We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class for top of the class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGuigan Wines

McGuigan Wines
Corner of Broke & McDonalds Roads | PO Box 300, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
02 4998 7402
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 88 activities in Pokolbin
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top class for top of the class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We did some cheese tasting first to get the taste of all the other wines out of our mouth. They were absolutely to die for.Went back later in the day and bought some cheese (yum). Went into the winery and the lady was very helpful with explaining all the different flavours and tastes in the wines we tasted. For such a big name and well known winery they defiinitely run rings around Lindemans. Just missed out on the winery tour so you need to be there no later than 11am.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Shared the noisy private room/barn with hens party and bus tour group and enjoyed a well paced, informative tasting from friendly staff, who had to shout at times! Wasn't too busy on this sunny Sat in Sept so even purchasing our wines was quick and easy. The tawny 'liquid Xmas cake in a bottle' was excellent, better than others we tasted on the tour, and may not last till Xmas! 2011 international winemaker of the year so they know how to make good wines, the Hunter winery specialises in small batch production, esp. Semillon. Cheese n gourmet goods shop next door has some excellent products if a bit overpriced, but some interesting tastings available.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wine and Cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a great visit to Mcguigans and thoroughly enjoyed both the wine and the cheese! Very generous with their time and their produce. Simply delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ask for Naomi as she knows her wines and will make your tasting experience one to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This tasting is better to do on your, if you do it with Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tours, you will get a private tasting in a room with hopefully Naomi. It was brilliant. We went there first day as general public, it was ok but second day we went on tour and WOW million times better!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, excellent merlot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great wines despite the large, impersonal feel of the place. Lots of tour groups when we arrived so it was rather hectic. But the merlot is excellent and my husband can't stop talking about it! The cheese shop next door is not good. The 'cheese tour' was hosted by an extremely disinterested lady and was only 4minutes long. There are better cheese shops In the hunter valley.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuigan Wines also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to McGuigan Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGuigan Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McGuigan Wines to your Saves list