We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay at Carriages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard to your Saves list
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay at Carriages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Carriages Guest House is an ideal base for touring around the Hunter Valley and our one night stay was most comfortable. The room was spacious and welcoming, and the owners were helpful letting us make use of the barbecue. The breakfast basket delivered in the morning was a great idea, allowing us to breakfast at our leisure on the verandah in the morning sunshine.

  • Liked — lovely outside verandah to relax on
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    24
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
79
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We booked Carriages as their website said 'relax, romance, revive'. When we arrived it all seemed fine, the room was ok (No. 4) and was directly in front of the stairs to the verandah. We had just settled down to a bit of quiet book reading and a glass of wine when guests for a wedding party arrived to the rooms either side of us and spent most of the first day and night banging up and down the verandah shouting to each other from one end of the verandah to the other and generally not giving a damn or consideration to anyone else trying to relax and enjoy some peace. That pretty much ruined any hope of the 'relaxing, reviving or romancing'... we put up with it for another night and then cancelled the rest of our trip... however, rude yob guests aside, we should also have been told there were people there for a wedding as we wouldn't have wasted our money... wedding parties and romantic relaxing getaways just do not mix!!! Management: please don't advertise one thing and deliver another.

The dodgy karaoke from the wedding party on the last night didn't exactly make the best backdrop to the sunsetting over the vines either...we were very glad to get back to Sydney.

As a footnote, we had also booked a private room dinner, at Robert's restaurant across the road, which had to be cancelled as we couldn't find anywhere else to stay that weekend. We stopped in at Bistro Molines (where Robert is now) to try and cheer ourselves up, and had a fantastic lunch...well worth booking, and nice considerate people! It's not hard really is it...

  • Liked — near the wineries
  • Disliked — lack of noise-proofing, lack of management visibility & accountability
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in July. The Carriages Country House was a terrific spot to base our weekend in the Hunter Valley. We stayed in the Gables Suite, which was absolutely gorgeous, massive room with all the makings ready for a wood fire and a buttery bottle of the property's own excellent Chardonnay chilling in the fridge for when we arrived.
Breakfast was delivered around 8am each morning and was very filling with an option to heat crossaints and toast in the room's toaster oven. The bathroom was clean and spacious, fit with a tub, perfect to relax after a day of sampling the great Hunter drops. I would recommend this place and will likely be returning.

  • Liked — Room - including fireplace, comfortable bed and bathtub
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed recently at The Carriages near Pokolbin in a Gable Suite for a short break in the wine country.

The location is excellent with some attractions within 10 - 15 minutes walk although realistically if you are visiting the Hunter Valley attractions and wineries you will need a car or will need to take some sort of tour.

The room itself was very comfortable in a "country house" sort of way - open fire, spacious room, quiet, private, pine furniture, lovely outlooks and the sounds of birdsong in the mornings. Comfortable bed and all the usual amenities without being lavish. Definitely a couples place rather than family groups. The breakfast basket was large and offered a wide range of breads/pastries and fruit and cereals and juices.

The rest of the property was equally impressive with good facilities and a lovely outlook. A good honest above average to excellent property that basically delivers on what its website offers. We believe that the cost was quite reasonable given competing properties (and there are a lot of accommodation options around). Hint - we found a competitive price on one of the popular sites that offers discounted accommodation bookings. Much cheaper than the property direct.

A small caution - Roberts Restaurant is next door (about 150m) and a lot of people who stay at Carriages tend to eat there. Formerly rated one of the top restaurants in the region, the founder Robert left a couple of months ago and the place has gone badly down hill. I've eaten there previously and very much enjoyed it even though it is quite expensive - the equivalent of top Sydney prices. On this occasion I was served a main course (twice) that was literally inedible.

If you know what your kitchen smells like when you have been distracted and let a pan of stew or gravy or potatoes boil dry and then burn on the bottom of the pan - that horrid acrid burnt smell that fills the house (and everybody has done it at least once), then you know what my dish came out like. Literally the instant it was put down both my partner across the table and I could smell it. They had let the gravy base boil dry then added liquid and served it like that! To her credit the waitress we called over (not the waiter who had carried it out) took one sniff and immediately carried it back to the kitchen. Unfortunately they decided to "fix" it by removing the old sauce (it was lamb shanks) and replacing with fresh. When it came back the sauce was now fine instead of disgusting but of course the meat had already been coated with the original and was permeated with the flavour and hence inedible. I eventually got a nice safe piece of roast beef fillet.

Think about it, in a restaurant charging AUD40 for a lamb shank dish, someone not only burnt the sauce dry (could happen to anyone) but then actually tried to fix it (which any cook knows is impossible), someone plated it, presumably inspected and then someone carried it out and served it (all despite the obvious acrid smell). Inexcusable in the lowliest cafe! The other food was just average. I won't be going back and there are lots of other options in the area.

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, private convenient
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Carriages is a very nice country inn. The setting is idyllic in the midst of vinyards and forest. Rooms were spacious and well kept (but not terribly luxurious). Continental breakfast (pastries, fruits, juice) delivered to your door each morning. The inn is in an ideal location, right in the heart of the wine country. It's an easy walk to several wineries and a short (5 minute) walk to arguably the best restaurant in the valley (Robert's). For more extended touring, there is the Wine Rover that covers two routes and hits most of the major (i.e., better known in US) wineries. For the more interesting "boutique" wineries, we hired Trekabout tours for a day (which we highly recommend). The Carriages folks were very helpful in arranging such activities.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2004

The Carriages Guest House deserves huge praise. It's not pretentious or overtly luxurious, but it's hugely attractive, very well placed and very friendly. Rooms, both in the main building and a separate house, are large and attractively furnished looking out on to a verandah and gardens. Good facilities include tennis and a swimming pool. The property has its own vineyards, with more just on the doorstep. Breakfast is delivered in a basked to your room every morning. And it's right in the middle of some of the best vineyards in the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.