We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley to your Saves list
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Canberra
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We got a deal at the Sebel as a last minute thing for a friends wedding. The hotel is centrally located amongst the vineyards. The rooms have magnificent views over the valley. Although the balcony extends across each room meaning that anyone could walk past your room at anytime.

The front desk staff are very quick and efficient. They provided us with a guide book of all the vineyards.

Compared to other hotels in the Hunter Valley who think they are better and charge way above the going rates, the Sebel holds it own and is the perfect getaway for a weekend of indulgence of the grape variety.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    142
    55
    29
    21
See reviews for
45
242
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

I stayed at the Sebel Kirkton Park recently while attending a conference at this hotel. This hotel is in a beautiful rural setting and is an older style building which has been tastefully renovated. Outdoor car parking is provided free of charge at this hotel.

Room - comfortable, spacious and equipped with a large bathroom, CRT television and mini bar.

Check In was smooth and efficient. I booked on the day of my stay and the room rate online at the hotel's own website was $20 cheaper than it had been when I checked the previous week.. and was quite a bit cheaper than some of my colleagues had paid.

Restaurant - I had dinner with customers in the restaurant, a fine dining restaurant where the food and service was quite good, however I would still recommend trying out some of the restaurants at nearby wineries in the Hunter Valley.

Check Out was efficient. A credit card surcharge was levied on the account - this makes it hard to compare the true rates of hotels as most hotels do not charge this additional fee. It seems hard to justify when the room rates continue to increase and the majority of guests settle accounts by credit card.

It was a good place to stay for a conference, but probably would not go there for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Not only was it beautiful but the customer service was first class.

We received an incredibly friendly and informative welcome. The facilities were explained to us and we were given some great advice about the local area. In the restaurant they bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our meals. The meals arrived in perfectly good time, however they clearly prided themselves on better service because we were immediately offered free coffees. When my girlfriend's steak was slightly over cooked they were very apologetic, cooked a fresh one immediately (and perfectly) and offered us a free bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture.

These small touches cost the hotel little, but they really impress customers. We will happily stay there again and recommend it to anybody.

In addition, there was a nice indoor pool, a gym, a barbecue area and a lovely patio area with beautiful views. I'm sure there are hotels with slightly better facilities in the world but this was genuinely the best customer service we have ever received. It made me realise that a good hotel is so much more than a clean room, with good facilities and a Corby trouser press! You go to a hotel for a special experience, otherwise you may as well just stay at home! The Sebel Kirkton Park was a friendly, relaxing, beautiful, stress free experience. Customer satisfaction was clearly the main priority as everyone was excellent. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Liked — Excellent customer service
  • Disliked — No criticisms whatsoever.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

My partner and I stayed in a heritage room, we had a great experience and did not encounter any problems. Memorable points about the hotel was the very comfortable king sized bed with beautiful linen and duvet, excellent breakfast (we found out in the morning hot breakfast was complimentary to the buffet, a nice surprise), friendly staff and good location.

The grounds of the hotel is beautiful and unique and very well maintained, the gym and pool has been beautifully renovated. The large fireplace at the common lounge area in the front of the hotel was very pleasant to spend time in. The hotel has character and is one of the nicest places to stay in the Hunter Valley region.

  • Liked — Luxurious comfortable bed, beautiful grounds and garden, great fireplace in common area, buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

$165 a night without breakfast.$190 a night with breakfast on a dead Monday night
Impressive from the outside but thats where it stops.
The room was very small and the bathroom not able to fit 2 people. Mould in the bathroom in numerous spots. Bed uncomfortable and minimal TV stations.
Our air conditioner would not work except to blow cold air.Great on a REALLY chilly night. Reception tried to fix it but didnt. We went to sleep waiting for the warm air to turn on. Waking at 3am absolutely frozen,tried every control possible on the air con - ZILCH
Breakfast: an absolute joke. First they tried to hit us for an extra $16 for a cooked breakfast until I complained. Beakfast was mediocre at best. Hopw can anyone screw up breakfast? How come we cannot get a latte in a 4.5 star hotel. How can you screw up cooking eggs?
The place needs updating, is poorly maintened. A really great pity as it is in such a pretty location
NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

After reading other reviews I had high hopes for this place... and left sorely disappointed. We were upgraded which was a nice touch, but I found the room a little small and chintzy for my liking. The view was nice but certainly not the best available in the Hunter. And for at least $250 a night there should at least be some plunger coffee in the room! The service was very snobby - and misplaced, the Sebel isn't anything special!

The breakfast was appalling. The buffet was ok (lots of cereal and fruit, but no muffins or leaf tea, and the yoghurt smelt a bit off - and this is meant to be a gourmet destination!) Hot food had to be ordered seperately, and my pancakes were burnt black. The staff didn't even come to ask us how everything was, and seemed sulky when I complained about the burnt pancakes. We will not be returning - there are much better places to stay in the Hunter Valley!

  • Liked — Views were reasonable
  • Disliked — Snobby service, terrible breakfast, rather ugly rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I've stayed here twice during the past few years and really like it.

The hotel is right in the main wine area of the Hunter Valley. Rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and a decent size. Ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the valley as the views are great. As far as I could tell, all have an outdoor terrace with chairs and table - very relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine or two!

The indoor pool is pretty nice, the grounds lovely, friendly staff etc.

You can also get pretty good deals, especially if you book at WOTIF.com

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.