We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Lakes Resort

Cypress Lakes Resort
Corner McDonalds & Thompsons Roads | Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
61 (0)2 4993 1555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 96 Activities in Pokolbin
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to stay. Lovely neat rooms with nice views. We only stayed for the weekend but would have loved to stay longer. The room was a little hard to find at first as there's not many signs but that isn't anything to complain about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    12
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“This is very expensive for what is provided”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for the recent Longwall Conference and I hate being ripped off.
Booked in and upon entering the room found that it smelt like cigarettes and no-one had cleaned the skid marks off the $hitter - this takes the cake (so to speak)
For the sort of money that they charge for the suites the Hotel is a rip off.
Food quality for the breakfast varies from ordinary to satisfactory with staff at the check-in desk very surly and going out of their way to pretend to be busy so they did not have to serve customers.
Come on guys wake up and smell the roses.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a waste of a wedding night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I always look on our wedding day fondly.. But the wedding night accommodation was one we would like to forget! We had an early wedding 10am ceremony, and reception was done by 4pm. We were both pretty exhausted by the time we got there at 7:30. Warm welcome by reception staff, and a generous offer of a 1pm checkout as it was a Sunday night! We were very impressed and headed to our villa.

The stench of bleach hit us as soon as we opened the door. We took that as a good thing at least we knew it was cleaned. To our dismay though, the "spa" that we had been offered was infancy a bath, that only one person could fit in.

The room was pretty and after our exhausting day we retired at about 1am. The next thing I heard was my husband speaking in a rather loud voice. Turns out at 6:45am a cleaner entered the villa unannounced and advised "I'm going to clean now" my husband repeatedly advised we were able to stay until 1pm and her response was "I'll come back in half an hour"

Needless to say I was not impressed!!! Cutting our losses we decided to get up and go to breakfast. Shouldn't have bothered, McDonalds on the way home would have been more appetising. Cold food, not much variety, we were well and truly over it. By 8am we checked out and drive home. So much for late checkout! Very disappointing Cypress Lakes!

Our honeymoon accommodation was better quality (at $15 a night in Thailand!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Clean place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Not a fan of golf, nice breakfast. Under staffed.Little outdated. Wouldnt stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good location, facilities a little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Five of us in a two bedroom villa which was in good condition. Location is great - very central. We visited the bar on the Saturday night and were very disappointed to find a harshly lit room with no ambience at all. We chose to sit outside whilst the sun went down and would have stayed outside but they had run out of gas for the outdoor heaters - shame on you Cypress Lakes. Have never played golf so cannot comment on the quality of the course.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Lakes Resort also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Wollombi, Cessnock
 

Been to Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.