We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the Hunter Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hunter Valley Resort to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great base for the Hunter Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This resort is a great place to stay with wonderful views over the Hunter Valley. It is wonderful for couples as well as families. You can experience wine and beer tasting as well as special candy making classes at the cooking school. It is a perfect base for other Hunter valley experiences like Cheese and chocolate tasting. You can also take day trips to Port Stephens from here, where you can enjoy dolphin watching tours and experience exhilarating sand-boarding!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    133
    55
    36
    36
See reviews for
62
227
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The team at Hunter Valley Resort go out of their way to ensure a thoroughly relaxing stay. The food and service are superb, and they also cater for special requests. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality place to stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night for a friends wedding,
The hotel itself is easy to find, good central location.
When arriving, reception were very friendly and efficient, check in only taking a couple minutes with a run over of what was included in our stay which was a winery tour that we didn't get a chance to go to.
We paid the extra money (from memory only about $40 more?) to get a spa room which was a cottage of our own that was seperate to the other rows of attatched rooms. The room itself was cosy with a flat screen tv, king bed, dvd player and ipod dock.
Wifi available buy we didn't check it out there was a number to call we weren't sure if you had to pay.
There was a clean kitchen with fridge and microwave we didn't use. There was a neverfail water cooler which we had a glass of but it was not cold at all. There was no mini bar but an expresso machine where you could but the coffee capsules for $2 but we just had the free sachets and there were a few packets of 2 biscuits we ate that were nice.
The bathroom had a large spa we both fit in nicely, the shower head was huge. Towels very soft.
Bed comfy with good pillows and sheets.
Great front veranda with outdoor table and chairs with an ashtray. The small details counted! Screen door with nice view out onto the country side.
Surrounds very nice with a mossy pond with an overpass bridge. Tennis court and pool which we didn't get to use but i believe there was a spa there too.
Breakfast included it was ok very busy with not a lot of seats left at all but there are always weddings at this time of year. Sausages, eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms as well as some fruit and yogurt or pastries or toast. 3 juice choices and a coffee machine. Check out very fast, given a card to fill out feedback on this site so here i am!
Overall nice place to stay! We had friends in the normal smaller rooms who said it was comfortable but they wish they'd gotten a cabin.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a pleasant mid-week stay.

The location was ideal and provided a great base to go out into the hunter valley. The staff at the cellar door were friendly and informative.

The rooms are good enough and about what you would expect for the price. Buffet breakfast was included and was adequate. The mushrooms were awful!

The Blue Tongue Cafe was a little smelly, but I took my beer tasting paddle outside and really enjoyed it.

Recommended, but you're unlikely to be overwhelmed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Relaxed and friendly place with clean and spacious rooms. Restaurant (Italian, by name only) served average food in the evening but breakfasts were OK. From the pre-read, we did not expect 4 star food, thus were not disappointed.
The site looks well-worn and is not as pretty or well-kept as some other wineries in the Hunter. It is very busy, hence the worn look and is not over-priced given its range of visitor offerings: wines, beers, tours, cycle hire,horse-riding, (very) small pool, spa.
Family run feel of Hunter Resort with helpful staff in all departments is its strength, plus its good location for visiting all other attractions in the valley wine-growing area, and good sized rooms which are well fitted and serviced, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had hunter rooms. Did not view the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked our trip through groupon, it was excellent value but let down by the extras we added to the trip. The vineyard tour was short but informative, unfortunately it was exactly the same as the Hunter valley theatre experience which we also booked. The wines were delicious and the Dairy across the way was the best part of our stay. We were unfortunate to have had a plumbing problem in our first room and had to be moved, the reception team handled this very well and we were given a new room almost immediately. However we attempted to use the Spa facilities which at full temperature is said to be at '39 degrees' having been advised it takes 3 hours to heat we waited the appropriate time to sit with our feet in a spa that at maximum was around 10 degrees. Very disappointed, we were advised by the maintainable team that is how it was. The swimming pool was colder ( but it is an outdoor pool and only spring ). Then the breakfast, day one we had continental which fresh and very good, it was priced at $14.00 each. Then the second day we chose the full breakfast we were impressed to be told it was cooked to order as the previous it was on a hot plate. Unfortunately the only thing cooked fresh was the egg and tomato, I believe the bacon sausage and mushrooms were from there previous days breakfast. We had to shoot off home so did not have time to complain and have it re cooked.
Then there was the heavenly hunter massage, my husband and I both booked in for a relaxing Lomi Lomi Hawian massage, mine was fantastic however my husband was given a completely different experience more relatable to a sports massage than relaxation.
Overall we would visit the hunter valley again but would not revisit this resort or recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My best friend and I were after a fun weekend away and purchased a voucher from Groupon. From what I saw on the internet the rooms looked decent and livable and I was pleasantly surprised when I got into the room to find it was quite spacious and clean. We visited the Blue Tongue Brewery and had a beer tasting paddle along with a meal. We also went horse riding for an hour around the property. It was fun but I would have liked to gallop around for a while. We had a few questions and Kay was excellent and managed to answer/organise a few things for us. We had a wine school session and were well informed by our guide. After sampling the majority of the wine list and buying half of the shop, Mitch kindly carried our box to our room, Thank you! The ladies from Heavenly Hunter Massage were terrific and spoiled us.

We both enjoyed every minute of our weekend away and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.