We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen
1616 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
414 316 859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 52 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Super atmosphere and friendly staff. Tried the triple mini burgers, each in different bread. WOW A true taste sensation. There's a deli too, so if you're able, can take things with you, good if you're staying and self catering. Saw folks come in and pick up goodies to take away for a picnic.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We also ate at the Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen on Broke Rd at the De Iuliis winery. It was a very relaxing lunch with friends, in an attractive setting. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The gourmet foods for sale in the deli were top quality (spent more buying cheeses, marinated figs, etc, than on our lunch meals). The mini sliders (baby hamburgers) were delicious, as was the paella. Desserts & cakes sooooo... yummy!! Highly recommend a visit! And the attached winery!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Are there two Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen & Euro-deli Café that I visited overlooks the De Iuliis Winery at 1616 Broke road, Pokolbin, and not in Rothbury. Are there two Two Fat Blokes Gourmet kitchens in the Hunter Valley. Well here is my review for the Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen on Broke Road.

We had a very enjoyable family lunch here. The menu was interesting and amusing. The service was friendly and efficient. There is a good wine list and there is a good selection of local produce available in the deli.

The food was reasonable value for money and I would visit again.

An added bonus is that the restaurant is open on Mondays when many other places are closed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFBowner, Owner at Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Unfortunately the address provided to Tripadvisor was wrong. We have since updated it. We are still very new and opened only a few weeks ago and are still trying to find our feet with menus, pricing etc. But we've come a long way and reviews like yours help us get on the right track. The philosophy is to provide great honest food in good comfortable surrounds at reasonable prices. Thank you for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great, Relaxing & Food Beyond Prefect ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

well my family (2 girls 2&5) & I stopped in for lunch one Monday, it was quite, peaceful & prefect.
after we waiting a good 15 mins to be seated & severed. there was only a short wait till our food arrived which is great when you have 2 children. the food was to die for, everything was prefect, what a talented young chef they have, they should be proud..
the place is amazing & can't wait to go back again :) it's just what the hunter needed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Myself and my husband came here for lunch loved the atmosphere of the place it was very laided back and relax place to enjoy lunch

We had the ciabatta to start for breads it was excellent and the housemade pate is to die for
then we decided to have the zucchini flowers and the figs WOW thats all I can say outstanding dishes simple fresh food we also couldnt believe how old the chef was 23 thats insane
He has an amazing career ahead of him the food came out nice and quick with no long waits
The only down fall to the place was the service was terrible and the staff looked like they had no idea what they where doing and had a lack of knowledge

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.