We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deja Vu Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deja Vu Estate to your Saves list
Deja Vu Estate
280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury and worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place has everything - you are alone in your cottage, no neighbours to annoy you - very private. Genuinely five star, it is a special place worth paying a little more than your average accommodation. We will definitely return. This place is so good that we wanted to cut short our winery visits and spend more time at the villa.

Room Tip: Make full use of the outdoor heated spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi Markbfforever
Thanks for your review of DejaVu Estate. Glad to see you had such a great time.
With the unusual late warm weather in the Hunter we haven't started to use the open fire places yet, but the cold nights are just around the corner.
Next time you stay with us we hope you get to enjoy the open fires as much as you enjoyed the outdoor spa.
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you back at Deja Vu Estate.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
102
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the loveliest time at Deja Vu. The villa was stunning, so modern and tastefully decorated. Will definitely be returning. The little touches provide by Jillian really added to our stay. Five star luxury!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Sarah N
We're very happy you had a relaxing weekend with us at Deja Vu Estate.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We love it when people comment about the design and generous space the villas offer.
It's nice to know the little extra touches we offer are noticed and appreciated.
We will look forward to seeing you again in the future, hopefully next time you visit we'll have installed the outdoor pizza oven.
Many thanks.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I couldn't be happier with my choice to stay at Deja Vu Estate. The location is amazing, very tranquil and if you enjoy some solitude you'll love it there! The villa itself was simply amazing, no space was wasted yet it was large enough to feel cosy and roomy at the same time. Decor was stunning and my 'designer' partner loved the way the whole place was designer (it's the little things that matter). We will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, special retreat and indulge themselves.

A special mention to Jillian for taking the time to inquire about our activities and then supplying a complementary bottle of wine at our dinner! She was a very accommodating host and a pleasure to talk with.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Harley T
Firstly we always appreciate it when people take the time out of their busy schedule to give us a review.
Thank you for the generous review we're so glad you decided to stay with us at Deja Vu Estate.
We try to include special little things that make your short break memorable, we want you to feel like your villa is your home away from home.
Thank you for your recommendation, word of mouth is so important.
On a personal note, congratulations on your engagement and all the best for your future together.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Deja Vu Estate, maybe for your 1st anniversary!
Again many thanks.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We absolutely “fell in love” with the place!! It is so peaceful and tranquil. The surrounding of the property and villa is so well equipped, maintained and the finishing throughout the villa is of very high quality. The towels, bathrobes and bedding smell beautiful and fresh. Jillian has made this place extra special by putting her personal touches to make the guests feel more than being at home and totally spoilt.
We were quite happy just chilling out at the villa. I was always looking forward to going “home” to the villa after visiting the wineries at the end of the day. The great comments on this place are endless. The only way to know how we feel and experience what we did is by staying at this wonderful place. We highly recommend to everyone who appreciates quality accommodation and service.

Thanks again Jillian for making us feel so at home and welcome. Charmane and Warren

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi Charmane and Warren
Firstly it was a delight to have you stay with us at Deja Vu Estate we really appreciate you choosing us for your stay in Hunter Wine Country.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We're so pleased you and Warren had such a relaxing time at DejaVu.
We do try to keep adding little touches to keep things fresh for when you visit again, thank you for noticing them.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we arrived at Deja Vu Estate we were greeted by Jillian, the owner. We could not have asked for a better understanding on the property and Hunter Region in general. Jillian's love for Deja Vu was instantly recognised when we checked in. What a tranquil and stress-free area of the gorgeous Hunter, surrounded by wildlife daily, it gave us the feeling we were a million miles away- which we needed after our wedding a few days prior. We will definately return soon and plan on organising our friends a special little surprise pressie for their wedding anniversary, and sending them there as well. The jacuzzi on the back deck was amazing and we indulged in some bubbly, as we layed back and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the serenity.
Thank you Jillian, look forward to seeing you soon! Lots of Love Craig & Rochelle Leonard. xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Rochelle and Craig
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this thoughtful review.
It's such a lovely feeling when we receive this positive feedback. It was a delight to have you and Craig stay with us at Deja Vu Estate and we both look forward to having you stay with us again.
All the very best for your future life together -- remember to say something positive to each other every day, -- trust one another -- hold hands in public -- never go to bed angry -- and always respect each other.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

WOW!!! Deja Vu estate was everything I expected and more! My husband and I could not have picked a better place to spend our 1 year Wedding anniversary.
When entering the villa on arrival, my first impression was the beautiful scent of the villa and the surrounds, crisp, clean and refreshing. The smell and sound of nature was very cleansing, immediately I felt relaxed!
The finishes throughout this villa are very "high end", every detail is absolutely immaculate! The outdoor spa on the deck, surrounded by nature, was the star of our 1st nights stay along with our complimentary bottle of champagne.
At Deja Vu estate there is plenty to see and do, a walk through nature, hot tub and drinks on the deck, relaxing on the sunbed, board games, indoor spa bath, bbq and outdoor sitting area overlooking the billabong and surrounded by gardens and trees, a wide range of dvds to watch on the massive plasma with bose surround sound system and the list goes on...
I will be recommending Deja Vu to anybody who wants a 5 star private getaway for any occasion they may be celebrating! In fact, my auntie has already made a booking. Highly Recommend Deja Vu Estate Private Villa!!!
A HUGE thank you Jillian and Brent for making our stay pleasent and one to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Rebecca L
Many thanks for your kind review of Deja Vu Estate, we appreciate it.
We're so happy for both of you that your 1st wedding anniversary celebration was everything you wanted it to be and thank you for choosing Deja Vu Estate as the special place to stay.
We're glad you liked all the little extras that we supply and hopefully we will see you in the future for another celebration.
We'll look after you auntie when she stays with us, thanks for the referral.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Jillian and Brent, thank you so very much for making our 'escape' to Hunter so special. The villa is second to none. Private, spacious, every little detail thought of, so much attention to detail. From the minute we arrived we fell in love with the villa. The jacuzzi on the back deck was first port of call with the lovely champagne you had for us on arrival.

Everything was so stylish yet so comfortable. It is a place you don't want to leave - almost a shame its amongst the wineries as you are torn between having to visit all the wineries and wanting to just stay in the villa the whole time.

The breakfast items, fresh coffee and juices, fresh muffins and biscuits, all so lovely. The villa has a huge array of DVD's and board games. Can't wait to come back in the winter months and sit by the fire place.

Will recommend to everyone as this is truly a very special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Raelene
We are so glad you enjoyed your short break with us and had a safe trip back home. Thank you for your review, we appreciate it and know how important it is to receive feedback from our guests.
We have a few other little touches in mind to add to the villas over the next couple of months so the next time you visit we'll look forward to you enjoying them.
Again, many thanks, we look forward to having you stay with us again at Deja Vu Estate.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deja Vu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu Estate

Address: 280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the luxury villas have been located to offer complete privacy on the 35 acre bushland estate.Guests are offered seclusion and luxury around the clock.The fully self contained Villas offer opened planned living areas oriented to take advantage of the bushland and water views. The dining, lounge, bedroom and bathrooms all open out onto private decks with day beds and heated out door spas. Double sided fireplaces in the bedroom/loungeroom add to the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deja Vu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deja Vu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.