We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa La Vina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa La Vina
Save
You added Casa La Vina to your Saves list
657 McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've stayed at many top end resorts, hotels & boutique accommodation spots throughout Australia and Casa La Vina jumped out at us as being a place with a 'point of difference'. The 5 star experience, romantic getaway, self contained Villa was touted on their website and we weren't disappointed! Privacy was guaranteed from the keyless entry to the Villa itself which was perfectly appointed from the gorgeous smell of the body lotion (which I generally don't tend to use) and other bathroom products including toothbrushes, to all the necessities required for a few days away - from cutlery, dinnerware & BBQ utensils, Nespresso machine, lots of towels including separate ones for the spa and even a dishwasher which meant no clumsy washing of cups, glasses etc in small sinks. The double showers, king bed and LCD TV also received our tick of approval.

The breakfast hamper was more than ample together with a generous supply of drinks and welcome bubbles in the fridge. We thoroughly enjoyed cooking a full breakfast on the barbie on at least a couple of mornings - we even had leftovers.

Casa La Vina is very well situated and close to everything. It was clean, private, cosy, up to date technologically, and well thought of in terms of needs. The hosts, who we met as we were leaving, were warm, friendly and passionate about their business - it shows.

I would heartily recommend this place to anyone and will must certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you Trish for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Casa La Vina.
It is our goal to have all our guest enjoy their stay with the little touches that you mention.
Having only the three villas, keeps it private and quiet. Your kind and wonderful comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you back the following year. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey
Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
106
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Casa la Vina is a well designed, well built, romantic stay. There is great attention to detail in design including in the fixtures, fittings and ornaments. Thorough research must have been undertaken to provide an authentic New Mexican feel.
Ideal for couples in terms of seclusion and romance. From the self check in, to the inside and outside fire, to spa under the stars, it doesn't get much nicer than this. Frank and Tracey have done a great job. What a pleasant stay.
.

Room Tip: Villa 2 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad you appreciate the little extras that make staying at Casa La Vina special. We wish you all the best, a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey - Casa La VIna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am so impressed with the facilities and outlook of the Casa la Vina, Mexican style,with a fountain in the center of the villas, and it is so privacy!!!! I am favorably impressed by Frank & Tracey's prompt reply and helpful when i enquired and book. We stayed at the Villa 3, the room is perfect, everything provided. We had the private outdoor where we could enjoy the BBQ grilling and sunbath.. the most enjoyable for us, we could enjoy the jacuzzi with a glass of champagne!! Cheers! Sitting in front of the firework to enjoy the beautiful weather and stars..... We do appreciate Frank & Tracey, they are so kind to welcome us, with the complimentary breakfast hamper. They are lovely and sincere! What i can say is everything fabulous, no matter of the services, the environment, the facilities of the room, the location is in the heart of Hunter Valley, so closed to the Hunter Valley Garden, Market and the wineries around... it is definitely well worth a ***** stars accommodation, and we strongly recommend our friends and you to stay in your next visit!!!!! And definitely i do stay in Casa la Vina for my next trip to Hunter Valley again.... !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
It was really nice to meet you both. Thank you for your review and passing on the good word about Casa La Vina to your family and friends. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in Australia with lots of great experiences and memories. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

