We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill to your Saves list
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed one night in the Superior One bedroom apartment. We had a small kitchen and dining area. It had received a soft refurb since the last time we stayed. Overall pricing seemed on the high side for what we received considering the local market was slow.The one bedroom apartment had an adjoing room which when opened would make it into the two bedroom apartment. We were lucky to have a quiet couple in the adjoining apartment which was connected by an interconnecting door. We enjoyed the small courtyard patio and the views into the surrounding hills were beautiful. Staff at the property were courteous. Within walking distance to local attractions. We also walked to the Oishi Restaurant at Tempus Two and loved the food and service there. Overall quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    140
    55
    32
    17
See reviews for
43
170
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We travelled to the Hunter Valley to see an outdoor concert at Hope Estate Wines. We decided not to book accommodation in advance as we planned to drive home that evening.

On arrival in the Hunter in the early afternoon, we changed our minds and decided to try and find a room for the night. After an hour of calling almost every hotel/motel and B&B in the Hunter Valley, we were lucky enough to find a room available at the Leisure Inn.

For the price of the room, we did expect a better experience. The lady at reception seemed disinterested in our arrival, and was quick to point out that reception closes at 6pm. You really are on your own here, if you need anything "after hours" forget about it - which is not a good thing if you have been drinking, you can hardly jump in the car and drive the 15 minutes into Cessnock.

The room was ok, the little villas look big from the outside, but it's not until you get up close that you realise that they are made up of multiple rooms with common walls. The room was actually quite small and very basic.

The bathroom was ordinary & the water pressure in the shower was terrible.

One nice thing was that Kangaroos were wandering around the grounds and at one point came within a few metres of us out the front of our room.

Breakfast the next morning was very basic. Not much on offer and the quality was poor.

We were grateful to find a room on a busy weekend in the Hunter Valley, and leaving it so late to book we could not be picky, so I'm glad we found this place, but we won't be returning.

If you are offering a basic room, no staff after 6pm and a very poor, school camp like breakfast in the morning, you can't go on charging the high room rates. Bring the rates down and this place would be ok for budget travellers.

This is a fantastic area and the hotel is located right in the middle of it. With a little care and attention to detail, this COULD be a nice place to stay. At present it is not. The owners need to staff their property properly, (particularly after hours) if they want to continue charging the high rates they do.

There are many better places to stay, within a short walk of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The room, location and reception were all fine and the room was ready early for our very early arrival which was really appreciated. The room, 1 bdrm villa, had a great outlook, very clean and spacious. The corner spa was great at the end of a day wine touring. What was disappointing though was the breakfast. Our deal clearly stated, 'full buffet continental breakfast" so upon arrival to breakfast the first morning we were greeted with a single page menu outlining what there was to choose from. Menu???? Every buffet breakfast I've ever been to involved choices, many choices. Even the basic ones have cereals, toasts, toppings, juices etc,etc. Not this one! All that was on the menu were 5 or 6 different ways you could cook eggs and bacon/ham. Extremely disappointing especially before a big day of touring and too bad if you were allergic to egg products as one guest no doubtedly was (overheard saying so as her and her partner made a quick exit after reading the menu).
Disappointing also was the complimentary bottle of local wine upon arrival. It was no where to be seen and after inquiries were told none left but after further prompting a bottle of cheap white was surrendered even though a red was requested.
As I said the rooms and view were good but I know we won't be going back unless advertising what you get is actually what you get.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Firstly thank you for your feedback.

The restaurant onsite is currently run by Hunter Café and Restaurant; we have supplied your feedback to the owners of Hunter Café and Restaurant and will pursue the matters raised further with them.

We have investigated the issue raised of the wine. As your package is open to a selection of local wines from our supplier (package included Shiraz or Verdelho however we also include sparkling Chardonnay), wine is generally selected and given at check in.

From investigation we have found at the time of your stay we had in stock Shiraz, Verdelho & Sparkling Chardonnay, the staff member involved has reported that a third wine that is not included in your package options (Merlot) was not available.

I apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, we have retrained the staff member and instated procedures to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We used to stay there frequently when it used to be Pokolbin Chateau Resort. We loved this place! So, it was a bit of a shock to us when we stayed at the Leisure Inn last weekend. What a joke! First of all - service was extremely poor. Two ladies at the front desk didnt even want to listen to us, they were rude and unhelpful. The room was pretty shocking as well - looked like it was not cleaned at all and had a funny smell to it.... it was very outdated as well. The only thing its got going for it is the central location.....We booked 2 nights, only stayed for 1, decided that we would rather drive back to Sydney at night than stay another night at the so called resort. Needless to say, not staying there ever again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Thank you for your review; we appreciate any feedback from our guests.

