We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewhouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Resort Hunter Valley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunter Resort Hunter Valley
Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 56 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Brewhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

The Hunter Resort has a number of facilities. We tried the Brewhouse early one morning and had the tasting paddle. The beers are made by Matilda Brewing and are not really craft beers in my book. The tasting glasses are 85mls and you get 6 for $15 which includes a midi of your choice when you return the paddle to the bar. Not outstanding beer, but not bad, just middle of the road. My wife had a coffee $3.70 which she said was good and for $8 you can get a coffee and a cake - the lamingtons were huge.
Having tasted all the beer places in the Hunter I can confidently say that the best beer tasting is at the Hunter Beer place at Potters.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I think this place used to be called the Bluetongue Cafe? It's now called the Matilda Bay Brewhouse, I think? Either way, it's attached to the Hunter Valley Resort complex.

I had great expectations as we were staying at the resort and were really happy with the accommodation. The guy working at the cellar dollar was also really helpful and I thought the food would match the rest of our experience.

However, it was truly awful. I ordered the lamb gnocchi which was tepid at best. It seemed like it had been half microwaved. I might have found this bearable for a $10 meal at an RSL, but when they're charging almost $30 a pop, I expect a bit more. My partner ordered the chicken parma which came out somewhat burnt, and the side of veges appeared to be microwaved and undercooked. Again, something that you'd expect at a $10 pub schnitzel night but not when they're charging almost $30 for it.

The girls serving were very friendly, and we didn't make a big deal because they were doing their jobs well and didn't want to cause them headaches.

It's a shame, because up until this point we'd had a great time at this place. Hopefully it's just a small hiccup, because the location, venue and the beer and wine choice make it a great place otherwise.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for Pizza ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Our group had dinner here on a Saturday night. We shared three pizzas which were tiny, dry, tasteless. However the meatballs and salad were delicious. Struggled to get even a basic level service from any of the waitstaff around. Prefer others ...

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford River, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Basic Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We were the only couple in the restaurant for dinner and put at a long banquet table which was very off putting. The meal was quite good and the hostess was lovely.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fairly Expensive, good beers on tap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

with good beers, usually comes good food.

we found good beers, but left disappointed with our food, maybe just an off night for the chef, but our steak was no where near the size you would expect a $35 steak to be, and the pizza's were burnt to the crisp (a lot more then you would expect from a wood fire pizza).. and really just felt no love in the restaurant... maybe next time.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Resort Hunter Valley also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Resort Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Resort Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.