We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Class resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ekerts Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights and Save!
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“High Class resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

We visited Peppers as part of our honeymoon trip around Australia. The resort is low key and the rooms are fairly simple. It is situated in beautiful grounds with a resident mob of kangaroos that come out top water in the early morning- have breakfast on the terrace.

We arranged bike hire through the hotel and cycled around a selection of the local vinyards enjoying the tastings. There is also a local cheese factory that does tours and you can buy picnic stuff from them.

We ate at Chez Poq both nights because the food and service was fantastic and we like to drink so driving was not an option.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — no bath tub in room and some confusion over breakfast deal
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid the really popular wineries and go to the small ones as you get more attention and variety of wines
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    110
    94
    40
    21
See reviews for
37
214
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Spent one night here in late septemner 2006. We got a good deal through wotif. Rooms are very nice, clean and stylish.

The grounds are lovely and the locality to the wineries is brilliant.

The restaurant was good quality as well.

I would suggest a 3 night stay rather than just one night however.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont book direct as you will get at least 40% off through wotif etc
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

We stayed at the Guest House for a couple of days for a romantic weekend away. And we were go glad we chose the Guest House. Like many of the other hotels, it isn't on the main road near Harrigan's Irish Pub and Hunter Valley Gardens. It is not far away, down a side road and well hidden from the main road by trees.

We liked the fact it was still very recognisable as a "Peppers Hotel" but was more "homely" than others we've stayed in. There are no porters to carry your luggage in (but who cares), because the place is so tranquil and quiet and is like walking into a private country estate.

Our room was lovelly and tastefully decorated. Dark brown furniture and white painted walls with a wall hanging and modern pictures. The bed was gorgeous with loads of scatter pillows.

My husband initially wanted a room change as it was quite dark (we were upstairs in the colonial building with two small windows instead of a ground floor room with french doors), but there were lots of downlights and the window shutters were adjustable. And my only gripe was that I was looking forward to a bubble bath and there was no bath! I assumed there would be one so I guess I should have checked that when I booked.

When we advised room service that lightbulbs had blown, they were replaced straight away. Likewise anything we asked for. And normally the staff that would serve you in the restaurant or bar would also be the ones who brought room service or extra clothes hangers. So you got to know the staff fairly well. They are all very friendly and helpful.

The bar and lounge areas are small but cosy. And perfect for having a quitet drink or pot of tea in. And there was always a cosy or quiet space inside or in the garden to read a magazine or newspaper. There is also a small sunlit conservatory where you can read and have cups of tea, which is perfect in the colder weather.

Dinner in Chez Pok was great but not as good as we expected it to be having read the many media reviews. The wine list is extensive and the menu promising but it just didn't live up to our expectations. We had the most amazing meal at "Esca" (Bimbadgen vineyard), and I think Chez Pok now have some serious competition. Every single person who has visited Esca raves about it and we are no exception. So if I booked at Peppers Guest house again, I would probably not pick the package that included dinner and would instead eat as Esca again.

And the only other thing which they could improve would be staffing on a Saturday night. There was a large and rather noisy function group in on the night we ate at Chez Pok. And so my husband and I decided to take our tea and coffee in the lounge where it was more quiet. And perhaps have an after dinner drink. However many others had done the same and all the coffee tables were covered in teapots, cups etc. And we couldn't find anyone to clear them, or order. So we went back to our room.

However, breakfast at the Guest House is lovelly and we enjoyed lingering over breakfast whilst reading the papers provided. The food was all very fresh and there was quite a bit of variety. It was relaxed and quiet and if you wanted you could sit outside on the verandah (which we didn't as it was a bit chilly).

Returning to the Guest House on the second day (dusk), there were kangaroos everywhere in the ajoining paddocks to the hotel. Just looking at us! We were so excited and we live in Sydney! But you still don't see that every day. We couldn't believe how many there were bounding around or just standing happily.

When it got warmer in the day, there are many quiet spots to read, wander etc. There are lawns to sit on, or pretty bench seats to admire the views. We took a bottle of wine and cheese and found a quiet spot with deck chairs after one vineyard outing. And although we were told the hotel was full that weekend, we rarely ran into anyone else and the place seemed so quiet. Or maybe they were all still out at the vineyards!

I would defintely visit again as the location is perfect. 5 mins away from the Hunter Gardens and Village, and from Harrigans pub. 5 mins in the other direction is Tyrells winery and all the rest are within a short distance too. And Cypress lakes is around the corner.

