We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb... Private... Relaxing....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard to your Saves list
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Superb... Private... Relaxing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights mid week!
Superb room with a fire we love right inside the big gable room with a crisp-sheeted enormous king bed!
the ambience of music and fine wine on our deck overlooking the orange winter barely any there leaves tree and the dark night with a stripe of the milky way plus a beautiful moon... Sleeping in to bird calls and more peace... the hottest lovely bath on a cold morning...
We wanted for northing..
All the details were there.. bubble bath.. a torch... bottomless firewood.. corkscrew... fine glassware... a mini oven to heat our dinner so we didn't have to go out... even a friendly dog to say hi to... Best place we could ever want... a memorable and favourite stay... Thanks! Jim and Louise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your delightful comments about CARRIAGES. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed the property and all that it has to offer. We're pleased that a 2-night stay midweek meant you could properly immerse yourself in the vineyard setting & escape the daily grind!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    27
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a lovely time, Carriages is situated in a really nice part of the Hunter.
We can easily go to great restaurants and tasting.
The breakfast basket was delicious with fresh fruit, croissant, toast, yogurt...
Great hosts.

Thank you ; )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Carriages for 5 nights and held our wedding ceremony amongst the vineyards.
Couldn't be happier with the way we were treated. The owners and staff did everything possible to make sure we had a great and wonderful stay. Accommodation was great and very relaxing. Look forward to going back some day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, we have passed your review onto the team here at Carriages.
Your ceremony here in the Carriages Vineyard looked stunning and we hope you'll have many beautiful memories of the day, and the Hunter Valley.
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards,
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at The Carriages whilst attending a wedding in The Hunter Valley, The Verandah Room was cosy and furnshed with Country charm ,with a lovely comfy bed.
The spacious gardens have a rustic country ambience and a salt water swimming pool to cool down in.A generous breakfast basket was delivered at 8am, full of goodies which we enjoyed whilst we relaxed on the sunny verandah .
Would not hesitate to stay there again. Rado

Room Tip: Verandah room was private as one end is nest to garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Being a first time to the region with my girlfriend I wanted to make sure we picked the perfect place and boy did we find it. We booked the spa suite and was charming down to every last detail. Bed was almost too comfortable, decor was great and the breakfast basket delivered at 8am sharp was amazing! We were there Wed-Fri so we had the entire place to ourselves (spa room is away from winery) and with a fireplace/dining room/fridge and everything else you need in a communal room it was almost too perfect! The staff were as lovely and helpful as they were British. Try their Rose, pat the dog, stay an extra night and soak in the area and the cottage. Couldnt have picked a better place to stay if I tried. Great, now I want to go back. Love you Carriages!

Room Tip: Spa Room is well worth the extra $$$ as you get a massive communal room with everything you need. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks again for staying with us at Carriages, and for your kind review.
It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed all the variety that the property has to offer, and could properly unwind whilst staying here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
(The Spa Suites are wonderful in winter... especially with the big logfire in the sitting room next door).
Kind regards,
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Rained throughout our stay however the wonderful location and experience more than made up for this. Our host recommended some great locations to visit, wine and dine, we were not disappointed. The location is fabulous and only a short distance to the wineries. The Verandah Room was very confortable and just the right size for a couple. Highly enjoyable stay combined with the Day on the Green concert @ Bimbadgen. Would highly recommend The Carriages and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arriving in driving rain to the gateway of the vineyard, the rain droplets hung from the leaves and fruit of the rows of vines, the mood was of romance. At the easily found reception we were warmly greeted by our host who directed us to the beautiful verandah style guest house. Reminisant of a quality, character filled European country home, the mood was hightened. The beautiful furniture and wooden decking of the verandah led us to our room. The polished timber floors, soft furnishings and "feel" made us reassured that this was going to be a wonderful memorable time together.
Although the rain persisted it encouraged us to enjoy a lazy day, enoying the gentle pitter patter of rain as the room provided to our needs both practical and in ambience.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: all rooms offer similar experiences, there are no "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.