We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 out of 20 for our 20th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicers Vineyards Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Spicers Vineyards Estate to your Saves list
Spicers Vineyards Estate
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Summer Offer: $200 Credit
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“20 out of 20 for our 20th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We made this one a 'last minute' booking and couldn't have found anything better with a lot of research!

We were made to feel welcome even before we arrived via a couple of emails and follow-up phone call .. check-in was fast and friendly and the welcoming mini bar treats were lovely. There was even a little congratulations card for our anniversary. We had time to laze around the pool in the late afternoon before pre-dinner champagne in our large and very well designed room.

Dinner at Botanica was lovely and upon our return to the room, the 'romantic package' (a surprise for my husband) couldn't have been better - the fire was lit, music was playing and candles were placed throughout the room and bathroom where rose petals were strewn around. All we had to do was 'add water' and relax in the lovely big corner spa bath ... perfect !!

The bed was extremely comfortable and only wished that we could have purchased the lovely soft pillows to take home with us ....

Breakfast the next morning was a delight and we were glad that we didn't order a cooked portion as the fruits, yoghurt and breads were more than enough to provide a great start to the day.

Highly recommended hotel and restaurant ...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
313
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I loved every minute of being here. From the genuine welcome on arrival, our beautiful large earthy room with free bubbles and mini bar to our romantic dinner at Botanica, we were in heaven. I requested a few little extras to surprise my hardworking husband and we were blown away by what Belinda and her team did for us from handwritten cards to a special mention at dinner of our anniversary and complimentary glasses of champagne followed by an incredibly romantic scene back at our room - tealights flickering around the spa, bed and sofa, little bundles of lavender from their garden scattered here and there, bath salt lying in wait, music wafting from the stereo and the bed turned down! What more could a couple long overdue for some romance and relaxation ask for? 10 out 10 and we've made a pact to come back here every few months. Belinda, Celeste, Sharon and whoever else I've missed - thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We arrived in the middle of a downpour, but the staff were smiling, helped with bags (a rarity in the Hunter!) and made us feel welcome and dry. Our very spacious room overlooked the fountain, the vineyard and, hurray!, the clearing skies. The bed was very comfortable, and the king size sofa and ottoman in front of a fireplace ready to be lit made me sorry it wasn't winter!
The amenities were perfect. From fluffy towels to luxurious toiletries, and comfy bathrobes and slippers, it was all there. The mini bar (free of charge) was well stocked, including a bottle of local bubbly.
We stayed two nights, and breakfast on both mornings was excellent, the coffee "just right". The whole stay was luxurious and pampered.
It must be added that the staff all had beaming smiles - nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Excellent service, well thought out, even to the little bag of almond biscotti for our drive home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We (3 couples) stayed at Spicers Vineyard on the weekend of Rod Stewart. The weekend staff were fantastic and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel "Botanica Restaurant. The food was beautiful and the desserts even better. They make the best Piccolo Latte and cappuccino. The rooms are big and spacious.

Best weekend

Diana and George

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I managed to escape for a night in the Hunter Valley while travelling to Australia to visit relatives. Leaving our daughter with family, we quickly headed to Spicers Vineyard to make the most of our one night of freedom and we could not have hoped for a better night. The room was just perfect. Beautiful interiors, spacious, well equipped (especially the mini bar) and very comfortable. We quickly made ourselves at home. After a quick round of garden golf and a soak in the spa bath we made our way over to the restaurant for dinner where we enjoyed a top class dinner with superb service. Breakfast the following morning was just as good, especially the quiche. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose to have our small wedding ceremony at Spicers and we couldn't be happier with our choice of venue. We spent four nights at Spicers and really enjoyed every moment of our stay. The suites are spacious and beautiful, and the whole environment is very peaceful and relaxing. The service is fantastic (but never intrusive) with an impressive attention to detail. The food at restaurant Botanica is amazing - fine dining at its best. Spicers is a truly wonderful place and unlike many other upmarket hotels/restaurants it's not pretentious in any way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Well, if you are looking to stay in the Hunter Valley to wine, dine and relax then this is the place for you. Quiet setting with restaurant Botanica on the site to ensure you do not have to drive and dine out every night. Breakfast was sensational with views to complement the food. The rooms are very spacious with quality features as well.

Plenty of relaxation to be had!

The staff were exceptionally good and you had the sense of being pampered.

Room Tip: No bad choice really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband. Every booking comes with complimentary arrival mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicers Vineyards Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.