We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Hill Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thistle Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Thistle Hill Guest House
591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Chshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our last night of a three week trip in Australia. We loved everything about Thistle Hill - the location, the grounds, the house, the breakfast annex. The whole place exudes style and elegance and it was a fitting final night to a wonderful holiday. Breakfast was a true feast!
Carol was the perfect host. She made us feel very welcome from the first. She booked dinner for us at a nearby restaruant which was excellent (the Botanico 2 drives away from Thistle Hill) and we arrived to find she had ordered a glass of bubbly for us both when we arrived!
The following day she advised us about which vineyards to visit before we headed back to the airport and they were excellent too.
Carole told us of her plans to create a deluxe suite at Thistle Hill. Watch this space - I have no doubt it will be truely amazing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
159
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Thistle Hill in April. It was just gorgeous. The rooms are very well appointed, spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated.
It was by far the best guest house we stayed in on our few days away.
The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts wonderful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

lovely property with a very welcoming host who helped organise wine tasting tours prior to our arrival. Freshly baked goods for breakfast and a cheese and wine platter in the room on arrival. Lovely quiet location not far from all the activity but if you do want to go out for dinner in the evenings and continue with the wine you will have to pay for a taxi which is not particularly cheap. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Thistle Hill is 5 star luxury & service at its best.

The service was second to none and the wonderful hosts Carol & Peter were so accommodating to our group of 10. Carol made us the most delicious continental breakfasts each morning that it was a delight & excitement to see what we were given each day in the gorgeous breakfast room overlooking the pool with beautifully relaxing background music carefully picked to start off the day.

With 6 bedrooms in the main house and two in the cottage, the bedrooms were delightfully interior designed by Carol herself all with ensuites and coffee & tea making facilities and above all very quiet.

The location is perfect for visiting the many wineries the Hunter region has to offer and all within an easy 5-15 min drive away and having the mini van that we had hired from the airport was a perfect way to transport our group around.

We ALL loved the whole Thistle Hill Guest House experience and having two of our five couples staying in the beautiful 2-bed self-contained cottage was a big plus as we were able to have a nice self-catered BBQ out on the lawn the first night to start the trip off before visiting some of the amazing restaurants over the next few nights and of course for lunch as well.

'Charlie Boy' the resident cat made sure none of us stepped out of line and he absolutely loved a pat or two whilst he was patrolling his domain.

So Carol & Peter thank you both very much for a most relaxing & entertaining time spent with the best of friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

great hosts,the breakfast is the best ,lovely pool and pool house,great advise on where to go in the area to dine,it was quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011 via mobile

We loved our stay, particularly because we such a great time with Carol, our hostess. The welcome was great, the room as we thought it would be, very comfortable and good vfm. Breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed meeting the other guests and for Carols help in planning our days. Would definitely
return and recommend it to others

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were spotless. The crisp white sheets lovely. The rooms all had terrace views over the vineyards and billabong. We saw 3 kangaroos at dusk. The pool is small but nice. Breakfast is served in a separate building described as a guest lounge, an attractive glass room on the verandah, though without the benefit of air conditioning (at least when we were there). The pluses: great homemade scones, muffins, baked fruits and yogurts for breakfast. The minueses: woe betide you if you change the wallpaper musak at breakfast for one of the other CDs piled up for guest use or bring your own cafetiere for strong coffee in lieu of the weaker option on offer. Restaurant Botanica is 300m up the road. There are ample wineries in the immediate vicinity, including the excellent Mistletoe Winery. We enjoyed our stay, but with so few rooms, felt slightly that our every movement was under a watchful eye.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.