We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens to your Saves list
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a couple of nights for the day on the green concert. Room was very big but didn't really need all the space. Very 1990's decor but ok none the less.
I would stay in a standard room next time. Good location as you can walk to a few of the wineries and the gardens from here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    239
    94
    16
    15
See reviews for
127
306
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would just like to say a big thank you to the staff and especially the GM Paul O'Rourke, for a nothings to hard to do for you experience in the Hunter Valley a few weeks ago.
My wife and I were going to see Bruce Springsteen at Hope Estate , which was the first time we had been able to go to one of these concerts in the Hunter.
Having travelled up there by ourselves , Paul introduced us to other people that were going to the concert and I must say a good time was had by all.
On return fro said concert there was an outside fire to sit around and regale stories.
Once again a large thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Three of us for dinner Wednesday last. The Pumpkin Soup delicious. The steaks were not what was anticipated. The T-Bone was quite thin, fatty and VERY chewy. The 2 Tournedos - Eye Fillets were possibly the worst presentations of medium-rare beef we have EVER experienced. After the Chef sent the waiter out to our table to ask us "would we mind if he butterflied them to hasten the cooking process", I knew immediately we were in for trouble. We waited for 1.5 hours to get them (so much for the butterflying). One was past well done and like shoe leather, the other was medium on one end and bordering on well the other. The shoe leather steak was taken back to the kitchen, and when it re-appeared (finally) it was un-butterflied and how they both should have been presented originally. Who the hell was in charge in the kitchen? Having an International Chef in our family, we have some idea of how Fillet Steaks and T-bones should be selected and cooked, and it definitely was NOT done at the HV Steakhouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Have stayed at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens a number of times and it never disappoints! The restaurant is fantastic - great breakfasts too! Rooms are modern, well appointed and spacious. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and happy to help. Such a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

After several visits over the years, we are still finding fantastic things to do by being based here. Before it was when seeing world renowned artists like Blondie and The Pretenders. Last couple have been just to visit vineyards and The nearby HV Gardens. Still discovery little treasures, and there seems plenty more.
Staff are so friendly and nothing is a problem. Get there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A great location to stay in Hunter Valley. It is a short walk to Hunter Valley Gardens and you will also receive a discounted ticket which is a bonus! Good and quiet place to stay with family or as a couple

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.