We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional accommodation in the Hunter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
41 Kelman Vineyards | Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional accommodation in the Hunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Gay and Warren are so inviting and wanting to share their B & B, along with their local knowledge all to make your stay more enjoyable. The breakfasts were home-cooked and enormous! the pancakes with honeycomb butter and maple syrup were a big hit. Both Gay and Warren advised on great shops and restaurants in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed with Gay and Warren for three days and had a very comfortable time. They are both very friendly, accommodating and are more than happy to offer advice on where to visit locally. We stayed in the Champagne suite and it was very nice and clean and the breakfast was also good. A much better experience than staying in a faceless hotel. We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Cooperage in the Hunter Valley is a wonderful discovery. Set amongst gorgeous grape vines in the Kelman Vineyard with loads of laughing kookaburras while we ate breakfast on the deck outside. Gay and Warren are very welcoming and warm hosts. Gay is a wonderful cook, and her poached pears are delicious. Breakfast is very large, so good start to wonderful wine tasting discoveries. Rooms well appointed, only tiny problem we found and a very minor one at that, is that the bathroom light goes each time you walk in, so wakes up the other sleeper. Loads of magazines to read, dvd's to watch, space to walk around. All in all a delightful B & B. We will definitely stay again next time we are in the Hunter.
Peta and Ian

Room Tip: Shiraz room is lovely and I think a little larger than some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Beautiful breakfasts, lots of love, immaculate but homey rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Loved it.

Room Tip: Try the studio under the eves
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast as we usually stay at one of the resorts when we are in the Hunter.
The Cooperage was a great find, beautifully located in the Kelman Vineyard. The facilities of the vineyard were great with a small golf green and tennis courts, but it's the B&B, in particular Gay & Warren that made this holiday truly memorable for us.
They provided personal, generous, friendly & knowledgeable service but other than at breakfast were hidden away so that you could enjoy the run of the house. When we needed anything, they were a quick call away.
We stayed in a standard roo, and it was lovely and generously supplied with a coffee machine, chocolates, port and the loveliest hand soap you'll ever smell!
Gay & Warren were extremely helpful pointing out must see places, some we would never have found without their local knowledge.
Their breakfasts are famous in the Hunter for good reason - they are the best we've eaten at any resort. The serving is so generous we didn't eat lunch in the Hunter at all during our stay. If you are lucky enough to eat their french toast, count yourself among a small but fortunate group indeed as these are the best French toast we have eaten anywhere in the world!
Thank you both for a fabulous stay, we will see you again.
Rae & Dave

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is a very nice B&B, with excellent breakfasts. The accommodation is clean and spacious. We've stayed here before, but found a few things that need to be fixed.
They ran out of hot water one morning because another guest had a bath..apparently one of the heaters broke last year, and they haven't gotten around to fixing it. This is not a good thing in winter.
Also, we lost all power one night when it rained,which stopping us from watching TV or using things like the hairdryer !.. Surely this has occured before?
Seems to me they could spend a little more money and tidy up these problems. They charge full price for weekends, so theres no excuse to save money on little things that make a big difference to your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We spent 3 days at Cooperage B&B and loved it. We had chosen this B&B mainly because of its location on a vineyard (great location and views).

Our room (Chardonnay) was very nice and clean and it had a terrace. The king size bed was very comfortable. There is a home theatre in the basement and a large collection of DVDs to choose from. You can either watch your movie in the theatre or in your room. Loved it!

The hosts, Gay and Warren, are very welcoming, will help you with dinner reservations and will give you useful recommendations regarding what to visit and where to go to get the best food, best views, etc.

Breakfast was amazing both days. It was served outside on the beautiful terrace.

The bonus for us was to see wallabies on the property in the morning. It was impressive to get close to them and be able to observe them in their natural habitat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 41 Kelman Vineyards | Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.