We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum time out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ekerts Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hunter Holiday Package
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mum time out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed alone (Dad home with the two kids) first night away on my own without them and I soaked up the serenity! Indoor pool... tick, Bath... tick, Room service dinner...tick, so yes it ticked all my boxes and I just had such a relaxing time I will be back.

Room Tip: Close to the pool was lovely as I could enter via balcony into room. It was literally a stones throw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your visit to the property.

I am pleased to read that we ticked all the boxes on your recent visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    98
    81
    36
    21
See reviews for
37
186
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

As per previous reviews this Peppers is missing the mark, neglected and rough around the edges. A beautiful country setting with kangaroos on the lawn and some lovely original buildings. The staff, whilst friendly are way off polished and management seem to be on vacation. Definately not to the standard of other Peppers I have stayed at. So much potential, I hope someone picks this one up and restores to it's former glory. Excellent central location.
I would only stay here again if I got an amazing deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay at Peppers Guest House.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have recently stayed at both the Peppers Convent and Peppers Guesthouse. These are not the uber-luxury destinations that are sometimes associated with the brand name, but are nevertheless very comfortable, stylish, reasonably priced and adjoin great restaurants. The Guesthouse is much larger than the Convent and seems more efficient and snappy, but it is beginning to show its age. It’s definitely my preference for business travel. The rooms are stylishly furnished and decorated with care and are very efficiently laid out in terms of a large very comfortable bed, good working areas and a good quality bathroom. Peppers is also outstanding with its standard bathroom amenities, coffee etc. The grounds are pretty, extensive and well established, the restaurant is of course top notch. The pool is small, too old and indoors. If deciding between the two Peppers properties, I would be inclined to say that the Convent is better for personal weekends and holidays and the Guesthouse is better for business. However, the rates for both vary quite lot depending on vacancies, time of year, and midweek compared to weekends. This property would definitely be the better one for work conferences and similar.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary considerably. I have stayed in two different ones (in the garden annex and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback during your recent stay at Peppers Guest House.

I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to visit both iconic Pepper properties whilst visiting the Hunter Valley and more importantly you enjoyed both experiences.

We are very lucky to have such wonderful historical properties both beautifully located and which can cater for all our guest needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A beautiful, grand old lady and in need of better maintanence and a facelift.
Reasonably priced but the room held no star quality and the bathroom, was at best, chaotic. Having to sit sideways on a toilet, say it all.
Chez Pok breakfast was excellent while dinner had some highs and lows. We had the best wine of our stay in the Hunter but my wifes steak had to be returned to be cooked to specification.
Only five choices of mains, reduced to four when my choice was unavailable. Luckily, my second choice was to die for. The service was excellent, if not a little unrefined.
overall a nice stay but underwhelming and for the price, I'd look elsewhere next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Anton,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your visit to the property.

I am confused as to your comment in relation to toilet positioning in our guest rooms. All our toilets have been positioned correctly allowing our guests to sit in the correct position so to state that you have to sit sideways is incorrect.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast experience in our restaurant along with your dinner experience. I apologise that your wife’s meal had to be returned to be cooked to specification. I hope that this did not deter from your overall experience.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to our stay at Easter at Peppers Guest House. The grand old buildings are sadly being let down by the maintenance around the grounds. From weeds in the herb garden and garden beds to the outdoor seating by the fire pit that is clearly falling apart and not fit to be sat on! There were grass clippings everywhere under the outdoor timber furniture and the BBQ looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The pool and spa house is dated with no pool depth markings to be seen. The general grounds are of concern for WH&S of guests with failing outdoor furniture. We ordered room service Easter Monday as Chez Pok was closed. Our pizza came to the room uncovered, without crockery, cutlery or serviettes! Peppers is a great brand but sadly this property has seen better days. Such a beautiful location with so much to offer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to our property

I take on board your constructive review and will be addressing these issues with the relevant team members.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I got married at peppers last weekend. We had our families stay from the Thursday until Monday. We had an amazing wedding at peppers, and our stay was brilliant. The staff were amazing and friendly. They all made our special day magical,,and always ensured that we were never wanting for anything. The fitness centre score is zero because they do not have one. Overall amazing..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Matt,

Many thanks for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent wedding at the property.

I am delighted to read that you and your wife had a fantastic time. We are very lucky to have such a unique venue for weddings and delighted that we delivered a truly memorable experience for you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, AUS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in a vintage room for 2 nights. The property is beautiful with nice surrounds. The rooms are a generous size however there is nowhere to sit like a balcony or courtyard so if you want to enjoy a couple of drinks you need to do it in your room (there is a table set up in the room). We were happy with our stay but were disappointed with a few minor things that happened. We had an awful experience at Chez Pok for breakfast (read seperate review). When we got to our room we went to make a coffee with the machine and there were three straws floating in the water part of the machine. We also went for a drink at the bar and my partner ordered a vodka and soda and after 5 minutes was told that there's no soda (a bit like the hollandaise sauce at breakfast). She then opted for a Vodka and Lemon and the lemon (solo) was flat. At the end of the day the hotel is nice just a few minor issues that stained our stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, General Manager at Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall expereince and I take on baord the feedback you provided in relation to certain expereinces you encountered during your visit. I have emailed you seperatelty to this to seek further information on your stay and I look forward to talking to you.

Kind Regards,

Brian Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley

Address: Ekerts Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NSW's Hunter Valley wine country, Peppers Guest House is one of the Hunter Valley's best loved retreats, offering a stylish accommodation base for exploring the region. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and overlooking vineyards, its intimate, relaxed atmosphere, the comfort and elegance of its hotel accommodation, and a long-standing reputation for exceptionally fine food and wine at Chez Pok restaurant, ensure that guests return to Peppers Guest House year after year. 24 Hour reception available. Maintenance Advise: Please note that the pool will be unavailable for scheduled maintenance from 6 September until 16 September 2014. We apologies for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Guest House, Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.