We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hunter Valley Resort to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
1 review
“Way better than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of the groupon deal.
The reception staff where efficient, check in took 5 min if that, our room was easy to get to and was clean, bed was comfortable.
We did the vine tour and then went onto the wine tasting.. Was the first time I had done one and I was stoked. The guys that did it knew their s**t, they knew so much about each and every wine it was awesome! Even after the tasting, we went to the cellar door and they where great for the hour we spent trying to make our minds up on what wines to buy (there was no pressure to buy either). They delivered it to our room, we went over the road and brought some yummy cheeses, sat out on our balcony, ate cheese and drank some wine.
We had dinner at the restaurant saint martinos.. Food was delicious, extremely quick to the table, and we where blown away at the price too.. Very good prices, and good service from restaurant staff also.
We had a few drinks in the brewery bar after dinner. Chatted with other guests, played some pool. Bar staff we great!

I don't know what some people have complained about in other reviews, we had a fantastic time, any trip to anywhere is what you make of it, but we have no complaints about any of it.

We are definately going to go back and do it all again (maybe when this hang over subsides)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    133
    55
    36
    36
See reviews for
62
227
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night when we went up there for a concert. The checkin staff were lovely and managed to have our room ready early. We had lunch at the Blue Toungue Brewery Cafe on site which was pleasant but I felt a bit expensive. We then did some wine tasting and took a bottle back to the room to enjoy.
There was a shuttle bus that picked us up directly from the hotel and dropped us back at the end of the concert.
The rooms are a good size. We had four adults in a room with a queen bed and a rollaway bed that added on to the single bed in the room to make a double. The rooms were clean.
There is a pool and BBQ area on site but we did not get a chance to use them on this stay.
The hotel seems to be a bit of a drive into nowhere but it is actually an ideal base for wine tasting or other things to do in the area.
We found it was good value for money. Don't let the poor reviews that others had posted dissuade you from booking this hotel. We would consider staying again next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your honesty. You must come back and try our new menu at Bluetongue. Totally different now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pleasant resort which will be improved when gardens are more mature. Friendly staff. Spacious chalet room let down by initial impression with entrance door and bathroom door sharing small space with fridge, shelf and double wardrobe. If staying long recommend you move the wardrobe further into the room! Good dinner in restaurant - but Botanica just up the road is more refined.
Unable to connect to their (pay) WiFi most of time as relies on mobile signal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We rebooted the Wifi system and all is working. Thanks for the constructive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed two nights. Checkin/Checkout handled efficiently. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean comfy air conditioned room, good amenities - tennis court, swimming pool, bbq area, restaurant, wine cellar/theatre etc though wouldn't call it a "resort". Location was great - close to other restaurants, wineries, Hunter Valley Gardens which currently have a spectacular Christmas light show.

Room Tip: Hunter rooms were attached cabins with both front and back entrance had own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed two nights with Groupon voucher. First time in the Hunter Valley. Stayed in spa cottage. Lovely outlook over country pastures. Pleasant little balcony. We actually liked the unpretentious exterior facilities with modern interior appointments - 'a diamond in the rough'. Bed was very comfortable. Furnishings suited the room, spa worked well. Linen all clean & fresh. Didn't get time to use tennis, horses, pool. Cost of accommodation was reasonable compared to the amount of money spent at Hunter Valley restaurants and cellar doors. We'd come back if we found a similar discount again.

Room Tip: Recommend cottages over regular rooms. They overlook country pastures with a little more privacy &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My birthday present for my 11 year old... 5 of his mates to the Hunter Valley to do a candy making class...

It went for a couple of hours or so, and they made marshmellow from scratch, toffee (the chef did this one - too hot) and then made the chocolate. Put it all together and the result was Rocky Road...

However the boys creations where very eventful!! With Candy Class certificates in hand, and too much sugar in their bellies, it was off to Hunter Valley Gardens to burn it off...

Love this place - staff always very nice, very comfortable and lots to do. A favourite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to wineries and good outlook
Rooms are good and bed was comfortable
Only overnight but would return
Breakfast was a bit cold
Did not have time for much else but friends enjoyed their stay too
Best suited for couple no kids

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.