We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but the small touches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Excellent but the small touches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

This is a nice hotel that could be great. My big beef was no in-room internet...unacceptable in today's higher end hotel. The room was clean but we had two double beds instead of a queen or king... not so great. The breakfast was $24 each and a complete robbery with canned fruit and bad machine coffee, had breaky been included I would have understood but they should recommend guests who have to pay...go to one of the excellent local cafe's instead. Also the pool was dirty and towels only available at the front desk...yet the property is very well located and beautiful...as I said... great potential, a bit short on delivery.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    260
    104
    21
    18
See reviews for
134
332
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Great hotel, grounds, staff, food, location........must I go on?
Recently stayed for a weekend with partner and we will definitely return again.
Room was spacious (studio King) with private small patio, clean, quite and relaxing, lovely king size bed. Car parking is similar to a motel style with parking outside your door.
No problems getting onto the 2 tennis courts or into the pool or spa.
Restaurant (in house) food was excellent, (if a little long to appear) booking essential.
Breakfast is typical hotel buffet style and quality but finishes at 10am by which time the 'good stuff' will have long gone.
There's a nice little library adjoing the reception and bar with comfortable lounges, great to unwind after a meal in the restaurant.
Hotel staff were among the most courteous and helpful I have encountered during my travels, nothing was too much trouble.
There's a short walk to McGuigans winery (10m !) which is handy for the wine connoisseurs.
The Hunter 'village' and Gardens are only 5 mins walk away.
Overall, a lovely hotel, if a little overpriced.

  • Liked — Friendly Hotel Staff, calm relaxing atmosphere / location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

good location within walking distance to wineries and gardens and shops. Nice hotel standard - quiet rooms which we are fussy about.
nice decor and restaurant ,whilst not cheap ,meals were good.
recommend it.

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

This hotel is great , close to the Hunter Valley Gardens and Village, Comfortable beds and nice linen. Rooms are big enough for a family of 4 , Pool area fantastic and heated great for an afternoon drink whilst the kids swim.
Staff were always helpful and friendly , even supplied neddle and thread when i needed it. Library comfy for pre or after dinner. Steakhouse resturant nice but there is nicer around the area. Buffett Breakfast was fantastic.This hotel is pricey however you are in the Hunter Valley and every thing is pricey

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

The central location of the Hunter Valley Gardens attracted us and we are happy we chose to stay there. We stayed at the hotel for a Saturday and Sunday night in August, and overall were impressed with the accommodation. From the outside it looks like a refurbished motel but once inside the rooms you get a very different impression.
According to the accor hotels website the rooms we booked were standard rooms, but unfortunately we got 2 double beds (a queen or king would have been more suitable). The hotel appeared to be fully booked on the Saturday so we didn't bother to ask to change to a room with a bigger bed.
The rooms were very modern and looked as though they had been recently refurbished. Our rooms were on the road side of the resort and we were concerned that we might get some noise from traffic on the busy road, but this was not the case. Another nice feature of our rooms was the courtyard with table and chairs. As the rooms were on ground level the courtyards led to the pool entrance. The weather was a little cool so we were not able to make use of the courtyard and pool, but it would be very nice in warmer weather.
Staff at the hotel were "only just" helpful. I didn't get the feeling that they would go out of their way to help but they gave the information that was requested or did what was asked.
An important thing to note is that it is probably a good idea to book for the restaurant if you want to dine early. We chose to dine in the restaurant on the Sunday night at around 7-7.30. As the hotel did not appear to be anywhere near fully booked that night we did not imagine that it was necessary to book. We were informed that we would not be able to get a table until 9. There had been no mention at check in, that it would be a good idea to book for the restaurant and the restaurant had very few occupied tables at 7 o'clock. We had difficulty understanding how they could be fully booked when there were many free tables. The restaurant staff explained that they were short-staffed as one waiter had not turned up. We went to the library area to read and ordered cocktails to enjoy while we waited for our table. About 40 minutes after ordering, our cocktails had still not appeared and i am sure would have been forgotten if we had not given a reminder. The delay was accounted for by the lack of one staff member on the night.
As I said before HVG is a very nice resort that has been refurbished very tastefully and despite the few problems we had, I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Not being able to get a table in the restaurant despite many tables noccupied
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We just returned from a weekend away at the Grand Mercure and we were overall impressed.From the moment we checked in through to check out we found all the staff friendly and helpful.Our room was comfortable and in good condition with its own courtyard and a full bathroom with sunken bath which was a nice touch.The grounds of this hotel add to the pleasure of a stay,as does the proximity to the Hunter Valley Gardens.The only shortfall on our stay was at breakfast which is fairly standard Accor fair and definately a good idea to arrive early.
This was our first visit to the Hunter Valley in 4 years and when we return we will definately return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort and Quality
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

This hotel recently changed hands. Couldn't really tell, service was very good. Rooms recently updated. All have cute little patios. I stayed in a spa room, with a big jacuzzi tub, updated bathroom. Lovely common area off the lobby called the library. Free wi-fi here, big bonus. Good location, I actually walked to four wineries, the irish pub, and the cheese shop. Right next to a cute area full of shops, cafes, and the gardens. Staff very nice and accomodating. Restaurant just changed as well. I ordered a filet at the bar, was very good as was the wine. Thanks a bunch, had a great stay.

  • Liked — Location, patio
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.