We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night, will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Save Saved
You added Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great night, will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perfect position in the Hunter Valley, clean room with courtyard access. The hotel restaurant was excellent, great food and service. My second stay and will stay again next time I'm in the Hunter. So close to major cellar doors and cheese factory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    213
    89
    15
    13
See reviews for
116
280
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very enjoyable experience where many attractions are within walking distance and the staff bent over backwards to cater for a last minute "extra person" request by us on a very busy weekend. The room was large with very high raked ceilings and a sliding door opening onto a pleasant garden scene. There did seem to be a minor issue with breakfasts in the restaurant with some buffet items not replenished regularly and electrical issues with the toasters, but these were minor irritations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Perfect location, right at the entrance to the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, and you get an entry discount. You are also in the centre of many fine wineries and attractions.The hotel rooms and facilities are top quality and the surroundings are very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My family and I stayed here recently. First, the good: the resort is a very pleasant place, and location is excellent for touring the wineries, some being walking distance from the resort. The room we had was a good size for both of us. And the bathroom is nicely furnished with a jacuzzi tub.
Now the bad: the room decor looked so different from the bathroom decor, it looked like the bathroom had been spruced up but not the room. Not quite a mercure standard. The bedside tables had a fine layer of dust; when i placed my handphone on the table and picked it up, there was a layer of dust on my phone. Obviously the table hadn't been cleaned in a while. The walls and ceiling were so thin, that we could hear people walking around upstairs and running around outside.

The worst of it was the steakhouse in the resort. First we waited almost an hour for our mains to arrive, and the restaurant was only half full. For a steakhouse, I would have thought they specialise in steak. But I can safely say I've had better steaks at non-steakhouses. My brother ordered a lamb medium rare but it arrived totally well-done. To their credit, they did offer a replacement, but after waiting almost an hour for it to come, we weren't going to wait around anymore. They then offered a complimentary coffee, which one of us took up. When the bill came however, they charged us for the coffee and an extra bread which was supposed to have been part of a set. Definitely a lot of improvement for the steakhouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It is hard not to be well located in the Hunter Valley, given its size and the need to travel to wineries by car/bus anywhere can work. but being smack in the middle of it certainly helps. The Mercure certainly fits that bill and makes it easy to move around and get to and from the better places to eat.

Unfortunately though the rooms are a little tired, especially the bathrooms. After getting to our room my wife noticed this terrible smell from the bathroom, we put up with it for about an hour while we waited for friends to arrive and then rang to have it looked at. A lot of drain cleaner didn't fix the problem and we were promptly offered another room a few doors away. In the end not a big drama as we understand these things happen and who knows what other guests have done.

The rooms are nice and quaint, but they just need a bit of a refresh and the bathrooms and showers need a good one. Nothing wrong with anything just a little tired. Far better than Cypress Lakes though (check my review of that) and far easier to get a good breakfast in the morning, either at the hotel or in the Gardens next door.

Overall good value, great location and nice rooms. tidy up the bathrooms and it would be fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have visited this property under several different names over many years and still find it very up to date, well maintained and managed and is located in the most central location in the Hunter Valley/Pokolbin Wine District.
Grounds are beautiful, as is the pool area, for warmer months. The library area just off the reception desk is beautiful, very comfortable with walls lined with book cases and a large open fire place.
We did not try the Steakhouse as the prices seem to be exorbitant (this is not New York) as are the breakfast rates.
Unfortunately there are not a lot of alternative evening eating places nearby, however I would recommend Harrigans Irish Pub down the road , although their menus have gone up.
There are other fine dining restaurants in the region, though most are pitched at the high end .
During the day there are reasonably priced eateries at the adjacent Hunter Valley Gardens and nearby Pokolbin Village-recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.