We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrrell's Wines

Tyrrell's Wines
1838 Broke Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4993 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 91 things to do in Pokolbin
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Nothing is great unless it is good" is the mission statement that has guided Tyrrell's Wines for over 150 years; and since Edward Tyrrell established the winery in 1858, we have continued to produce premium wine from what are now some of the oldest vineyards in the world. Tyrrell's is one of Australia's oldest family owned wineries. We produce some of the country's most renowned wines, including the iconic Vat 1 Semillon, and since 1971 our wines have been awarded over 5,500 trophies and medals. Tyrrell's Wines is a proud member of Australia's First Families of Wine and along with our original, historic vineyard in Hunter Valley, we have expanded into other premium Australian wine regions like Heathcote, VIC and the Limestone Coast, SA. Wine Tastings and Winery Tours Visit Tyrrell's Wines' historic cellar door and vineyards in the Hunter Valley and immerse yourself in over 150 years of award winning winemaking tradition. Join us for our daily winery tour and experience our historic red cellar, see the ironbark hut that was the original home of Edward Tyrrell and learn about how our wines are made. After the tour, enjoy a wine tasting showcasing the best of our regional wines. Whether you enjoy red wine, white wine or anything in between, you will be sure to find something you love - from the iconic varieties of the region like Semillon, Shiraz and Chardonnay right through to our premium Fortified and Sparkling wines. Visit us in the Hunter Valley Located 2 hours from Sydney, our cellar door is open 7 days a week. Visit us and indulge in some great Australian wine from one of the country's most historic wine regions.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved the winery tour! We arrived at 10:30 and it lasted a couple of hours. The staff were fabulous, really friendly & knowledgable. The tour took us through the process from grapes on vines to tasting! We loved the Shiraz & my highlight was discovering Tyrrells Verdelho! We bought a couple of bottles which we duly drank that evening at a BYO restaurant!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    5
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise behind the tasting room door!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to the winery - we had friends recommend the wine as a good drop. The drive way up the hill gives a nice view out over the grapes, and there are picnic tables for you to sit at and enjoy the space. The cellar door is behind a rather uattractive metal door, but once inside we were very pleasantly surprised. We have become fans of the Hunter semillion and Verdelho, and asked to try the semillion - we were presented with 3 glasses each - one recent wine, one from 2009 and a vat 1 2006 - just for comparison of the different styles. We loved the vat 1! We progressed on to try some reds - We have struggled to find reds in the region that we really enjoy - but we were very impressed and left with a case of Shiraz! The tasting experience was super, all 3 reds we had weren't on the tasting sheet - highly recommend the vat 9 Shiraz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly tasting in great surrounding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This small vineyard is located in a quiet surrounding. Staff of the Tyrrell's Winery is very friendly and attentive. They even gave us a list of Dutch buyers, so we could get the wine at home as well. It is also possible to get a guided tour of the winery.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
223 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
“Family owned and that pride and quality and history show.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Tyrrell's first in 1988 and loved the ambience, the enthusiasm and honesty of the owners and staff and the views across the valley. Twenty four years is too long to wait to return but we did in late 2012 and nothing has changed. The view across vines and hills and valley is exceptionally peaceful. The staff have changed and some of the guiding patriarchs have passed on but the historic features and the ethos based on over a century of wine making persist. Take the free tour and you will see what I mean. The guide we had has been there boy and man and he gave one of the best winery and all things wine making tours and explanations I've experienced. Expect too to meet the family members who are still fully involved in creating great wines. Then taste them.
One thing has changed in 24 years - the prices! We had 1988 brochures to prove that. But the wines are worth it and even available in UK at M&S. And I am not on commission.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We drove from Sydney to the Hunter Valley and went to Tyrrells for another wine tasting (after several years absence). Its just the same friendly atmosphere as always with excellent service and explanation of the wines. I have been a fan of Tyrrells for over 30 years. Don't forget to look at the original timber slab hut built by the original Mr Tyrrell in 1858! Of-course the ambience loosens the wallet and my wife bought a selection of the Semillon Vat 1 2006 and Single Vineyard Stevens Shiraz 2010 at $60 a bottle (not on the tasting notes).

Tyrrells is about 2.4 km from the turnoff but well worth a trip and tasting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyrrell's Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Tyrrell's Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyrrell's Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.