I came home feeling happy and relaxed and wanting to stay longer. Well done to the staff of the Guest House!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed here on the weekend of New Years Eve and had an absolute ball! The staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The (48) rooms are beautifully decorated in individual ways, with a really lovely scent. The guesthouse has gorgeous lounge and reading rooms where you could have tea/coffee or a glass of wine. It has a wonderful relaxed feel about the place.

We went to the restaurant Chez Pok on New Years Eve. They had a special set menu of five courses by their award winning chef, and I must say it was out of this world. After traveling around the vineyards, swimming in the pool and then eating in such an amazing restaurant, it's great just to go back to you're room in the same building. I will definitely escape Sydney next New Years and do it all again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

What a beautful guest house. The accomdations were comfortable and nice. It was in great proximity to all the vineyards in the area. If you wanted to come back to room during the day it was an easy drive. The breakfasts were great and when we were there in October, the weather was great to eat on the veranda. We ate at Chez Pok, it was good but it wasn't as fablous as all the reviews had stated before we left. The Hunter Valley area is very limited on their restaurants. We did find a great Asisan place at Tempus Two Vineyards that was yummy. It was a nice end to our honeymoon in Australia

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

Can't tell you how much I enjoyed my 3 days at Peppers Guest House. Fabulous rooms, sumptuous huge beds, immaculate decor delivered with style in a setting so tranquil you could almost start that autobiography you always planned.

It might mean nothing to regular vistors to Peppers, but to have a bunch of Kangeroos skipping past my veranda was a sight I'll never forget.

Taking breakfast and looking out over expansive grounds and occasionally a kangeroo is a treat not to be missed.

I think there were plans to refurbish the swimming pool, spa and sauna area which were beginning to look a little tired.

Peppers has to be the best base to explore the Hunter.

The restaurant dinner menu was a little fussy and perhaps over elaborate but was cooked to perfection.

Overall impossible to be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley

Address: Ekerts Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NSW's Hunter Valley wine country, Peppers Guest House is one of the Hunter Valley's best loved retreats, offering a stylish accommodation base for exploring the region. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and overlooking vineyards this retreat offers an intimate, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable and elegant accommodation, and has a long-standing reputation for exceptionally fine food and wine at Chez Pok. Back to where it all began, Peppers Guest House is the very first property to be added to the Peppers Retreats, Resorts & Hotels collection and Hunter Valley's most famous guest house has a charming ambience that is relaxing and intimate. The retreat offers 48 deluxe accommodation rooms and suites, each tastefully furnished in a Peppers' distinctive boutique style. All rooms offer guests the following facilities LCD TV, 8 free Foxtel channels, STD/ISD direct dialing, alarm clock/radio, minibar, refrigerator, ensuite bathroom with shower (13 rooms with baths) hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, wireless internet access and daily housekeeping service. For those wishing to enjoy the wine-country lifestyle with a group of friends or family and require a little more space and privacy, there is an exclusive self-contained four bedroom cottage. The delightful cottage is located in a secluded position on the property and has 4 double bedrooms, lounge with open fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, wide verandahs, private swimming pool, courtyard with children's play area, 2 bathrooms and access to all property services and facilities. Peppers Guest House and the Hunter Valley region provide a variety of activity options. Peppers Guest House facilities include swimming pools, sauna, boules, tennis court and bicycles. There's also an De Vine Day Spa on-site offering signature health and beauty treatments. Guests can enjoy an exquisite menu at the on-site restaurant, Chez Pok, an iconic Hunter Valley restaurant first opened in 1984. Chez Pok offers a homely feel with a French inspired heritage, providing the perfect setting for a meal at any time of day. A romantic table for two on the outdoor terrace or a table in the conservatory overlooking the picturesque valley offers a relaxing dining experience. Chez Pok is open for breakfast and dinner daily and lunch Friday to Sunday and welcomes guests, locals and out of town visitors alike. The many delights of the Hunter Valley are also moments away - winery tours, hot air ballooning, cheese tasting, golf, horse and camel riding, carriage rides, sky diving, 4WD tours to name a few. Peppers Guest House redefined the traditional weekend experience when it opened in 1984 and continues to entice guests to return year after year. Please note that all bookings made over the internet are non-refundable and non-transferable. 100% Pre-payment will be taken as per policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.