We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Hunter Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hermitage Lodge to your Saves list
Hermitage Lodge
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gem in the Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to rest and enjoy the beautiful Hunter Valley. The Hermitage Lodge was the perfect place. Our suite really overlooked the vines and the small lake with its fountain. Our continental breakfast was ready for us in the fridge and buffet so we could enjoy it on our balcony. We had supper at the Il Cacciatore, the Lodge's restaurant, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    68
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
149
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our three night stay was very pleasant. This is a marvellous location right in the centre of wine country, and the rooms themselves are set amongst vines.

The Italian restaurant on site is very good, but very popular. We booked a table for our first night when we booked the room.
Breakfast provisions are not large, but they are of high quality. In a region littered with gourmet restaurants, great cafes, local providores and endless eating options, we were glad of a light breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and fairly new. The grounds are lovely for a walk around after dinner or in the early morning. Staff are also friendly and helpful.

Overall it was a fantastic find for our recent three night stay in the Hunter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Sitting around doing nothing, staring out at nature with loads of great wine and cheese is one of my favorite things to do in life. I was very glad I had the chance to do so when I went to the Hunter Valley in Australia (it’s Australia’s version of Napa Valley) and stayed at the Hermitage Lodge.

This quaint establishment is nestled in the midst of a vineyard so the views from your balcony is stunning and spectacular. Think ripe grapes and quiet automated sprinklers and beautiful colors glistening in Summer sun. I am not a big outdoor person but the calmness and the serene quality of the surroundings at Hermitage Lodge is something everyone can appreciate...

Read the full review on StyleFlavors.com (http://www.styleflavors.com/hermitage-lodge-hunter-valley).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hermitage Lodge in January, the week after New Year's, and found it to be an idyllic and comfortable spot. It's convenient to several wineries (including a really good one, First Creek, right across the street). There is a saline pool which came in very handy, as it gets really hot in Pokolbin and Cessnock in summer.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main lodge- there are detached cabins as well that may have more/different amenities. Our room had a great porch out back overlooking the gardens and vineyards on the property where we ate breakfast int he morning and sipped local wine in the evening. It is a shared porch so you might have to be chatty with your neighbors.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, and we had a really nice meal one evening at Il Cacciatore, the adjacent Italian restaurant. The service at the restaurant was a little laissez faire, but everyone was nice and the food is good.

Be careful walking around the grounds after dark because there are huge spiders that spin big webs in the bushes and across the lesser trafficked pathways. If you're an early riser, I highly recommend a sunrise walk down one of the country roads near the lodge- I happened across a bunch of kangaroos grazing one morning, which was very cool.

Also, one of the innkeepers mentioned in casual conversation that they don't hike their prices very much during the big outdoor concerts and festivals in the area. After all the New Year's Eve price gouging we experienced in Sydney, this won them automatic bonus points!

Room Tip: The detached cabins may offer more privacy than the rooms in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stumbled on this place by accident, simply picking accommodation on the Internet on a value for money basis. Instead we find ourself in accommodation to more than match what we pay a lot for in Beverley Hills, where we stay at the Montage on Canon each year for a week on business. Room is in new condition with lots of space despite it's description as a "studio". Wonderful aspect over the grape vines, great air con and quiet fan, lots of fresh air, great balcony, great armchairs. Beat this! The restaurant Il Cacciatore is just magic and far better than the customer basis of the Hunter Valley would seem to justify given the area does attract underdresed day trippers from Sydney . Will try and write up a separate review of the restaurant where my wife described the gnocchi ( spinach and ricotta) as the best she has encountered in her 64 years on this earth. And the location is smack in the middle of where you would want to be. The quality of ingredients in the dishes is a huge compliment to the owner/managers who can maintain these food standards despite inevitable chef changes from time to time. Forget staying or eating elsewhere, this is the best by a runaway margin

Room Tip: If like us you want to keep costs down go for a studio without spa on the south side. The Scarboroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I finished our tour of Australia with two days in Hunter Valley, staying at the Hermitage Lodge. It was very pleasant and the perfect end to a three week stop. The lodge is very centrally located, within 5 minutes of many great wineries. When we arrived, they provided a dozen or so great recommendations on a map. Each that we tried had top-notch service and impressive tastings. We also dined at Il Cacciatore which was good, especially the gnocchi. And we disagree with the negative comments on breakfast. After a day of wine drinking, we woke up early for a bike ride, and the english muffins, homemade muesli, yogurt and OJ really hit the spot. Highly recommended for a couple looking for a nice, quiet stop.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked this lodge, thru the tourist information.
We where touring w. a minivan.
So now, we wanted something decent.
Take a decent bath, an comfortable bed, and airco and wash our clothes.
So it just was going to be a one night stay, we wanted an restaurant on site as well.
Well we got more than we hoped for. The room was very spacious, the breakfast was in the refrigerator and up to date , and we had an wonderful view !
Since i rated as very good, the only down point to it was.
It only had 1 washing machine & 1 dryer available ! So there was some kind of an waiting line.
Other then that it was thumbs up ! Next day when we left we felt reborn !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermitage Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.