We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hunter Valley Resort to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Europe
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

This hotel was the most expensive we stayed in during our four week trip to Australia but it was the only one to have un-ironed bed linen, shabby furniture and a cracked-, broken- and dirty-tiled bathroom or so-called "spa". The staff at the restaurant were very pleasant but totally incompetent, as you might expect from a group of teenagers. The horses at the on-site stables were in a pitiful state. On the whole a very shabby operation.

  • Liked — the beer
  • Disliked — Scruffy appearance, vastly overpriced, the fact that the whole "resort" was left in the hands of a half-dozen teenagers
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be tempted to stay here - at any price
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    133
    55
    36
    36
See reviews for
62
227
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inverell
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Hunter Resort Pokoblin
To think that someone would charge $198 a night for a room that would only rate 3 stars ,can't believe it. A very tired resort which has had nothing done for many a year. Even the entrance was disgraceful. Advise travellers to look at resort before signing on.
There are many others that run rings around this resort for less cost. The 4.5 star rating must have been done many years ago because it is nowhere near that now. PS don't pay in advance or through a agent as you will lose $198 for not accepting the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

There are precious few spots for a dirty weekend away in NSW, and the Casuarina Inn is a welcome difference. We Australians are all too tasteful, but luckily here is a place where they have suites such as the 'Moulin Rouge', the 'French Bordello' and the 'Love Boat' (aye aye, captain!) for when you and the wife/hubbie want to rev up the marriage in the tackiest possible ways. When we arrived, an old lady was hanging around near our front door (she was part of a wedding party) - she asked my husband as we entered "What on earth do people do here?" to which he answered "They're themed suites love. Use your imagination". Gold.

There were a couple of flies in the sexy, strawberry-flavoured edible ointment however. Apart from the old lady hanging around outside our front door. The main moodkiller is the price - $410 for a one night, midweek stay (which admittedly did include 3 course dinner and cooked brekkie) put a fair bit of pressure on proceedings. This had better be the best and dirtiest getaway ever, considering the investment. There were some beautiful touches (a gorgeously large bathtub for two plonked in the middle of the lounge area, plus a very handy and large mirror angled helpfully towards the bed) but there were small things that I did let bother me, such as the woefully cheap toilet paper, and the lack of privacy in the room due to see-through curtains (even the 'heavy' curtains were see-through at night with lights on) and other punters constantly traipsing past our window staring inside trying to get a glimpse as they passed. And then loudly gathering outside our front door also, which would be okay except they were outside a window next to our bathroom that did not have any curtains at all. At times, considering we were wishing to traipse around as God made us and indulge in activities best left to man and wife, made us feel like prisoners at times, hiding down in the bath every time they passed. Not so romantic.

Dinner was unfortunately the final nail in the coffin - the famous flambe still flames but the food itself whimpers that it was last menu-planned in 1986. As the final touch in anti-romance, we were seated at dinner right next to another couple's table, so much so that any sexy chatter between us had to end up as a whisper behind hands. We gave even that up after a while as we became engrossed in eavesdropping on our neighbouring couple's earnest conversation which ended in tears, several times. By the end of it all, we were emotionally drained and collapsed exhausted into bed. The cuffs stayed in the suitcase. The whipped cream stayed in the can. And when the hubbie and I want to get naughty next time, we might be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

I have to agree with the only other reviewer on this hotel. It is ok at best. The first and only time we ate there (2004)in the small restauraunt we watched 5 others tables send their meals back and leave, the food was that bad - they may have a new chef now, we have not been back. Now that the Blue Tongue Brewery is on site it is worth dropping into for a quiet drink but I would not recommend it for accomodation and I won't saty there again. It is a long way from everything - meaning a designated driver is essential for dinners and it does need an update. As mentioned in my other review you can not go wrong with Pokolbin Hill and I think it is worth the extra money.

  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

Went here for my twin sister and my 50th birthday with our hubbies. What a total dissappointment. A two star resort with a five star price tag. The rooms were just OK, very dated and cold. The first night we froze in bed even after grabbing two extra blankets and it wasn't even winter! We had a spa room (which adds around $100 to the price) and it was so small we had to use it separately and I'm only 5' 2"!

The breakfast was OK not much choice and on the second day it was lukewarm at best.

The only saving grace was that the resort was in a very peaceful and quiet location but so are most of the resorts/hotels in this area. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Would definitely not stay there again or recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

Stayed here with two friends from the UK for a special birthday.
Rooms are themed, which makes for an unusual stay - lovely big rooms with their own lounge area, bedroom and bathroom plus a terrace overlooking the vineyard. We stayed in the Out of Africa room and our friends the Moulin Rouge. We had a standard bathroom which was fine, but our friends had the same plus a spa bath in the lounge!! The rooms are all done with furnishings appropriate to the theme and come with a few added extras for your pleasure!!
It was beautifully clean, with fluffy towels, bathrobes, toiletries, etc.
We booked their package which is excellent value - you get a bottle of their wine on ice in your room on arrival, a full 3 course dinner - and this is any item off their normal a la carte menu- which was beautiful with excellent service, and a full breakfast next morning, plus of course your room.
They also have a pool, and other amenities but unfortunately we were not there long enough to use them.
This is an excellent place to stay for a romantic getaway, or to just chill out without any children, and is ideally situated to enjoy the many vineyards in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2006

Staff at the Hunter Resort clearly mean well, but they need to travel more. The 'resort' is clearly not of resort standard. To be specific; the 'lodges' are 70s-style wooden chalets in need of renovation; the children's play area had a swing frame, but no swings; the waiter - and bear in mind this is a vineyard resort - didn't know the winelist; and then there is the food. Really not very good. Far better drive down on to Broke Road and visit the Pokolbin Village Resort who really know how to cook a breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.