We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pleasant Estate

Mount Pleasant Estate
401 Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4998 7505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 91 things to do in Pokolbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: McWilliam's Mount Pleasant is an iconic Hunter Valley Winery situated at the foothills of the Marrowbone ranges, and an easy 2 hour drive from Sydney.The Mount Pleasant Cellar Door team offer a warm welcome and are able to provide an enjoyable and informative wine tasting by drawing on a large range of the Hunters finest wines. Iconic wines such as the Lovedale and Elizabeth semillons, as well as our premium Shiraz such as the Maurice O'Shea Shiraz, the Old Paddock and Old Hill Shiraz, and the Rosehill Shiraz.To complete your visit, the onsite restaurant Elizabeth's offer an array of dishes which have been matched to the iconic Mount Pleasant Wines.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited the winery for breakfast. The service was excellent and very attentive. The food could have been better. While the big breakfast was great value at around $18, it didn't really match the sophisticated surroundings. We wish the bread had been a bit fancier that plain white bread. Despite these short misgivings, the winery is in a very beautiful setting and we would return for another meal.
They also seemed to have a great wine tasting area with many attentive staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for visiting and commenting on our great service - it is always what we aim for! Thanks also for commenting on the breakfast, the chefs are already working on some different bread to be served.
See you next time.
Cheers
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for wine tasting..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found the staff here the most friendly in the valley.
A lot of historical features here too.

Nice wines, we bought plenty !

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks Rosalina for your comments on enjoying the visit to Mount Pleasant, the scenery and our friendly staff. Not hard to enjoy what we do here - great wines, food and a beautiful region.
Cheers
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great wines, great service, enjoyable tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I came here for the winery tour that starts at 11am. Got here a bit early and had some time to kill.

Graham, the server (and also ended up being the tour guide) was fantastic. He showed a great knowledge of the wines, the property and was a genuinely nice bloke too. We had a good chat as I made my way through every single wine on the tasting list from the Hunter Valley (and a couple not on it).

The tour was very cheap, just $5 and was very informative. I'd imagine there would be more activity going on in the summer, but as it was it was still a good tour, and gave a good idea on the region's history and the winery's purpose.

A great place to go, I'd highly recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi - thanks for letting us know about your visit to Mount Pleasant, and glad you enjoyed the tour and Graham's commentary - we have a great team at Mount Pleasant - all are really passionate about the Hunter Valley and our wines - please come back again with more friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a very nice lunch and a very nice and informative wine tasting while waiting for our lunch, friendly staff .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi - good to hear you enjoyed the tasting, and yes one of the advantages of having a restaurant at Mount Pleasant is the ability to taste wines whilst you wait for your meal, and to choose your preferred wine to match your food. See you next time!
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to learn wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had wine trip and tasting. Compared to my experince in Napa the trip was a bit short. Wine tasting is ok. We were served many wines but the lady hosting was not looking at us when she introduced the wine. However a nice place for stop

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for the comments regarding our winery tour and the tasting, it is always helpful to get feedback which we use to make the experience even better! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Pleasant Estate also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Mount Pleasant Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pleasant Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.