We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, popular cellar door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brokenwood Wines

Brokenwood Wines
McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
61 2 4998 7559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Pokolbin
Type: Wineries, Bars
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, popular cellar door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is clearly popular and well known. The wines themselves are varied and enjoyable but lacked some wow factor for me, personally. Of course, this is completely personal taste so don't discount it!
The staff were very knowledgable and personable making the experience a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the whites alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A relaxing, laid back atmosphere made my visit here enjoyable. Staff knew their product and allowed it to sell itself. I thought the whites were good, summery and light.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best cellar doors in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

There are a lot of cellar doors in the Hunter Valley region, but Brokenwood is one of my favourites. Two reasons: first the wines are classy and excellent (although not cheap) and the second is the staff who are warm, friendly, and are eager to impart information and anecdotes. You go to the cellar door for the first reason, and stay for the second reason. Even if you don't end up buying any wine, you should go to get an idea of how a cellar door should be run.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun wine tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Brokenwood was part of the wine tour we attended. Our host was lovey and very knowledgeable. As well as the wine was beautiful and we just had to leave with a few bottles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent tasting at new Cellar Door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mark was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was very professional and we learned a lot from his presentation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brokenwood Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Brokenwood Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brokenwood Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.