We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fleas!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hunter Valley Resort to your Saves list
Hunter Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“fleas!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

There is good and bad here. Good: lovely countryside location with vineyard right beside your patio; small kitchenette suitable for self-catering light meals (not cooking); large room with sitting area; DVD player; colourful (yes tacky but a bit fun) decor; reasonable price for the area. Bad: picked up some fleas from the carpet (easy to get rid of but got a few bites!), no real staff/management on the premises - you are really on your own at night; never did find the pool; restaurant not open when we were there. I'd stay elsewhere next time, but this is an acceptable place if others are full. They need to treat the carpet for fleas (note, unlike bedbugs they don't get into your belongings etc, so while a bit yucky they are more of a nuisance like mosquitos than anything really horrible)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    133
    55
    36
    36
See reviews for
62
227
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Casuarina Estate was referred to myself by a friend so I thought I would have a look. The rooms look fantastic, so different to anything my husband & I have stayed in before. I wanted to book the Moulin Rouge but it wasn't available so we stayed in the Italian room. It was so relaxing & after using the spa I would love to have one at home. Will definately go back again to try all the different room themes!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We enjoyed 2 nights at this resort in the Hunter Valley including a meal in the adjoining restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we had a lovely short break in the area. The accommodation was perfect for this style of 'getaway' and we felt comfortable and cosy with access to little unexpected luxuries.

Room Tip: The spa room & verandah - very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Almost $300 dollars for motel style accomodation is a bit much. It would be worth it if it was half as much. But staff were friendly and courteous. Just that the place is seriously overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thanks for your review - you stayed over the Easter period (Buy far our busiest weekend of the year), and this is why the rate was higher than normal. Our midweek last minute specials often start from just $130... Glad you loved our location especially with the Binnorie Cheese Factory opposite, and the Bluetongue Brewery Cafe, Wine Theatre, Cooking School, horseriding, San Martino Restaurant and Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre all on site. Travel safe for the rest of your holiday...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Was in the Hunter Valley for the Neil Diamond concert. At the age of 70, he still has it... We had a wonderful weekend. Could not fault Hunter Resort. Staff very friendly, funny, and helpful. Room had been redecorated since we were last there. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly and helpful Jan at reception. This was heartening since the sight of the "resort" was less heartening. Essentially, the Hunter Resort is a nice motel in a pretty area. Our spa cottage was clean but plainly furnished with dated furniture - it smelled musty and old when we arrived, but that smell quickly disappeared. If you are staying here - do not choose the spa cottage - it is not worth it - really, it is a cabin with a parking place next to it. that's it (yes, there is a spa bathtub, of course). The bed, however, was comfortable and the room was large. The pool area was plain and uninviting, like the pools you see in US motels. Also the complimentary wine tour (45 minutes and wine theatre (which included wine tasting) were good. Do the latter only though. The tour is of a non-working winery and seemd haphazardly put together. However, the film was very informative and the session on how to judge wine was excellent (we had a very good, funny, engaged teacher as our guide).
So, if you are looking for a romantic place to stay, stay elsewhere. If you are looking for a practical place in a good location, with friendly staff, okay to stay here. It wasn't awful, just not a place we would return to or recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

So disapointed !! Waited to enjoy a quiet resort in a peaceful location
Reality.......
Day trippers everywhere Canteen type building exactly like a motorway cafe where we were expected to eat with hordes of day trippers for breakfast and lunch
Coaches parked at the perimiter of the pool with a perfect view of bathers
Communal lounge dark and depressing
Staff were indifferent in their manner So unlike the other places we had stayed
The comment I made when leaving early to find alternative accomodation was that Whoever the resort employed as their P R advertising company they should keep for ever as they had done a perfect job of presenting the resort in a far from accurate picture
We were elated to escape the next morning

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Sorry about the crowds. With the two concerts playing at two local wineries - Niel Diamond with 18,000 people, and Santana with 9,000 people, the Hunter Valley was extremely busy. People everywhere... Rest assurred, it's really not normally like this. Being off the main road, quiet and restful is what we are all about. Thanks for the positive feedback regarding our rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: Corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.