We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley

Save Saved
You added Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley
Halls Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Disappointed in that it did not match our expectations which we had gained from friends who had stayed previously (Years ago?). Our bed configuration (twin) was not set-up as confirmed. To have the first night drink and canapés in the breakfast room was just not acceptable when the lounge (delightful) was not being used and on querying this arrangement were told it was due to "rules"?
Facilities in the bathroom (limited towel rails or hooks so that towels etc. were stacked at the end of the bath which had an overhead shower?). While our room had a sizeable (dining) table it could not be used there were no suitable chairs.
Wi-Fi only available in the lounge/breakfast room and not our annex room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was married at Roberts in November 2013 and all of my close friends and bridal party stayed at the Convent. This is the perfect setting for smaller groups to sit on the decks (where there are many), catch up, have a drink and take it all in. We couldn't have chosen a better location to stay.

Breakfast was always great, service throughout was excellent, however the only downfall is access to food for lunch or dinner. Limited options on site and limited delivery food options locally.

If that is the worst thing then there really isn't anything wrong - just bring some stuff with you.

Truly quiet, discrete and isolated for all the right reasons. Well worth the stay.....

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lovely, old converted convent for two nights. The staff was helpful in organizing a boutique wine tour and quickly delivered canapés and wine before dinner in the lounge area. The hotel is small and charming but not a upscale experience.

We had difficulty getting any Internet service unless we were in the lounge. Our room was number 3. It was located across from the breakfast room and beneath some very squeaky floorboards located above our room. We heard people's voices and movement in the lounge area and also above our room. The television station list of choices was extremely poor.

Though the drive to the property was lovely and the surrounding area interesting, Peppers Convent needs some TLC (Tender Loving Care) to make this traveler return.

Room Tip: The boutique wine tour with Margaret Wendt was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a charming, albeit a bit worn at the ears hotel. It used to be a convent, has a wonderful entrance coming down a long driveway with this fabulous old building in sight and it still has many of it's original beautiful features. Yes,the bathrooms might need some touching up but the ambience is quite lovely. Maybe it's leftover from the convent but I felt very peaceful there; esp. in the back garden. You are in wine country, so many wineries without long driving and near other restaurants. The staff was quite gracious and really took care of us. If we went back, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The former convent was relocated to the site in the 1990s and is probably due for a refurb, particularly the bathrooms. Some lovely interior features and if you purchased the breakfast and evening canapé package, they were great. It was a good way, particularly in the evening, to meet people and find out about the different wineries and restaurants which abound in the Hunter Valley. We only paid for a "delux suite" and it was very small, too much furniture and nowhere to put suitcases. I had to relocate the ironing board to fit one suitcase in the cupboard. The verandah outside our room was shared by 3 other rooms and this was a bit disconcerting. Our view from the verandah was over the septic tank which is a shame as this could have been easily concealed with planting. The nearest restaurant "Roberts" is probably the most expensive in the Hunter Valley, but take your chances although we found it dreadfully inconsistent.

Room Tip: You need to pay for the most expensive room to get a "good" room, but you will probably st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, staff so welcoming , made you feel special ! Room was comfortable with a huge verandah to relax on . The building is a beutifull old convent converted to a hotel about 20 years ago and still has a lot of the original features. Breakfast was amazing in the sunny dining room and canapes with drinks before dinner a nice touch. Good location near lots of restaraunts and lovely gardens.We'll be back .

Room Tip: Upstairs , we were in 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and myself spent a Saturday night recently at the Convent. It is so lovely driving down that long drive to see such a beautiful old house. The house is so old world and all the furnishings and rooms reflect this beautifully. Sure the rooms need a bit better cleaning and can be a bit shabby in part but after rall this is to be expected in such an old building. We were allocated Room 3 which is just off the dining room and downstairs. Even though I had requested an upstairs room which was confirmed upon booking I chose not to say anything to Reception as it all seemed so nice. On arrival the heating had been turned on for us as it was such a cold day, however the room was very very hot and very stuffy so we spent a lovely hour in the lounge area reading papers and relaxing by the fire place. Now for the cons - whatever you do if booking this accommodation do not allow yourself to be placed in Room 3. At 10pm that night we went to bed and were amazed at the noises coming from upstairs. The sounds of foot falls, dropped items, baths/showers being run and so on were incredibly loud and at one point we were expecting the ceiling to open up and the upstairs tenants to join us in our bed. It is very very loud! After about an hour this stopped and we went to sleep then wakened again at about 12 for another hour to the same repeat noises, then again at 5.30am and finally at 7.00am. It would appear there are 2 rooms above Room 3 and we were experiencing the noises of 2 rooms. I cannot stress how loud these noises were and this room should never be used to accommodate people for this reason. The beds were so comfortable but the next morning we were so tired from lack of sleep we ate breakfast and left. On our departure we mentioned this problem to Reception as a constructive criticism only and did say we would return but only if we had an upstairs room. The receptionist confirmed there was a couple we saw at breakfast in one of the rooms above , with a baby in a stroller. We realised some of the noises we heard all night was the stroller being wheeled above us on the creaky floors. Mentioned to the Receptionist that perhaps people with stroller would be better suited to downstairs as the upstairs floor could not cope with a stroller. The receptionist was very sympathetic and told us we would be contacted by management however 2 weeks later no one has bothered to contact us and for this reason we will never return. Unfortunately as we experienced such an uncomfortable night I have had too rate the service from management, vale and sleep quality very low.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 3 the guests in the 2 rooms upstairs will keep you awake all night with the crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley

Address: Halls Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst beautiful gardens and vineyards in Australia's world famous Hunter Valley Wine Country just two hours drive from Sydney, Peppers Convent Hunter Valley offers luxury hotel accommodation and the ideal getaway for those wishing to truly indulge themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Peppers Convent Hunter Valley Pokolbin
Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Convent, Hunter Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.