We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou Carol!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Wines

Pepper Tree Wines
Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
(02) 4998 7539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 96 Activities in Pokolbin
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thankyou Carol!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I took three American friends to Pepper Tree Wines for their first Australian wine tasting. Carol, our host, was friendly and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed chatting and tasting great wines in a charming environment and an relaxed and unhurried way.

I really liked the shiraz. Others in our party preferred the Cab Sav, and the Chardonnay. That's the great thing about taking a group wine tasting - everyone gets to decide what they like!

I had been nervous taking my guests travelling, as I wanted to impress them. Thanks to Carol and Pepper Tree Wines, they think I'm a very clever tour guide!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Cellar door sales only but great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We bought a few bottles at this winery and really enjoyed the restaurant next door. I believe we bought the reserve cabernet which was a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Winary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Some lovely wines, polite staff and no pressure to buy. The staff were happy to inform you of all the wines etc.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We visited here today as our last stop. Being connected to the Peppers Convent it was a 'must' for us to visit (great lovers of Peppers resorts). Gerry was our taste testing guru and was extremely knowledgable. Can talk the talk and will entertain for ours.
The cellar door is in a lovely setting with beautiful gardens and an 'old style' barn feel. The verdelho is fantastic and was my pick if the extensive list.
The best bit.....they have a pet club for the pooches to come along for the taste tests. Sensational!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, woeful service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited Pepper Tree wines today (early afternoon) and were very disappointed with the apathetic man who appeared to find it a burden to greet us. He tossed the wine list in front of us then moved away to the next group of people. A lady (cleaning glasses as she bemoaned how busy they'd been that day) managed to pour some wine for tasting in between her cleaning tasks. Given the reputation of this winery, it was a below average service experience and compared with the warmth and professionalism of most cellar doors in the Hunter, is a disgrace. The wine might be good, but it's not good enough to make up for the unprofessional staff. :-(

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper_Tree_Wines, Manager at Pepper Tree Wines, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at Pepper Tree’s Cellar Door while you were visiting the Hunter Valley.
Here at Pepper Tree we are continually striving to deliver a very high standard of customer service and tasting experience to all of our customers that walk into cellar door and we are surprised and saddened to hear your feedback.
After addressing your email with staff it sounds like upon your visit they’d experienced a large amount of our customers in and around the cellar door which may have impacted on the personal service you were delivered on the day. There is no excuse for the level of service you received and we humbly apologise. If you would like to contact us directly we would love the opportunity to rectify your recent experience and allow you to enjoy our wines in the environment and atmosphere in which they should be served. Our contact details are listed on the trip advisor site however my direct email is (tristanj@peppertreewines.com.au) and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Once again I sincerely apologise for your disappointing experience and we will endeavour to address this situation in house to prevent this from occurring again.
Regards,
Tristan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Tree Wines also viewed

Mount View, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Pepper Tree Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.