We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat in Hunter Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deja Vu Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deja Vu Estate to your Saves list
Deja Vu Estate
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful retreat in Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

On our recent trip to Hunter Valley we stayed for 3 nights at DeJa Vu Estate and totally loved it! Our modern free standing villa (one of only two) was very spacious and beautifully appointed, and offered a complete privacy being situated right in the forest. We particularly loved the outside spa, home theatre system and watching kangaroos jumping around. Definitely the place to stay if you are planning a trip to Hunter Valley. Elena and Victor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Siturva
Many thanks for your kind review.
We appreciate you taking the time to do it.
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Deja Vu Estate .
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
121
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Enjoyed a 3-night stay at one of the Deja Vu Estate villas, which was light, airy and spacious. The double ceiling height makes for an impressive space and the villa is nicely divided between an open plan kitchen / living room and a bedroom. The furnishings are tasteful and neutral. What really impressed us was how well the owners had thought of the little details - breakfast provisions, spices and utensils in the kitchen, an ipad, bandaids in the cupboard.. that's to name but a few.

Location of the villa is nice and private, you can enjoy the villa itself and the views uninterrupted. There are also kangaroos around. You'll need a car to get there and around, but roads are all good and it's easy to get to the vineyards etc nearby. The kitchen is so well equipped you can also easily cook a very nice meal at the villa. Also nice and cosy with a fire place as it can get quite cold in the evenings. Only thing I'd recommend to future guests staying there if it's cold would be to take slippers as the floors are all tiled.

We also stayed in other similar villas around Australia on our trip and this was the most thoughtfully equipped one. The region had nice activities, wine and scenery so would return there if going back to Australia and in Pokolbiin would choose to stay again at Deja Vu villas.

Room Tip: There are only two villas. Cannot comment on the interior of the other one but assume it to be simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi EmillaS
Many thanks for your generous review we really do appreciate it.
We're delighted you were able to spend three nights with us at Deja Vu Estate on your trip and enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back if you get the chance to visit Australia and the beautiful Hunter Valley Wine Country again.
All the best for Christmas and 2014.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at the DejaVu Estate for two nights for my birthday. Absolutely loved it!! This place had everything we needed for the stay. Very relaxing and private. Loved the outdoor deck and spa area. Definitely will be back again!!

Shameet & Narisha!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Shameet
We hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration, thanks for you review.
We're so glad you were able to relax for a couple of days.
We look forward to welcoming you back, maybe for next years birthday celebration!
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife booked here for my 40th bday.Looking at other reviews before hand which were all excellent we thought why not.Glad we did what a place to stay the villa was first class.From king size bed to outdoor spa.Breakfast was great also on the deck watching the kangaroos.Highly recomend Deja Vu Estate.Cant wait till winter to go back and sit in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi mick e
Lots of thanks for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in Winter. The open fire places are terrific in winter, you can relax in the spa in the bathroom and watch the fire in the bedroom or just chill out in front of the TV with a DVD and enjoy the fire in the lounge room. We hope to have an outdoor fire installed by winter on the outdoor spa deck. Once again many thanks we appreciate it and trust you had a great birthday celebration.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to go away for romantic weekend to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We are so happy with our choice to stay at Deja Vu Estate.

Our luxury private villa was amazing. Beautifully designed and super private. It was everything we had hoped for.

It was wonderful to be able to enjoy luxury accommodation with warm personalised hospitality. Being provided with all the ingredients and a well equipped kitchen so that we could cook up our own gourmet breakfast of a morning was fabulous and all the added extras such as home-made muffins and cookies, a complimentary bottle of Deja Vu wine, and chocolates and liqueur were divine.

We would highly recommend Deja Vu Estate and wish to thank Jillian for her wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Ally and Dan
We are so happy that you choose to stay with us at Deja Vu Estate to celebrate your 1st anniversary together. We wanted to thank you very much for your generous review and also your feedback re our website, it is much appreciated. It is always wonderful feedback to receive compliments for the villas. We did go to a lot of trouble to make everything as luxurious as possible and will continue to update and make little changes to keep it all very fresh. One of the next additions will be a pizza oven on the BBQ deck for making wood fired pizzas. Lets hope it's installed for your next visit. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My Husband and I spent one night here for our Anniversary on the 10/11/13 and it was just perfect! Everything is so beautiful and relaxing, the spa is luxurious and it was so lovely to just relax with a wine and watch movies in bed, sit out by the spa or relax on the deck and cook a delicious bbq! We are already planning a trip back and cannot wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Danielle
Thanks for choosing Deja Vu Estate as the place to celebrate your anniversary. Also we are grateful for your review and very kind words. Sometimes a good short stay can just be what you need, we hope this was true for you. We would love to have you celebrate your anniversary with us next year so maybe we will see you again.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I planned this getaway for my husband as a surprise and it was the best night away we have had. The hosts had thought of absolutely everything to make our stay wonderful . The Villa was gorgeous and we had a beautiful breakfast on the deck . Relaxing in the spa under the stars with a De Ja Vu sparkling was just heavenly .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Helen
It was nice to hear from you, thanks for the very kind review. We are so please that your surprise turned out just the way you planned and you were able to have a short but relaxing break away.
WE look forward to welcoming you back to Deja Vu Estate for another break when you get the chance.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deja Vu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu Estate

Address: 280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Deja Vu Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the luxury villas have been located to offer complete privacy on the 35 acre bushland estate.Guests are offered seclusion and luxury around the clock.The fully self contained Villas offer opened planned living areas oriented to take advantage of the bushland and water views. The dining, lounge, bedroom and bathrooms all open out onto private decks with day beds and heated out door spas. Double sided fireplaces in the bedroom/loungeroom add to the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Deja Vu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deja Vu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.