We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to celebrate my birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deja Vu Estate

Save Saved
You added Deja Vu Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deja Vu Estate
280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Deja Vu Package
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to celebrate my birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

From the moment we arrived I knew we had made the right decision. The ambiance and attention to detail is amazing. Soft music, blazing fire, chilled champagne and the outdoor spa heated to a very relaxing 37 degrees. We had intended to go on a tour but decided to cancel those plans and stay in all day. The peace, quiet and privacy just added to our weekend away. A special celebration was made all the better with our stay at Deja Vu Estate. We will return next year and in the mean time tell everyone how beautiful your place is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi WalterZ58, We're really happy you had such a great time celebrating your birthday with us. Yes, the open fires are very popular in winter. When you lead very busy lives peace and quiet is a treasured thing, we are so happy you got the opportunity to relax at Deja Vu. Thank you for your generous words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you like privacy and spacious well appointed accommodation then this is the place for you!

Located about 15 mins drive from Pokolbin village, Deja Vu Estate's villas are nestled at the back of the property in the heart of the Hunter's wine country.

The villa is spacious, modern and clean and nothing has been forgotten to make your stay comfortable and special. The living area is large and kitchen has everything you need to cook a casual meal, there is even a Nespresso machine to make a real coffee. There is a fabulous double sided open fireplace so you can enjoy watching the fire from the living area and bedroom.

The king sized bed is very comfortable with nice linen and bathroom is big and luxurious with a free standing spa bath.

The decks provide the perfect spot to sit and listen to the birds or watch the kangaroos hopping past or enjoy a BBQ. There is also a heated outdoor jacuzzi if the spa bath isn't enough!

The owners of the proprty are lovely and welcoming and stock the fridge with everything you need to cook a full country style or continental breakfast.

The only down-side was having to leave! Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear SydneyLuxury_lover, Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The double sided fireplace and outdoor jacuzzi are definately two of the most popular features of the villas. We hope to see you again the next time you feel like a romantic weekend. Regards Jillian and Brent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been to the Hunter Valley quite a few times over the years and stayed at lots of different places. Without a doubt Deja Vu Estate is the best place we have ever stayed at.
Absolute luxury, absolute attention to detail, absolute privacy, nothing has been forgotten.
We'll definately be back and in the mean time will tell everyone we know how fantastic Deja Vu Estate is. Thank you for the personal service and making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear hunter_chef, To think that you have chosen Deja Vu Estate as the best place you have ever stayed at on your trips to Hunter Valley is thrilling for us. We have tried to include everything that you would need for a luxury weekend and we are pleased that you enjoyed the privacy that our location offers. It was a pleasure to make your stay so enjoyable, we hope to see you again. Regards Jillian and Brent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just what we both were looking for. we both lead very busy lives and wanted to stay somewhere quite and peaceful away from people, i can't take credit for choosing Deja vu Estate, it was my partners choice. I couldn't beleive how spacious the villa was and it's got everything.
even a herb garden on the deck for you to use... what a way to relax after a hectic week. when we arrived the fireplace was already lit, so we opened a bottle of wine and jumped into the outdoor spa ( theres also one in the bathroom ). it was a lovely winters night, i couldn't beleive how many stars were in the sky as we soaked away in the spa. it was only the start of our weekend and it only got better. deja vu only just opened and everything has been included.
the little extras included made a perfect stay better. thankyou for the best break we've had in years. we will be back again and again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear kathy709, We're glad you had such a terrific weekend with us. The herb garden has received many positive comments and people are constantly amazed at the night sky. I suppose we are all so busy in our daily lives that we don't get the chance to stop and look up at night. We like you can still remember our first country night sky, no city lights, just stars everywhere. Thank you for your review we appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back for another starry starry night sky. Regards Jillian and Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deja Vu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu Estate

Address: 280 Old North Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the luxury villas have been located to offer complete privacy on the 35 acre bushland estate.Guests are offered seclusion and luxury around the clock.The fully self contained Villas offer opened planned living areas oriented to take advantage of the bushland and water views. The dining, lounge, bedroom and bathrooms all open out onto private decks with day beds and heated out door spas. Double sided fireplaces in the bedroom/loungeroom add to the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Deja Vu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deja Vu Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.