We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Hunter Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
6 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Hunter Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

During our trip in Australia we stayed 2 nights at the Tower Lodge and it definitely is luxury place. There are not so many rooms which makes the atmosphere just like you would be visiting friends. The rooms are nice, clean and have a unique decoration. Service was perfect. Breakfast was fresh and there were a lot of good choices to pick from the menu. I think it was the small details which surprised me - every evening at 7 the Hotel manager did open a bottle of champagne with his sword (guests did take care that none of the good stuff was wasted). If you are visiting Hunter Valley and you demand for luxury, good service, privacy then the Tower Lodge is THE place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
93
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here August 2010 - food & wine could not be faulted but was extra to our room rates. Ambience was unique, eclectic & very luxurious..
Swimming pool wasn't heated, grounds looked a little folorn, some of the ammenities & furnishings starting to look slight tatty.
Service was very good - but they keep harassing me to go back.
When they add spa baths to the bathrooms or to each room, get the pool heated I would consider going back OR if someone else is paying the bill!

Room Tip: Ask for photos of which room you are in & of the rest of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerEstate, General Manager at Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thankyou for your honest and direct response regarding your stay at Tower Lodge, it is comments and feedback like this that help us improve our standards and services to our guests. As your stay was some time ago (nearly 18 months) a lot has changed during this time. These changes include the heating of the outside pool and the purchase of all new outdoor equipment for the lawns and gardens. Even during your stay in August 2010 we already had spa baths in every room so perhaps you did not get the chance to use them. I must apologise if you have been receiving too many communication pieces from us, however we just want to keep a close contact with you so that you dont miss out on any of the special event weekends we host at the Lodge like our "Grand Chef Series" dinners. We can however remove you from our email list if you wish us to. I look forward to now welcoming you back again to Tower Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went as a group of 4 as this is an experience that should be shared. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady, who apart from checking us in, showed us to our fabulous and unique themed rooms, gave us a guided tour of the lodge then helped us with our luggage!
Following a quick trip to Pokolbin we arrived back for a very genteel late afternoon tea, cakes and sandwiches followed of course by predinner drinks in the sitting area. Here we met our charming and knowleable host Andreas Brietfuss.
On then to " Nine" restaurant for our degustation dinner and what an experience that was. Every course was excellent and was matched with an appropriate wine. Not cheap but well worth the outlay.
A lazy breakfast in the courtyard was a great way to start the next day. When a problem arose with the scheduled dinner at Roberts that night arrangements were made for us to have a private dinner in the library at the lodge. I'm sure Roberts would have been wonderful but it could not match the ambience of the library at the Lodge. Again the food we had preordered was superb as were the wines.
While the Lodge is not particularly impressive from the outside do not be put off as things change when you walk through the massive wooden doors, while the antique furniture throughout is amazing. All rooms and have views across the vineyards.

Room Tip: Any room would be okay, it just depends on what theme room you would like personally
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have just returned from a planning and celebratory weekend with our management team at Tower, the rooms themselves are quite unique and certainly large, the service from the staff was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble. On the negative side the facility looked tired and some of the promised amenities are not working, we were in the Oriental suite with a wooden hot tub on the verandah, the tub was rotting with boards pushing out and I doubt it was usable but we weren't game to even try, there were large weeds in the "lawn"outside our room and the pool furniture looked like it was ready to collapse.
Part of the appeal of Tower is the rustic charm but there is a big difference between rustic and falling apart.
On the positive, the food was great, the staff exceptional and our degustation meal on Saturday night was wonderful.
In summary a wonderful experience lodge but lacking in presentation and maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Lodge last month for our anniversary and I have to say it was one of the most memorable stays in any hotel we have ever had. We were greeted at the front doors by the manager Andreas who very professionally handed us over to his receptionist for a tour and then checkin to our room. The entire weekend was full of suprises including a special demonstration on our first night of how to open a bottle of champagne with a sword. The lodge is run like a old world European hotel with fantastic service, amazing food and wonderful wine. Go in winter to appreciate the open fire places. Thankyou Andreas for making this a very memorable 25 year anniversary. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Upon arriving at the Lodge, we were struck by the warmth of welcome by our hands on host Andreas. Devoid of pretense and armed with a wealth of long forgotten knowledge and skill of the service industry. Andreas and his team of ultimate professionals supervise attentively and unobtrusively as you congregate round the ever established log fire for afternoon tea with the news papers, pre dinner drinks, or simply a wee snooze before strolling through the vines to do some afternoon tasting down at the winery!

My wife was 33 weeks pregnant and was the perfect weekend before the onslaught of sleep deprivation ahead. We particularly enjoyed parking the car on Saturday and not even seeing it till Monday lunchtime!!

Sensational weekend and look forward to returning soon!!!

Room Tip: Not applicable, leave that attitude at home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Andreas began our expereince with such professionalism and he anticipated our every wish. Our room was very spacious and luxurious. There is such attention to detail. The Dining experience at Nine was simply amazing and a "must-do". All staff were very accommodating & friendly, but still professional. We had a fantastic weekend stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 6 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.