We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hill Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thistle Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Thistle Hill Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Carol greeted us warmly upon our arrival. The room was beyond our expectations. There was a chilled bottle of semillon from a local vineyard as well as a cheese and fruit platter and crackers.

We were shown through the property, shaded places to sit and enjoy our wine, where the guest lounge and breakfast room is, time breakfast is served etc.

The decor at Thistle Hill is exceptional; Carol has an eye for detail and decorating. Little touches all around that made the stay a joy.

Breakfast was fresh, delicious and innovative. Fresh and baked fruits and pastries, all served with style and elegance.

There is nothing I could fault about our 2 night stay. My friend visiting from the US was amazed at the beauty and service.

This is on my come back to list.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    24
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
174
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was an incredible long weekend away - fabulous room decor, thoughtful cheese platter and port on arrival...the breakfasts were o die for!!!! We even had a picnic made up and we still rave aboutut

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thistle hill was an amazing experience, the atmosphere is just breathe taking, breakfast was gorgeous !!
Kangaroos and a pool right outside your door, its just amazing !!
Rooms are very comforting
Would 100% recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Unfortunately we made a mistake when we booked and booked a week ahead of ourselves. I received a phone call that night and proceeded to be told that we should have been there. When I said that we had made a mistake and could we have the following week, I was told again that I should have been there then and that they could have sold our room over and over again. I suggested that there is plenty of accommodation in Polkolbin and was told that I would never get accommodation there again as they are all 'friends' and we would be not be able to secure anywhere to stay for business.
Very unpleasant experience for a simple mistake for which I apologised originally.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the dates correct.!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
It is with regret that this inaccurate review has been posted to tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on being honourable and caring hosts and always treat our future guests and guests with respect. Unfortunately due to the wrong dates being booked by them and our inability to accommodate them on their newly requested dates, I pointed out our cancellation policy because we had lost other booking opportunities, we were abused and racially slurred. It is very difficult to please anyone who is irate and abusive.

It is an unfortunate experience as we are always understanding to guests who have to cancel or modify their bookings.


-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

great place to stay. breakfast was lovely. rooms were nice. love the dessert wine in the room for a quiet drink when we got back. the only complaint was the low pressure in the shower! hosts were lovely

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything here was cozy & cottage-y but with a slight modern feel. The grounds and rooms were incredibly clean and fresh. Carol's "continental" breakfasts are more than substantial and more than delicious. We stayed an extra night because of how wonderful it was. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area and would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thistle Hill was recommended to us by a friend who said it was one of the nicest places in the Hunter to stay and she was absolutely correct. It was everything we had hoped and then some, we just wished we could have stayed a little longer, but one thing is for certain, we will be back and also recommend it to everyone we know. Peter and Carol are the most gorgeous hosts and did everything possible to make our girls weekend perfect. We had the cottage to ourselves which was just wonderful for us to all catch up. The decor is divine with amazing attention to every detail, and pristine is the only way to describe absolutely everything, inside and out. Beautiful breakfast in the pavilion, beautiful gardens, beautiful everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.