We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night in the Hunter Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley to your Saves list
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    144
    55
    29
    21
See reviews for
46
243
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Matarangi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A gracious mock colonial estate with lovely gardens and view up the Hunter Valley - wonderful sunsets! Just outside the busy central Pokolbin area which gives it more of a country feel (kangaroos in the field at the bottom of the property). Rooms dated...but that's the point. Best buffet breakfast I've ever had - they have a pancake making machine!! We had a special deal with breakfast included - and that meant everything, from fresh fruit and bircher muesli to full cooked English breakfast - perfect start to a day's wine tasting! BUT! the hotel room only had beer glasses or the tooth mugs...NO WINE GLASSES....in one of the best known wine regions in the country - what are they thinking??!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently on a deal. It was lovely, country hospitality at its best, with no hint that we were anything other than very welcome guests. The reception staff were helpful at check in and out. As a tea fiend, I appreciated them obligingly bringing multiple Twining tea bags upon request! Nothing like a hot cuppa (or 6) after a day out. Threw in extra biccie as well. The views from our verandah were spectacular, the shower was hot. It's a hop skip jump from Cessnock, so easy to drive down as an alternative dinner option. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice pool and spa in complex. Rooms ok . The staff very helpful & friendly. The room was well appointed & bed comfortable. Gorgeous view from our balcony. Breakfast was nice with poached eggs on the banquet breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at & recommended the Sebel several times. I have always found the staff very helpful & friendly....but this time when I asked (NOT demanded) a possibly upgrade I was met with a snooty & not at all helpful attitude by the male staff member at reception, all other staff were lovely & very friendly but his look of disdain was embarassing, I have never experienced this when staying at The Sebel before. We ate in the restaurant that night & the food was nice, the only complaint was having to wait at the entrance to be seated & not being acknowledged by staff so we weren't sure if they had seen us standing there, just a quick acknowledgment would have sufficed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, we arrived at 2 pm & check in was quick & easy. We got a heritage room number 45 which was downstairs in the corner so the bathroom had a nice wide open window.
The room was well appointed & bed comfortable. The only bad comment I have is that there was only one in the bathroom & one under the dresser, so if you don't have a long cord, so if you're charging your phone, you have to put it on the ground or in the bathroom basin.

The shower was hot & the water pressure excellent, it's been renovated too. We had a huge window that opens up to the fountain & gorgeous views.
I'd come back here again for sure

Room Tip: I'd recommend a corner room downstairs, so you can have access to the grounds & it's qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.