As we have no record of such a complaint being lodged (either via our feedback forms or directly during your stay) of any early departures by our guests we would appreciate if you could make contact with the hotel General Manager either via telephone on 02 4998 7000 or via email gmpokolbin@leisureinnhotels.com so we can investigate the matter further.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to discuss the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed in deluxe one bed appartment. Very nice, modern, clean & comfortable. Beaut views from villas closer to dam. Nice pool with spa. Friendly staff. Great value as lovedale long lunch was on & other places were asking a small fortune. Have stayed in more expensive places around the hunter before & this was up there. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The location of this property is fantastic,close to many wineries and resturaunts. We found that the staff are quite cold, and it seems most things come at an extra cost. We stayed three nights and the rooms are not serviced at all. The cost for Friday and Saturday nights are around $195, which is plenty considering you clean and remake your own room. There is a 2.5% credit charge fee added to accounts.
Invoice was printed on paper that had already been used on the orther side.
Overall, it was OK, but there is plenty of room for improvement
The room we had was about 100 metres down a gravel foot walk, so is a little trouble to get luggage to your room. Some rooms are closer to the carpark, but then some are a reasonable distance from your car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Firstly thank you for your feedback on our resort. We currently provide both serviced and unserviced packages. The package you have chosen to stay with us on is an unserviced one so did not include daily servicing of your unit however external bins are provided onsite, fresh linen and supplies can be provided from reception should you require during your stay onsite. We (and many other hotels in Australia) have now chosen to provide visible credit card transaction fees however cash and Eftpos payments remain free of charge, whilst most places feel the need to charge all their guests these “credit card surcharges” (regardless of whether they pay cash, Eftpos or indeed with credit card) we believe the choice should be in the hands of the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We (my mother and I) had booked this accommodation to see Julio Iglesias in the Hunter. We paid $450 for 2 nights stay. Julio then cancelled and when we asked if we could have the accommodation refunded (with a month's notice) we were told we could not. This was fair enough considering it was clearly stated in the booking, however it was disappointing that we were told we could have cancelled if we had not booked over the internet (??), and that there was no flexibility extended to even move the date we had booked. This all seemed a little unfair considering the circumstances.

With a days notice we called up to request 2 single beds instead of a queen. We were told there were no single beds, however we could upgrade the room to one with a sofa bed for an extra $30. By this stage we're already feeling pretty disappointed, for $225 a night I would have expected a bit more, and now we're up to $240/night.

We arrive on the Friday evening, check in is all ok and reception were pleasant. On arriving in our room the sofa bed is not made up. I walk back up to reception (which you can't actually call after 6pm?) and ask for some sheets. I am then told by the receptionist I had not requested sheets, if we want sheets it will be an extra $30. I explain we have already paid this, and was told no, that $30 was for a room upgrade. So I ask what the room upgrade was for, she says a better room, I ask her to check the notes and she reads that it was so we could have a sofa bed. She then repeated that the $30 was for the room upgrade not for sheets. By that stage I'm not feeling very happy which I think she picked up, and she handed over the sheets. (She did ask if I was ok to make the bed up myself which I was).

We ate in the restaurant that night. The girls working in there were lovely and trying really hard, however the service and food was certainly not up to the scratch the website advertises and it was overpriced for the quality.

The next morning we went up for breakfast, the continental which was included. Now for $240/night this was really really appalling. There was a scant selection of toast, cereal, some tired looking pastries, and a one person sized plate of fruit. I asked for some brown bread (which they didn't have) and so I then asked for permission to bring up my own bread which was ok. Whilst I was toasting this some more people came in and stood at the 'buffet' looking stunned. I told them there HAD been fruit but it had run out, perhaps they could ask for some more. The next morning we didn't even bother going up and prepared our own food.

No one came to clean our room on the Saturday morning which I was not that bothered about. What I was bothered about was that we had used the one tiny sachet of washing liquid and now had a sink full of dirty glasses and plates, and we had used our one roll of toilet paper which was not replaced. We realised this at 11pm when there is no one to ask for more and no where to go to get some. This is disgusting considering no one comes to clean or to even check everything is ok.

In addition to all of the above, there is an air of frugalness about the whole place and it tainted our experience. From the terrible shower and the revolting fluro lighting, to the cheap plastic bins that make you feel like you're in a hospital room, it felt like someone is trying very hard to save as much as possible and has been cheap with everything. I'm not averse to managing waste but this was a bit much. It felt like a school camp hostel.

If this had been low or even mid priced accommodation I would have felt a lot more forgiving about this experience. However, considering similarly priced experiences that I have had in many city hotels this was really overpriced and below standard. We were really disappointed. I would never stay there again and will tell anyone I know to avoid it, and I would be extremely reluctant to visit any other Leisure Inns.

A lot of people visit the Hunter Valley as a bit of a 'luxury weekend away' and I would not want someone to spend this sort of money on what they expect will be a lovely weekend of wine tasting and pampering, and instead end up finding their own breakfast and running out for toilet paper in the middle of the night.

I passed on this feedback to the CEO, and the hotel itself, and I received a generic, pro-forma "thanks for your feedback" response from the CEO. Obviously the lack of service extends beyond this hotel itsel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Address: Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.