyards | Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and had a really lovely stay. The accommodation is really nice, and we had a room down the end of the hallway, so felt we had a little extra privacy.

They've got excellent facilities, and provide access to a theatre room, DVDs and books - which would be great for a winter stay.

As all the reviews indicate - the breakfast is lovely. They've got a great setup for summer breakfasts out on the veranda, with a window into the kitchen to access all your fruit salads and museli etc from. And they provide table service for your main breakfast - either eggs benedict, scrambled eggs or ricotta pancakes.

The hosts, Gay and her husband were lovely, too. They provided recommendations and booked restaurants for us too. They made us feel very welcome.

My only criticism would be - and it's a pet hate of mine - is that the 'king bed' was comprised on two smaller ones pushed together. I absolutely hate this, and it meant that you kind of sank into the middle when cuddling up in bed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Brilliant, just brilliant. Great staff, great facilities and (probably most of all) great breakfast. Don't bother trying to find something better in the Hunter - just stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We spent two wonderful nights here. Accommodations were comfortable and the breakfast was worth the trip! Very convenient to Hunter Valley wineries. Media room with giant screen tv for relaxing in the evening. Hosts were very helpful

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Gorgeous rooms, a lovely warm welcome, fantastic breakfast and the feeling that you're genuinely welcome in someones home rather than someones business premises!

  • Liked — Comfort & Atmosphere
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

The Cooperage is beautifully located on the Kelman Vineyards Estate. This is a working Vineyard and the Vines are all around you as you enter. Not too far from most of the other Wineries in the Hunter Valley, it makes a quiet drive from Cellar Door to Shops or attraction peaceful.

Consisting of 4 rooms with The Retreat (where we stayed) seperate from everybody else. This was a self-contained room with it's own kitchen and 2 double-beds. The only drawback to it's location above a working garage is that it can get a little noisy. The decor was an eclectic mix but mostly Scandinavian inspired with plenty of wood everywhere. It was a bit tired though, with plenty of scuff marks on the kitchen benches and exposed wiring (not live?) in several places (incl. the shower!) Being sited above the garage and constructed entirely of wood means that a quiet trip to the toilet in the middle of the night (or anywhere, anytime) is out of the question.

The meals served at breakfast (incl. in the price) are amazing and almost make up for any drawbacks that you could find. Gay & Warren are fantastic and willing to accomodate you in any way possible, definitely going above and beyond the call. They have plenty of advice and recommendations for attractions and Wine & Food and if they say go to Mojo's for dinner... GO!

All in all a great little place to stay for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

The Hunter Valley Cooperage is a true gem. My wife and I stayed there during our honeymoon. We stayed during the week, when things are slower, and also got an excellent rate that was very favorable compared with comparable B&Bs in the Hunter.

The single most important aspect of our stay was Gay and her husband, who were truly lovely hosts. Our room was ample in size, clean and well-appointed, and had a large deck with a table overlooking the vineyards. It also has a small television and DVD player as well as remote-operated climate controls. There is a large home theater downstairs for guests' use that features surround sound, a cinema-style floor-to-ceiling projection screen and theater-style seating - a great way to unwind after a day of wine tasting!

Of all the places we stayed in Australia during our honeymoon, this was probably my favorite. The congenial hosts, gorgeous scenery and convenient location really made it special and gave you a great taste of what Australia and the Hunter are all about. Also - Gay is an amazing cook and her breakfasts are not to be missed under any circumstances! They were some of our best meals in all of Australia!

I would strongly and unreservedly recommend the Hunter Valley Cooperage for all travelers to the Hunter.

  • Liked — Wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts, theater
  • Disliked — Absolutely no complaints.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Hello,

I stayed in this gorgeous B&B in June this year with my boyfriend. I have so many great things to say about this place absolutely gorgeous house and gardens, really comfy bed, beautiful bathroom, incredibly clean, great massive cinema. In a great location short drive to all the great sights in the Hunter Valley. The hosts are so incredibly LOVELY and the breakfast is too DIE FOR......

We got the romantic package which included the most delicious 3 course meal at this cute little restaurant and a really really relaxing massage for two at this lovely day spa.

I highly recommend this place if you are going to the hunter valley and I would be more than happy to answer any questions.

Thanks

  • Liked — The food......
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 41 Kelman Vineyards | Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.