We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cellar door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Wines

Pepper Tree Wines
Halls Road, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
(02) 4998 7539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 88 activities in Pokolbin
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely cellar door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This road is stunning... we wandered across from The Carriages boutique B&B next door to discover brilliant Shiraz Viognier at Pepper Tree. Pretty spot with lovely gardens, a new cafe and cool old cellar door. Attentive staff, and the wines are exceptional. We drank 'The Gravels' at sunset with a picnic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Wine Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited here on a wine tour with my girlfriends. The cellar door staff were extremely helpful, probably the best out of all the vineyards we visited on the day.

We all purchased a few bottles, their desert wines were very popular. The vineyard has a lovely rustic feel about it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great private tasting event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went up to the Hunter for a late afternoon wedding and our friend the bride groom held a private tasting in the upstairs area and it was great. We tasted about 14 wines from Semillon to Cabs and everything in between and then a port to finish. A tasty cheese plate was served mid tasting for pallet clearing and general enjoyment. Our host server was knowledgable and covered many aspects of the wines. And we got a members discount so we picked out some of the lovely things we had sampled.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Magic setting & great wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This winery was on our list after all the awards it has received & we were not disappointed. A friendly staff member went through the tasting process & we had no hesitation purchasing a bottle. The lovely setting of the winery & the rustic buildings only adds to the experience. This is a cellar door we would return to on a future visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This winery was round the corner from our accommodation and as we drove past I didn't think much of it but we had drunk David Hook wine before and really enjoyed it so we chose it as the second place to visit on or wine tour. Well what a nice surprise! The staff at the cellar door were great. We had a very bubbly lady who clearly enjoyed her job and telling us all about David's wines. If we weren't so concerned about pacing ourselves we could have spent up big!
Regretfully we didn't allow enough time to look around the grounds as they were beautiful. A lot of time, money and effort has gone into the presentation at this winery. (Beautiful place for a wedding.) We didn't have time to sample any of the food but would strongly recommend a visit for the cellar door alone, everything else is a bonus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Tree Wines also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Pepper Tree Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Tree Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pepper Tree Wines to your Saves list