When I saw the trip advisor rating of excellent, I thought to myself that this is too good to be true. No establishment can have a perfect rating without a single blemish. Well how wrong was I. Yes the villas are lovely and extremly well appointed, but what sets Casa La Vina apart from the others is the genuine personal service you recieve from a couple of truly lovely people in Tracy and Frank. An example of this service is that when asked if it was possible to provide smoked salmon as an extra to the already substantial breafast basket supplied, they did so, without charge. All I can say is well done and it was a pleasure meeting a couple of enthusiastic people that really love what they do, this why Casa la Vina is truly a five star establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
It was good to met you both and hope we will see you again next time you come to the Hunter Valley, knowing you like your food and wine, a winter escape would be a great excuse to come back and experience a romantic getaway with the outdoor Jacuzzi, fireplace and stars.
Thank you for your kind review. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited Casa La Vina to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment I booked I was so impressed with the service and attention to detail provided by Tracey.
We stayed in Villa number 2. The room was spotless and perfectly decorated to suit the South American style/ spanishy theme whilst still being modern.
The fact that we had a spa meant we could enjoy a glass of wine under the stars, or we had the option of sitting in front of the fabulous gas fireplace and stay nice and toasty inside.
The breakfast hamper was great and was perfect for our rainy morning to be able to stay in for brekkie.
One last selling point is the level of privacy the rooms offer.
Highly recommend this accommodation, probably one of the best we have experienced.
If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is your place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to review our property and for choosing Casa La VIna for your special occasion. . We really appreciate a feedback and it was great to talk to you.
We hope we can accommodate you both next time you are in the Hunter. yours truly Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I’ve been staying in the Hunter Valley for some 20 years and have tried most accommodation both boutique style and resort and this is my very favourite abode.
For couples everything is laid out for the perfect weekend away. The extras left in the kitchen for your use, the gourmet food baskets for breakfast - it was all just a delight. Especially pleasing is the size of the villa - with a rare king sized bed, ample living space and outdoor area, its exactly what you are looking for - time away together but space in between. The shower is amazing (the biggest 'double' I have ever seen!) as are the Australian bush native botanical toiletries left for your use. Its these little extras that make it a cut above. Oh and I loved the keyless entry which makes check out and stumbling home mid stay (did I say stumbling?) a breeze.
We went to a show at the Bimbadgen Estate and walked back along the road watching the cars queue past. It was a short 10 minute stroll for us back to a waiting cold bottle of wine, cheese platter and hot spa under the stars (as if Tex Perkins from The Cruel Sea wasn’t enough already!!).
It’s so quiet and completely private too and from our courtyard you looked straight out into the trees, with almost 'stage like' kangaroos jumping against the bush backdrop and the sunset swallowing the scene from behind. There was even an open outdoor fireplace (of course with tinder and wood ready to go) surrounded by candles, near to the large sized spa - should you need any more romantic overtones to seal ones complete surrender!
The proprietors themselves are second to none - really genuine people with a passion for design aesthetic and ensuring guest satisfaction. I could have easily talked to them for hours about how they were influenced in their travels to build such a magnificent tribute, if they weren’t so conscious of your privacy that they made themselves scarce. Which is really what you want from this kind of accommodation. I’m not a fan of the owners/occupiers that like to hang about and sometimes make you feel like you’re their entertainment for the weekend. Here you are given a mobile number you can ring 24/7 but they leave you to your own devices.
I really cannot recommend it enough. Make sure you take the whole weekend so you have enough down time to enjoy the facility. Oh and the spa villa was so worth it! I’m already clearing the calendar for the next weekend away.
Thank you Casa La Vina (and tex) for reigniting my passion for the Hunter all over again.
And see you soon!!

Room Tip: Stay two nights at least - one simply isnt enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the detailed review. I knew you were keen on a great weekend with all the surprises you had ready for hubby. Did you reach your goal of 5 kilos extra or the dancing helped with that. We love knowing our guests have a great time and enjoying themselves. We hope to see you both again next time in the Hunter Valley. Cheers Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have just come back from our second visit to casa la vina. The weekend was once again flawless! It was our first time staying here with the spa, which is a magical inclusion to an already perfect venue. We will be back in a hurry, thanks Frank and Tracey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you Georgia, it was great to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your second visit to Casa La VIna. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa La Vina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Vina

Address: 657 McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Vina - Opened November 2012 offers three, luxury, unique, spacious adobe villas for that intimate couples escape. Located in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. The Santa Fe inspired adobe villas, with rustic south western decor, create the feel and ambiance of a contemporary New Mexican Adobe. Featuring exposed log timber ceilings, gas log fireplace, reverse cycle air conditioning, plush king beds, private courtyards with Jacuzzi's and outdoor wood fireplace to soak up the rural serenity or the evening stars. Casa La Vina is the perfect romantic couples getaway. Free breakfast hamper, Free wireless WiFi, Foxtel TV and under covered parking AAA Rated 4 1/2 Star ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa La Vina Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa La Vina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.