We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakkie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen
1616 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
414 316 859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Beaumont Hills
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Breakkie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went with friends for breakfast and were very pleasantly surprised with a scrumptious breakfast, great service and a lovely cafe/dellie ambiance. What is also good is that you can purchase some lovely cheeses, meats, crackers and assortments of sauces from the Dellie for eats after with wines. We recommend a must stop for Breakkie.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovedale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decisions Decisions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It is so great for locals to have a lovely deli to visit ...... the produce & variety is wonderful. Truffle Brie, Pepper Pecorino, Duck & Orange Pate & the Strawberry & Rhubarb jam ...... all tried & tested at home. Will be returning for more. Yum ! & the restaurant is pretty good too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over priced and under value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was a Sunday... Though it was not that busy. Service was very slow. The staff need better training and be aware of the customer. The food was OK though very small portion sizes..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, but make it a trip for the deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Two Fat Blokes Kitchen is located in a beautiful setting on Broke Road, neighbouring De Iuliis Wines and the Butterfly Gallery.

There is seating outside underneath the Gum trees, overlooking adjacent vineyards, alternatively they have a lounge area inside as well as more formal dining tables. Sitting outside, initially the service was a little slow once we sat down. We ordered sausage/kranksy tasting plate with saurkraut and mustards, and a gnocchi special with gorgonzola cream sauce and crispy sage. My gnocchi was a little on the small side for $18 or so, but the sausage/kransky plate was great. It was a lovely cheese kransky which I do recommend as worth trying.

Looking around, the outdoor area is home to a vegie and herb gardens for use in the kitchen. Inside, the walls were adorned with shelving full of gourmet goodies, any relish or sauce imaginable. Crispbread, olive oils, flavoured salts, and the centre deli was full of smallgoods, gourmet cheeses and antipasto which I couldnt leave without an extra purchase. Try the black pudding and for those a little scared of the colour, the 'white' pudding' is a fantastic alternative.

Overall, the food here was good. They have a few wines on offer and few of the usual beer offerings, as well as coffee and tea. The service was a little haphazard depending on who in the team you are dealing with however one lady was particularly knowledgeable and helpful with the menu and deli products. The atmosphere inside is lacking slightly, most likely attributed to the fact is also serves as a retail environment, leaving it a little cold, so choose a seat outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I visited two fat blokes with my husband, and had a lovely experience. I was greeted by a lovely lady by the name of Dena, she was very helpful, and gave us a lovely experience. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.