We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service dwindled through the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant to your Saves list
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant
Cessnock-Branxton Rd | Rothbury, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food but service dwindled through the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a Thursday night (29/12/2011) and had a very mixed experience.

Advantages:
Food was delicious. We brought my bf's mother and she said it was the best desert she has in her life. All our plates were empty at the end of each course.
The service up to the main course was fantastic

Disadvantages:
Our booking was never taken down in the book. Even after giving our contact details.
Once we were served our main course we were forgotten about. No more water top us or having our wine poured for us which was what impressed us in the first half of their service.
We were left sitting with our dinner plates infront of us for at least 30mins.
We had to wave to get the servers attention in order to get them to take it away and then again to get menus for dessert
It took another 20mins to get them back to get our order for dessert
It then took a further 15mins after finishing desserts to get the bill

I believe all these issues can easily be fixed and people would leave as happy as they started their meal. It was not busy enough for this kind of service. I am giving a rating of 3 because the food was so tasty but if it was based on service I would give it a 1/5.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
4
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We only decided to go to the Hunter from Sydney last minute one Saturday morning. Jazz in the Vines was on we discovered and accommodation was scarce. We got in here (via the tourist Info people) and although the room was basic it was a pleasant surprise to find reasonably priced bottles of the estates wines in the room. It was clean and had a rustic appeal. The bed was comfy. For the price I probably would normally expect a bit more but we have stayed in such a range of places and prices. The included breakfast was a bit strange, no hot component was offered, just hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast with local produce tea and coffee.

Room Tip: I think all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I agree with JR1Sydney - accommodation very basic albeit the bed was comfortable but certainly not worth the price paid ($380 1nt d/b/b). We booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1 as the room in which we stayed was quite run down - the sliding bathroom door got stuck each time you tried to open or close it, so had to leave it ajar enough to slide ourselves in & out.... the shower door was cracked & the vanity old & broken. There was a sewerage stench that seemed to invade the room at night making it difficult to sleep although we had the aircon on (which was noisy) - it had no effect. And yes, the squeaky verandah could certainly be a problem with people walking up & down at all hours. We did eat at the restaurant & did enjoy our meal - the waitress very friendly & attentive but breakfast was as others have said - only a basic continental breakfast available. For the additional night we found alternate accommodation at the Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens where we were upgraded to a deluxe spa room for the price of a studio room - $302 1nt d/b/full bkfst - chalk & cheese!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The accommodation was basic but comfortable, but overpriced. For the amount paid I expect better than basic and comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant and breakfast was self serve with no hot food. Will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I'm a world traveler - I live in Colorado. I camp, I tie my food up from bears, I'm no wimp. But charging over $200 for a sparse log cabin room invested with 4-inch spiders is not acceptable. The $10 hostel we recently visited in Costa Rica was cleaner and had better service. 3-inch spiders criss-crossed the porch area. The door to our room barely locked. The bathroom was reminiscent of budget summer camp facilities. The service at the restaurant was glacially slow, and the food nothing to shout about. When I shared my dismay with the innkeeper in the morning, I was told they are committed to organic farming and would never consider using pesticides. Perhaps they should stick to farming and abandon their inn-keeping pursuits.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw,Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Lovely weekend getaway. The log style cabins are really cosy and plenty of hot water in a spacious shower! The verandah outside allows you to sit and take in the ambience of the place- truly magnificent.
The owners and staff are extremely hospitable and you do feel you are getting personalised attention.
The only thing I would suggest is that they remove the mention of providing a hot cooked breakfast from the website, as they dont. HOWEVER what they do provide from breakfast is a high quality continental breakfast - which was truly yummy. So although initially disappointed to not have a cooked breakfast it was short lived once we tasted what was on offer.
I would definitely return to this place and would happilly recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

On arriving we were pleasantly surprised by the quaint rooms positioned along the beautiful wooden verandah. Unfortunately the verandah is incredible noisy when anyone walks along it, and unluckily for us there was a hens party group staying on the night we were there who were making an incredible noise until after midnight. The rooms were cosy but very basic, dated and incredibly over priced - more than $200 a night! The tariff included breakfast at the award winning Shakey tables restaurant, which was again in dire need of a make over and the food for breakfast was all 'serve yourself' as per any standard motel breakfast buffet, but with an even more limited selection. There was not even a menu for cooked eggs, only a bucket of cold hard boiled eggs. For $200 in the overpriced accomodation we expected more, especially since their write up insinuated that you'd be treated to breakfast in the award winning restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant

Address: Cessnock-Branxton Rd | Rothbury, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Country Hotel Shakey Tables
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.