We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world country charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley to your Saves list
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Old world country charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We think the reviews which state this place is dated or shabby appear to be missing the point. The Sebel Kirkiton Park is like an old country manor house situation in perfectly manicured grounds in the heart of pokolbolin.

Rooms are located in wings along an old wooden veradah, which is surrounded by peaceful fountains and manicured grape vines.

Staff are friendly and helpful, price seemed reasonable & location overall is pretty good.

If you are looking for somewhere modern and sleek, this place (and probably the hunter valley) is not for you.

We did not visit the gym or pool but enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine on our verandah (common to all rooms in the block) overlooking local pastures complete with kangaroos.

It would have been nice if the bike rental was free.

The buffet breakfast was satisfactory but not an overly large selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    142
    55
    29
    21
See reviews for
45
242
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

the Sebel Kirkton was amazing, the accommodation, grounds, facilities and restaurant are first class, situated in the most romantic (immaculate) setting amongst rolling hills and vineyards.
although i didnt experience the high tea, it looked amazing - on my wish list for next time :)
the indoor heated pool and spa, sauna and basic gym equipment was like being in a Roman Bath house - gorgeous. our stay was far too short, with so much to see and do in the area, it is best to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: i think any room is a good room, although rooms are side by side in range of "complexes"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Very tired place
Staff not very interested
Restaurant very over priced and not good quality. In particular they have no idea how to cook a steak rare came out like. Boot leather sent it back and replacement wasn't much better

Not worth the money disappointed

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place looks tired and worn out even though the surrounding scenery is magnificent. It also appears to be understaffed. It has an apology of a gym. The staff here seem to go through the motions.

I can live with all these but nothing irritates more than the check-in shuffle in which the staff member pretends to put you in a superior room while actually doing the reverse. I have had similar experiences in other hotels and it always drives you mad when it happens. I had paid an extra $30 for a 'colonial' room which looked bigger than the 'heritage' room in the photograph on the web site. At the time of check in, the check in person offered me the "superior" heritage room which happened to be a very small room with the attraction of a balcony. It is only after some insistence that I was shifted to the colonial room that I had booked in the first instance.

I have decided this is the last time that I will be staying at the Sebel in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My experience was in booking this hotel for a wedding night for a dear friend. What a disaster. I pre-paid fro the room. checked on the Friday that they knew the guests were to pay for nothing, that they had my credit card details and then on arrival on their wedding day, the desk clerk refused to let my friends in because they didnt have a credit card.
Poorly handled by the hotel. This used to be a favorite hotel of mine. Not anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Good bed, good shower, everything else needs upgrading, esp the noisy aircon/ heater and TV reception. It's a bit out of the way but prob quieter for it. Will go elsewhere next time, for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at the Sebel with 2 other couples for June long weekend. Pleasantly surprised by the location of the resort. Our room in the Manor House overlooked a magnificent 180deg view of the valley, waking each morning to the view of hot air balloons adrift over the vineyards. Room was spacious and clean, great verandah wrapping around the entire house....a little dated but fitting with the "heritage" style and age of the resort. Dined at Infuzion Restaurant - YUM! and breakfasts were the traditional buffet style - though a little expensive for the norm. Spa is a must do... warm and relaxing. Location is great... not far from all the hunter has to offer. Plenty of parking (outdoors).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.