We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hill Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thistle Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Thistle Hill Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Thistle Hill over the weekend. What a great place, so relaxing and welcoming!! The location was great as it is on the northern side of the Hunter, away from the more commercial side. The accommodation was great, clean, well decorated. Breakfast is served in the pavillion next to the pool. What a delight it was - cereals, fruit compote, baked apples, yoghurt, berries, croissants, scones, bread and butter pudding, cheese........ The big decision was what to eat so we stayed and grazed a while. Carol and Peter are fantastic hosts; chatty, welcoming and can recommend places for dinner if you require. Highly recommend this place for a weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    24
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
174
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Book this now! Don't hesitate! This is without doubt the most perfect accommodation in the most perfect location. The Hunter Valley is stunning as is this guest house. Hosts are friendly without being overbearing, the grounds are stunning but that doesn't prepare you for the actual accommodation. The rooms are simply beautiful and so comfortable. Clean, crisp and full of individual charm. Biscuits and wine in your room - divine! Bedding gorgeous, rooms so comfortable, large and spacious and just beautifully decorated. Was scared to unpack because I didn't want to spoil the room by making it messy. There is even a candle with matches provided so you can experience the true ambience of the room. There is a guest lounge which is spectacular, it was winter when we stayed and there was even blankets provided to cuddle up in. Breakfast defies description, homemade scones, fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, all eaten with views of the grounds. Has separate lounge area to relax in. This is the best place I have ever stayed in - EVER!

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for two days at Thistle Hill and were really spoilt by Carol with a great cheese plate and wine on arrival and little home made cakes and bon bons in the room. Having stayed in many B&Bs in France the care, attention to detail and warmth of the host are on a par with any in Europe. Breakfast taken in the pavillion is a very fine affair and we were fortunate to sample Carol's poacher pears and fresh scones. The rooms are spotless and peaceful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at Thistle hill over the weekend and had the most enjoyable experience. A regular Hunter Valley 'goer' this was by far the most fabulous stay I have experienced. Country style with a touch of city class this cottage is not to be missed. The day starts with a delightful breakfast of home made goodies including poached pairs, apple crumble, rhubarb, bircher the list goes on. The couple that run Thistle Hill only added to the experience chatty, helpful and warm their attention to detail could not go unnoticed. The cottage itself had a warmth and style that was simple and sophisticated and we arrived to a cheese plate and wine. My friends and i had an absolute ball and will most definitely be returning to Thistle Hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I recently stayed at Thistle Hill for a friend's Hunter hens getaway and had a wonderful time. Carol and Peter have created a really beautiful environment that feels more like you are staying in a friend's home than a B&B. The interior decoration is just delightful and the gardens are beautifully maintained. The delicious home cooked breakfast and generous wine and cheese on arrival are a great touch. Depite all of this, we all agreed that our chats with Carol and Peter were the highlight of our stay - they are terrific hosts and make you feel wonderfully welcome.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had! We arrived late in the evening and received a warm welcome from Carol. It felt like we came home and were surrounded by people that we knew for a long time. It was a perfect start of the weekend!
The room was wonderful – stylish, clean and it smelled so good…! It exceeded our expectations! We didn’t think it could get any better … until we tried Carol’s breakfast. Delicious! Very special!
Carol and Peter were very helpful, they gave useful tips. We will definitely come back and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thistle Hill is a beautiful place to stay. The whole property looks like a Country Style magazine spread, and you can tell running the guesthouse is a labour of love for Carol and Peter because they have an amazing attention to detail. Breakfast of roasted rhubarb and strawberries, poached pears and cherries, homemade bircher muesli and lots of other yummy treats were delicious. There wasn't anything to fault with our whole stay, Carol was a great source of information for which local wineries and restaurants to visit too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.