We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Romantic Getaway in The Hunter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa La Vina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa La Vina
Save
You added Casa La Vina to your Saves list
657 McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Romantic Getaway in The Hunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We didn't know what to expect! We just wanted to getaway and found Casa La Vina. What an amazing place Casa La Vina is! Starts with a top service, friendliness, great location, unique Villa design, Private - it all and much more made this trip a very special for us! Frank and Tracey (the owners) have covered every detail that you possibly need for a perfect getaway! Champagne on arrival with yummy chocolate! The fridge was stocked with all the goodies to make that perfect breakfast together with a fantastic view of your own. It was a real getaway as it felt like we were in Mexico when on the grounds of Casa La Vina :). At night, with your favourite glass of red and the sky full of starts...I want to go back!! Thank you Frank and Tracey for delivering all of the above! It was simpy perfect! We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni730, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are glad you had a great weekend and enjoyed Casa La Vina and the Hunter Valley
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
106
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for months, and am finally getting to it. We wanted to make sure we let everyone know how much we enjoyed our stay at this unique property.

We stayed at Casa La Vina at short notice, I think we stayed on one of the first opening weekends. It was fantastic, such an amazing getaway. It was our anniversary and we had a super special weekend with everything just perfect.

From the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast and hospitality, everything was thought of. Thank you again to Tracey and Frank, they made the weekend one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni730, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Casa La Vina on your wedding aniversary. We pride ourselves on promoting our property as an intimate couples escape. Hopefully you get the chance to visit us
again for another special occasion. Regards and Thanks, Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I planned a last minute weekend away to the Hunter Valley with my wife last weekend, It was a surprise for her and we were fourtunate enough to find the perfect getaway location. Casa la Vina!
Everything from my first phone call was handled in such a way to help me make the weekend special for my wife. (For all the guys out there, do this you will score BIG brownie points!!!) Thanks Tracey!
I can not rate the property highly enough, you guys have a very special place there, looking forward to coming back for another visit soon. My wife was impressed and as they say "happy wife happy life" We stayed in one of the Spa Villas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni730, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. As we discussed, I am glad you made the special time for you and your wife to have that romantic weekend, as we all lead such busy lives.
Kind regards , Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Casa La Vina is an idyllic location and setting amongst the Hunter Valley Wine Country. The accommodation is spectacular, the craftsmanship and thoughtful design that has gone into each villa made our stay the perfect getaway, next time we shall get the spa villa.

The court yard BBQ and cook your own breakfast is a great way to enjoy a sleepy morning before a leisurely drive around some amazing vineyards. I would however like the option of a cook your dinner hamper just so i could relax and enjoy the villa without having to leave for food.

Just the way a weekend getaway should be, quiet, relaxing, romantic with good food and wine at your finger tips.

Frank and Tracy were the perfect hosts, well done.
P.S - best bed i have slept in

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni730, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are glad you had a great weekend with us and enoyed Hunter Valley and concert. Thank you for your kind review. Yes, next time for that intiate romantic stay with outdoor Jacuzzi and wood fire, book the King spa for that special winter escape. Kind regards Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed two days in the beautiful Hunter Valley. After we left both of us agreed that the best part of the trip was our house at Casa la Vina. Just walking in the door the first time we were awestruck! beautiful wodden beams decorate the ceiling, Everything was in exellent condition and very high standard, Spacious and clean bathroom with brand new fixings. Huge and comfortable bed! we have never slept better away from home. The owners Tracey and Frank made us feel right at home.
if all this wasnt enough we saw a bunch of beautiful kangaroos out the window in the early morning!
we definatly want to recommend this place to anyone going to Hunter Valley!

Rasmus & Johanna
Stockholm Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We thank you so much for your wonderful words and feedback of your stay. It was such a pleasure to host our first international guests and we are glad you had the opportunity to see the kangaroos. We look forward to your next visit to Australia.
Warm Regards
Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A few weeks ago I stumbled across this amazing hacienda style setting, I thought I was in Mexico.... The cabins were exceptional- 5 star. After a day at the wineries it was relaxing to go back to my beautiful cabin with everything, a jacuzzi outdoors in a beautiful rural setting and a big and spacious cabin ..... very romantically decked out. The owners Frank and Tracey have thought of everything.... Casa La Vina is new and has been put together with passion and care.... you will love staying here. I will be back, as a matter of fact I have already booked again!!! Greg

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property and for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are really pleased to hear that your stay was relaxing and romantic. We look forward to having you again, thank you for returning to stay at Casa La Vina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My partner took me here for our first romantic trip away, it was to die for. The place had everything you could think of, from the outdoor fire place and jacuzzi, to the passcode doors so there is no need to check in or out, the breakfast platter that is left for you, the party size 2 shower heads, inside fire place, foxtel, wifi, king size bed, outdoor entertaining area and best of all no kids.... i can not fault one thing in the whole place...

So romantic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review on our property! We are glad you enjoyed your romantic getaway and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa La Vina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Vina

Address: 657 McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Vina - Opened November 2012 offers three, luxury, unique, spacious adobe villas for that intimate couples escape. Located in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. The Santa Fe inspired adobe villas, with rustic south western decor, create the feel and ambiance of a contemporary New Mexican Adobe. Featuring exposed log timber ceilings, gas log fireplace, reverse cycle air conditioning, plush king beds, private courtyards with Jacuzzi's and outdoor wood fireplace to soak up the rural serenity or the evening stars. Casa La Vina is the perfect romantic couples getaway. Free breakfast hamper, Free wireless WiFi, Foxtel TV and under covered parking AAA Rated 4 1/2 Star ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa La Vina Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa La Vina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.