We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deja Vu Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deja Vu Estate to your Saves list
Deja Vu Estate
280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I cannot begin to say how wonderful this place is
Myself and my boyfriend of ten years got engaged here last friday and to top off the most beautiful proposal, it really could not have happened somewhere more romantic or picturesque and we have both travelled the world extensively.. !!
I cannot recommend it enough,it was so beautifully furnished,perfectly kept and so peaceful. We passed on the opportunity to sample some of the popular restaurants nearby just to stay in both nights and enjoy the ambience,so fully equipped with everything, it was just impossible to leave.
Looking up at the stars from the hot spa was just incredible, i have never seen a night sky so luminous, it was so hard saying goodbye yesterday...!!everything was soooo perfect
Happy to say we definitely spent this past weekend on cloud 9 , truly the best place we've ever had the pleasure to stay in,we will be back and will recommend it to all :)
Thank you Jillian and Brent for your wonderful hospitality and for making this past weekend the best one we've ever had,creating memories that we'll never forget...
Martina and Clive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Martina and Clive
Firstly, congratulations again on your engagement, we are glad to have been a small part of it.
We are so happy everything went to plan for your special weekend.
Thank you for your generous comments and review, we very much appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Deja Vu Estate, maybe for a quick break before the wedding. All the best for the busy time ahead planning your special day.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
102
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This has to be the best accomodation we have ever stayed in. Quiet, private and luxurious. Spotlessly clean, friendly attentive owners. Absolutely everything you would need is included. Would recommend to any couple to stay here and will definately be going back ourselves. Andrew and Sandra

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Andrew and Sandra
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Deja Vu Estate.
We're very happy you both enjoyed your stay so much. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your generous review.
Thank you in advance for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Firstly, I would like to start by saying I am usually very lazy when it comes to writing review's for accommodation. I have been lucky enough to have travelled to many parts of Australia and the world but normally forget to take the time to write such reviews. My girlfriend and I stayed at DeJa Vu Estate his past weekend. The Villa we stayed in was only opened to the public on the Queen's Birthday Long weekend so we were one of the first couples to stay there.

The first thing that struck me was the quality of all the fittings, fixtures, furniture, etc. I could tell that when building, the fantastic owners of this property spared little expense. It was large but still cosy, comfortable and inviting. Both my Girl Friend and I both felt as if we were staying in someones beautiful and expensive home. The second thing that struck us was the attention to detail. When they said self contained, they meant it! Everything you could possibly want to have for a luxurious weekend away was provided. The supplied breakfast hamper was huge delicious and the added bonus of a minibar selection was something I am not used to with this type of accommodation. With Kangaroo's bounding past the property in the evening and the secluded feeling if the villa, we felt as if we were the only people around.

The location is only a short trip away from the Hunters attractions and the stay surpassed all my expectations. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a weekend getaway with their partner. Do yourself a favour and book this place for your next getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Gjones85
Thanks for your thoughtful and comprehensive review.
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed the villa and surroundings.
Being a new building it's good to get feedback of your experience.
You are right we did make sure that all the fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality and are very happy that you appreciated the attention to detail.
Also thanks for your recommendations, word of mouth is so important to our small business.
We look forward to seeing you again at Deja Vu Estate.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

With two young boys at home, Deja Vu Estate has become our home away from home and we are about to go back for our sixth visit (need I say more). We continue to be impressed by the design, spaciousness, privacy, cleanliness and quality of the villa and the personal service of the freindly owners. Looking up at the stars in the evening and sipping complementary champagne from the outdoor spa is a must. Every time we leave, we feel completely relaxed and rejuvenated. Hats off to the owners for building such an amazing place and offering at such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre. Not really what Deja Vu is about
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi AndrewK
As I write this we are putting the final touches to our latest villa edition - Villa Glenfield.
Thank you for all your support, we appreciate how many times you have stayed with us in just a short period of time. We only hope the new villa lives up to your expectations when you stay with us again. Thank you for passing on the good word it helps enormously for a very small business.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The personalisation and friendliness of a B&B, with the professionalism, quality and attention to detail of the big 5 Star chains.

The best end of Pokolbin, close enough to everything you need to see and do, but far enough away to place you in secluded luxury.

The bushland location is fantastic, quite and very relaxing, even the local wildlife are relaxed!!

We can't wait to return for a longer stay,

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi LMcD2324
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Deja Vu Estate.
We're glad you enjoyed everything, including the local wildlife. We agree that our little bit of Pokolbin, or as we like to refer to it as the "Paris end of Pokolbin", is close enough to everything you need for a quiet time away from it all. We have found that most people, once they arrive at the villas just want to relax and stay at home. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

It is the most amazing place,location & owners, Jillian made us feel so welcome. I highly recommend Deja Vu to stay, I can't wait to go back :) the villa is all ready for you to just sit back & relax & enjoy the beautiful serenity. I felt so relaxed from the moment I walked through the door, Jillian had everything fully stoked ready for us to just enjoy :) I can't praise staying at Deja Vu enough!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi Sharmo22
Many thanks for your review, we really do appreciate it.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and wonderful to know that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again, maybe next time you can try out our newest villa - Villa Glenfield, you should see the fireplace!
Again, many thanks for your kind words, look after each other.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I had a two night mid-week stay at Deja Vu Estate and we could not have chosen better. The locations is superb - peaceful bush surroundings and just a short drive to the vineyards. The villa was wonderful - luxurious in all aspects and spotlessly clean. We were happy to spend most of our time in the villa. Jillian is a marvellous hostess - very welcoming and approachable. We will definitely visit again. Deja Vu exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Susangay M
We're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Deja Vu Estate. Now that the weather is cooler, like you, quite a few people have chosen to spend most of their time at the villa and enjoy the open fire or outdoor spa.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your wonderful review, we really do appreciate it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deja Vu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu Estate

Address: 280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the luxury villas have been located to offer complete privacy on the 35 acre bushland estate.Guests are offered seclusion and luxury around the clock.The fully self contained Villas offer opened planned living areas oriented to take advantage of the bushland and water views. The dining, lounge, bedroom and bathrooms all open out onto private decks with day beds and heated out door spas. Double sided fireplaces in the bedroom/loungeroom add to the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deja Vu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deja Vu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.